• Young Boyz tackle T&T for final-round spot

<DIV id=printReady>

Young Boyz tackle T&amp;T for final-round spot
    published: Sunday | December 3, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody Rjuf6="true">

Howard Walker, Staff Reporter

<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">JAMAICA'S</SPAN> UNDER-20 footballers hunt a spot in the 2007 CONCACAF U-20 final round when they tackle Trinidad and Tobago (T&amp;T) in a first-leg game at the Harbour View Mini-Stadium today at 4:00 p.m.

The young <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Reggae</SPAN> Boyz will be hoping to capitalise on their home advantage in their home-and-away play-off series and gain a sizeable lead going into the return leg on December 6 in T&amp;T.

In October, Jamaica finished second in Group G behind <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Haiti</SPAN> as both teams ended with seven points, but Jamaica had an inferior goal difference.

Jamaica defeated The Netherland Antilles and Bermuda 2-0 and 3-1, respectively, before playing to a 0-0 draw with Haiti.

Meanwhile, T&amp;T finished <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">runners</SPAN>-up to St. Kitts and Nevis in Group F with four points after drawing 1-1 with the Dominican Republic and losing 1-0 to St. Kitts and Nevis before beating St. Vincent and the Grenadines 3-0.

The Jamaican team has been strengthened with the inclusion of overseas-based Joel Grant and Joel Senior.

Grant, a striker who plays for Watford in the English Premier League, should

RE: Young Boyz tackle T&T for final-round spot

This is the Under 20 team, they have had the school kids in camp throughout the year, and instead of taking the players from that squad they are now bringing in foreign players.

Is the aim of the U-20 basically to win games, wherein lives development of local talent? I know we live in a DISPOSABLE SOCIETY, but is it just to use these boys and discard them, as soon as a foreigner of Jamaican extraction is "DISCOVERED".

Now that DaCosta and Manning Cup games are over, shouldn't the focus be on the development of our local players. If the players who are locally based are not given the opportunity, where do they go. What about the sacrifices that the local youngsters have made, are we only using them.

JFF nuh have money to develop local talent, but I'm sure they paid for these foreigners to fly in for the match. This kind of behavior portents a very dismal future for the RegaeBoyz, are we to expect that the future "Reggae" Boyz will be made up of a set of "hip-hop", "soca", "salsa" etc. etc. Boyz.

A hope JAMAICA loose the damn match. JFF and Boxhill cannot stifle the local talent like this. FOOTBALL IS DEAD FOLKS!!

Good morning MdmeX. Well, I can't say that I agree with you in this case. As you pointed out, ''they have had the kids in camp all year.'' That in itself indicates a willingness and actionto develop the players. Obviously the coach(es) must've seen the need to bolster the squad in certain areas. And in that case who among us can deny having Joel Grant among the squad, when this player is actively involved at a much higher level than the locals lads?

And for Joel Senior, he is no foreigner. He was born right pon di rock!

Yes, the local players must be developed and given a chance. However, in games which call for the best that Jamaica can put on the field I have no problem bringing in 1 or more foreign players to get us through. Afterall, there will be plenty of games for the local lads to show their mettle.Our failure to qualify during the final stage of the Digicel campaign has left a bitter taste in my mouth. And coo deh! We played the games with local players!

I say bring in whosoever can qualify us. There will be plenty spaces for the local players. Afterall, there must be a reason why the coach(es) sought help from outside of Jamaica. Remember now, the coaching staff has seen the local players all year. In their analysis they have come to the conclusion that they have to bolster certain aspect(s) of the team. And let's not forget that there are MANY players between England and the USA who they did not call. Even Joel Senior's team-mate Shakir at HU has been playing well but was not called. Clearly the coaches know what areas they need to shore up.

Don't send up your pressure MdmeX. Let's just hope this team has the required arsenal to qualify.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

You are over reacting and maybe after you have thought things over you will take back what you said about wishing they lose.

Are you saying the Jamaicans who live abroad have no right to want to represent their countries too?

The one player who attends Howard University, lived here all his life and played Under 17 but happens to be attending University in the US, he should not be considered for the team?

