Costa Rica 0 - 1 Uruguay (26 min)

• Costa Rica 0 - 1 Uruguay (26 min)

No video link available. I am following on FIFA Match Tracker.

Uruguay goal By Diego Lugano (26 min). He poked in a rebound after a corner kick.

54 min. COSTA RICA WITH TEN MEN! Randal Azofeifa has been ejected for his second yellow card.
    Last edited by Bruce; November 14, 2009, 11:15 PM.

1-0 Uruguay. FINAL

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
    No video link available. I am following on FIFA Match Tracker.

Uruguay goal By Diego Lugano (26 min). He poked in a rebound after a corner kick.

54 min. COSTA RICA WITH TEN MEN! Randal Azofeifa has been ejected for his second yellow card.

FINAL: 1-0 Uruguay

Thanks, Bruce! - ...and... SAN JOSE, Costa Rica - Uruguay

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica - Uruguay damaged Costa Rica's hopes of qualifying for a third straight World Cup, scoring a first-half goal and holding off the 10-man Ticos 1-0 Saturday night in the first leg of their inter-confederation playoff.

Diego Lugano capitalized from the second chance off the same corner in the 22nd minute and Uruguay will return home on Wednesday for the second leg with a clear advantage.

Randall Azofeifa all but sealed Costa Rica's fate in the 53rd minute, arriving late for a challenge on Alvaro Fernandez, tripping him with a lunging left leg and drawing his second yellow card from Spanish referee Alberto Undiano.

Costa Rica, playing without manager Rene Simoes on the bench due to his expulsion from the Ticos' final CONCACAF qualifier on October 14 against the United States in Washington, had the better possession early. Walter Centeno had a chance from distance in the 19th and it created a number of set piece situations that appeared to give it the early momentum.

But Uruguay, which trained in Guatemala to get accustomed to Estadio Saprissa's artificial turf pitch, adjusted and scored with a second effort on Nicolas Lodeiro's corner kick.

Lugano headed Lodeiro's offering at goal, which had to be headed off the line at the right post by Azofeifa. The ball sailed to the top of the area, where Fernandez sent it back in and Lugano reacted, getting enough of a high right leg to push it inside the right post, where goalkeeper Keilor Navas could reached while being blocked by Azofeifa.

Uruguay had better possession after the goal, but Costa Rica had its best chance in the 43rd when Azofeifa's ball out of the midfield was flicked high past Uruguayan goalkeeper Fernando Muslera, who had come off his line, but sailed just over the bar.

Costa Rican felt it should be offered the chance to equalize in the 48th when Uruguayan defender Sebastian Eguren appeared to settle a high ball at the top of the area with his right arm. Television replays appeared to indicate Eguren clearly hit the ball with his upper right arm, but Undiano allowed play to continue and five minutes later Azofeifa was sent off.

Costa Rica not a top seed in Concacaf .

hondurans are now one of the top seed in concacaf .
        next 2014 Qualifying Xpect a Group like dis ...
        GROUPA
        USA
        COSTA-RICA
        JAMAICA

&?

A smaller OECS Team (one of these team annex to Group)
        ST Kitts
        ST Vincent
        *Antigua & Barbuda
        Grenada
        Dominica
        ST lucia

I am disapointed with Costa Rica , but if they continue the same pattern
        they wont be in the Hex come next Qualifiers .
        Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
        United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
        happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
        Probably forthcoming...

But Uruguay, which trained in Guatemala to get accustomed to Estadio Saprissa's artificial turf pitch, adjusted and scored with a second effort on Nicolas Lodeiro's corner kick.
          You know I had to read this twice and I could not believe that another CONCACAF country would try and sabotage a fellow CONCACAF country in a play-off with another region. Are you kidding me Guatemala? They actually fought against the interests of the region. I hope they lose every flipping game they play from here on out. That is classless. They should go join conmebol if they want to help their federation out so badly. Screw those guys. Straight judas. - T.K.

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
            hondurans are now one of the top seed in concacaf .
            next 2014 Qualifying Xpect a Group like dis ...
            GROUPA
            USA
            COSTA-RICA
            JAMAICA

&?

A smaller OECS Team (one of these team annex to Group)
            ST Kitts
            ST Vincent
            *Antigua & Barbuda
            Grenada
            Dominica
            ST lucia

following CR over time , we held them to a tie in Kingston last year(2008)
            and lose 1 nil in 2009 Gold cup .
            United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
            Probably forthcoming...

Costa Rica has been consistently present in every hexagonal over the last 3-4 WC cycles. They will be there in 2013. If they lose this playoff series with Uruguay, they will still be a seeded team in Concacaf in one of the 3 pots.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                Costa Rica has been consistently present in every hexagonal over the last 3-4 WC cycles. They will be there in 2013. If they lose this playoff series with Uruguay, they will still be a seeded team in Concacaf in one of the 3 pots.
                yuh keep following those crazy @$$ O!E$ on bigsoccer ,honduras is the 3rd
                seeded team come next World cup qualifying .
                Probably forthcoming...

yuh keep following those crazy @$$ O!E$ on bigsoccer ,honduras is the 3rd
                  seeded team come next World cup qualifying .
                  No boss. im not sure you understand how the WCQ draw for Concacaf is conducted. It is divided into 3 pots of A,B,C,. Costa Rica is the 4th best team in Concacaf this cycle. There is absolutely NO chance they will see Honduras/USA/Mex in the first and 2nd round of WCQ. As a matter of fact they will have a bye like the other teams mentioned.