You talk about development, isnt it good to see players from the Under 15 and Under 17 teams progressing to the Under 20 team..that in my mind is developmnent.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Good morning MdmeX:</SPAN>

<SPAN>I can clearlty see where you are coming form. I think, as I have always said, that preparations...specifically to your point...it is the 'finding' of our local talented players - talent abounds locally -that and giving best back-office support are the missing elements.</SPAN>

<SPAN>Let us assumefor one moment that the island is combed and our very best talent is exposed to our very best local coaching and advances to the national teams - the proper back office support is always lacking. No exposing of these our national teams to quality...top quality competitionuntil they have disposed of CFU competition and meet top CONCACAF opposition is the reality. That is fact!</SPAN>

<SPAN>We are left to wonder why it is that the JFF treats...continuously over the years...our children so shabbly? Are these not our own who any 'parent' would want...with burning desire...only the best of opportunities?</SPAN>

<SPAN>Unfortunately we are where we are - i.e. in desperate circumstances...desperate to qualify for the higher competitions...and, the JFF recognising that their policythat governs preparation ofour local children is a failed one...have no optionbut to bring in overseas reinforcement to hopefully give the vast majority of 'others', locally grown, an opportunity toadvance andhopefully using the competitive matches as 'learning experiences'/practise matches (...as did outREGGAE GIRLZ) reap for selves and TEAM great rewards.</SPAN>

<SPAN>NB: I am for using our very best players. matters not where they were born and or currently reside...but, our local sons and daughters MUST be given the very best of 'back-office' support and opportunities to maximise their potential as I am dead sure...forget in some cases growing to be better than our other sons and daughters from outside of the island...but, growing to be, on given the very best back-office support and opportuinities,...better than others in the whole wide world! </SPAN>

<SPAN>They are Jamaicans! Give them the tools! ...and, it is FORWARD to the TOP OF THE WORLD!</SPAN>

<SPAN></SPAN>

As usualMexico in our group.

Groups confirmed for 2007 CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round

- Groups A &amp; B have been confirmed for the 2007 CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round taking place in Panama and Mexico, respectively.

Panama will host Group A at the Rommel Fernández Stadium in Panama City from 17-21 January and will feature Guatemala, Haiti and the USA.

Mexico, who is staging Group B at the Carlos González y González Stadium in Culiacán, Sinaloa from 21-25 February, has Costa Rica, St. Kitts &amp; Nevis and the winner of the Jamaica – Trinidad &amp; Tobago playoff.

The top two teams from each of these groups will qualify to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007.

2007 CONCACAF UNDER-20 FINAL ROUND
            <U>Group A (Rommel Fernández Stadium – Panama City</U>
            PANAMA
            USA
            GUATEMALA
            HAITI

<U>Group B (Carlos González y González Stadium – Culiacán, Sinaloa)</U>
            MEXICO
            COSTA RICA
            ST. KITTS &amp; NEVIS
            JAMAICA/TRINIDAD &amp; TOBAGO

Jamaica2099 (12/3/2006)As usualMexico in our group.

Groups confirmed for 2007 CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round

- Groups A &amp; B have been confirmed for the 2007 CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round taking place in Panama and Mexico, respectively.

Panama will host Group A at the Rommel Fernández Stadium in Panama City from 17-21 January and will feature Guatemala, Haiti and the USA.

Mexico, who is staging Group B at the Carlos González y González Stadium in Culiacán, Sinaloa from 21-25 February, has Costa Rica, St. Kitts &amp; Nevis and the winner of the Jamaica – Trinidad &amp; Tobago playoff.

The top two teams from each of these groups will qualify to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007.

2007 CONCACAF UNDER-20 FINAL ROUND
              <U>Group A (Rommel Fernández Stadium – Panama City</U>
              PANAMA
              USA
              GUATEMALA
              HAITI

<U>Group B (Carlos González y González Stadium – Culiacán, Sinaloa)</U>
              MEXICO
              COSTA RICA
              ST. KITTS &amp; NEVIS
              JAMAICA/TRINIDAD &amp; TOBAGO

Yes!

...and, "Jack" set up T'dad tuh?

Can you explain what you just said in English please..It was way over my head, no jokes...were you agreeing or disagreeing with her or what???

Also when you say shabby treatment by our players by the JFF, you mean that even the Brazil or Enhglish FA or any other FA that does not pick a youth player in a higher level team is guilty of mistreating their playesr too?

what did jack set up trinidad fuh well say it !! karl playing mexico and costa rica enhances our chances of qualification that what you saying ????? of was it becuase st kitts in the group. Anyway , i think you are expecting the worst for your boyz

dem have a player name elton john? can parents be so cruel?!!

If the foriegnerst them a come in them fi come in early, not at the last minute. I support you Lady X 100%. The grab a team mentality nah go werk.

Nuh tell me these youth couldn't have played a game or two over the last year.

Now when they go a trinidad them nuh know them teammates but we a go look fi miracle from them.

How many times we see them youth come fi one or two games and we no longer hear gunfire from them again.

Sassin what are talking about? wasn't Joel Grant in camp during June

and played with most of the boyz in the current squad this pass July in Cartagena Colombia?

and as Sikko said Senior was on the U17 and most of these players were

Garth Williams, Observer Reporter

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has thrust a considerable amount of energy and focus on the development of football at the youth level to lay a reliable foundation, for this approach allows for a larger pool of players to receive opportunities at the international level.

A number of the world's leading football nations such as Argentina, Brazil, Germany, Mexico and The Netherlands can attribute their current and continued success to strong and highly organised youth development programmes. In particular, Ajax Amsterdam of the Netherlands are a global model for youth development in football. Such programmes hone young talent and filter them into their respective national senior squads.

In this light, the upcoming 20th Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games is important as it provides another opportunity for international exposure and experience that is necessary to develop young talent. The "Young Reggae Boyz" have been in preparation since the start of the year for the CAC Games in Colombia July 15-30. The team played two friendly international games against the US Major League soccer team New England Revolution and the Bermuda national senior team in February. The Under-23s drew 1-1 with Bermuda and lost 1-0 to the New England Revolution.

The team was placed in Group 5 for the qualifying round, which was played in Suriname. Here they faced Suriname and the Dominican Republic defeating both teams 5-1 and 1-0, respectively.

Jamaica are in Group C for the CAC Games, along with Haiti and Costa Rica. Central American teams have always posed formidable challenges in the CONCACAF region, so we can expect Costa Rica to provide good opposition for Jamaica. In August 2004, Jamaica defeated Haiti 4-0 in the CONCACAF Under-20 Tournament. The top two finishers in the competition would have qualified for the 2004 Under-20 World Cup. Jamaica finished in the top four, along with Canada, Honduras and Mexico.

Historically, Jamaica have never medalled in football at the CAC Games. The team recognises this and has all intentions to not only medal, but to make it the first. This will be a good indicator of the strides being made in youth development by the administration over the recent period.

The team has the highest retention level among our national teams. Most of the team members have been playing together from the Under-15 and Under-17 levels. Players such as Dwayne Kerr (goalkeeper, Reno), Steven Morrissey (striker, Portmore) and Richard West (striker, Harbour View) have been with the programme from the Under-15 stage. Of the 23 invitees to the preparation camp for the CAC Games, 18 are local-based players and five are based internationally.

Also of note is the fact that some of the invitees play at the senior level. Players such as Ryan Thompson, Akeem Priestly, Dwayne Kerr, Nicholi Finlayson, Adrian Reid, Keneil Moodie, Luton Shelton and Jermaine Taylor have all campaigned as senior Reggae Boyz. We will therefore be able to test the extent to which experience at the senior level translates into leadership at the Under-21 level.

With the 2010 World Cup in South Africa a mere four years away, the players recognise the high probability that they could provide an important part of the squad for the senior team. As their preparations continue, the team will have week-day camps and break on the weekends.

The squad is comprised of: Jermaine Taylor (captain), Akeem Priestly, Ralston Robinson, Dwayne Kerr, Richard West, Jermaine Hollis, Steven Morrissey, Horace Howell, Nicholy Finlayson, Cornell Learmond, Adrian Reid, Rafe Wolfe, Keneil Moodie, Obrian Whyte, Shaun Francis, Joel Grant, Mario Harrison, Nathan Koo-Boothe.

Cut the crap and educate yourself on the issue at hand. Senior went to St Georges College played Manning Cup and was part of the national youth set up for years.

He got a scholarship and is playing at Howard University, does that make him a foreigner?

he was also here during the summer training with this same national team, would the few months absence make him a stranger to his team mates?

Or would you prefer he forego his education and play for a NPL club so he wont be seen as foreign based?

One of the players is a Jamaican born and bred. The rest of what you are saying I fully agree with. We are going to play Trinidad and we have to go get a Watford player? We can incorporate a player in the programif he is good enough butdid we need to grab a player to play trinidad today.

For every one footballer Trinidad has of any skill level Jamaica has at least two but the new Jamaican mentality says we must get a big name out of England to play little Trinidad who as far as I know are coming with Trinidad born and raised players.Tell methere is nothing patently classless and unfairnot to mentionhurry-come up bout that? If Trinidad has better players than we do let's see.

Question: Wheredoes Costa Rica run to to get players?

Answer:Costa Rica.They just look within anddevelop their infrastructure out of necessity - Now check outtheir consistency and quality for a country not much bigger than Jamaica.
                              SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!