Stoke 0 Coventry 0

• Stoke 0 Coventry 0

Coventry striker Dele Adebola squandered the two best chances as the Sky Blues fought out a dire goalless draw with in-form Stoke at the Ricoh Arena. After 18 minutes Adebola headed wide Leon McKenzie's cross when he was well placed and unmarked and in injury-time at the end of the first half, he could only head onto the bar from Darren Currie's ball in.

The visitors, who had won their previous five matches, were limited in attack, but after the break a sixth consecutive clean sheet never looked in doubt. The final quarter at last saw some urgency, with Stoke's Ricardo Fuller going close on a number of occasions, but a poor game finished goalless, with the hosts making it four matches unbeaten. For two sides in such good form it was flat opening from the off, although Stoke's Mamady Sidibe had a drive held by Andy Marshall and Fuller also forced an early save from the Sky Blues goalkeeper.

Coventry were struggling to make inroads and a poor McKenzie header from Currie's corner was all they had to show for the opening 17 minutes. But a minute later Richard Duffy played McKenzie through, with more than a hint of offside, and his cross from the right found his strike partner, but Adebola, with goals in his previous two matches, nodded wide from 10 yards out.

Stoke's Lee Hendrie hooked a free-kick over from 20 yards and Fuller showed his class with 27 minutes gone, surging past Marcus Hall and Michael Doyle, only to be thwarted by a fine low stop from Marshall.

With Currie a constant threat, the Sky Blues finished the half strongly and Adebola hit the woodwork from a cross from the industrious winger. The hosts maintained their ascendancy after the interval and Clive Clarke sliced wide from the edge of the area against his old club. Salif Diao was having an impressive afternoon defensively and the on-loan Liverpool midfielder did well to turn away Colin Cameron's cross under his own bar.

The Potters finally produced some decent football and combination play between Fuller and Hendrie created space for Berger, whose strike was deflected wide. Midway through the second period Sidibe made a mess of a great opportunity after Andy Griffin and Hendrie linked, the big striker running too wide and causing Marshall few problems with a scuffed effort. With 20 minutes left, the game seemed finally to have come to life and from a disputed corner McKenzie was just blocked as the Potters cleared desperately.

A couple of minutes later Hendrie drove through the Coventry midfield and Fuller's close-range shot was blocked wide. Fuller then saw a curling effort palmed away by Marshall and the same player volleyed over from the subsequent corner. Coventry substitute Stern John blasted well off target with a minute left and the game finished in stalemate.

<TABLE class=tablehead cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 border=0><TBODY><TR class=colhead style="FONT-SIZE: 9px"><TD align=left width="50%">Coventry</TD><TD align=right width="50%">Stoke</TD></TR><TR class=evenrow><TD align=left>33Andy Marshall</TD><TD align=right>Steve Simonsen1</TD></TR><TR class=evenrow><TD align=left>9Dele Adebola</TD><TD align=right>Michael Duberry5</TD></TR><TR class=evenrow><TD align=left>26Clive Clarke</TD><TD align=right>Andy Griffin20</TD></TR><TR class=evenrow><TD align=left>24<A href="h
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

RE: Stoke 0 Coventry 0

NOW YUH SEE WHY Southampton let him go and keep jones

The day Ricardo Fuller of all people gets benched for a player like Kenwyne Jones is the day hell would freeze.

well boy the devil wearing his winter coat all now becuase he was benched fuh jones

Naminirt (12/2/2006)well boy the devil wearing his winter coat all now becuase he was benched fuh jones
          Good reason to seek a transfer then yes.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

he nuh seek transfer he get put up fuh transfer

Naminirt (12/2/2006)he nuh seek transfer he get put up fuh transfer
              Hey, if that floats your boat, run wid it. You seem happy to hear that one of our players got transferred.

Let me break it down for you. Players get transferred for vrious reasons. A coach could think that the player's styledoes not fit his (the coache's) type of game. The coach could just not like the player along with millions of other reasons. Instead of making the player hang on and be underutilized, let him go to a culb which would value the player's talent.

I think you are more working this transfer of Fuller to say Trini out do Jamaica again. I guess you will never cease to do that.

Anyway, not be surprised to see Stoke and Fuller in the EPL next season.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nope no trini out do JA HERE but it have man on here who diss jones so i juss diss them back plain and simple AND TALK BOUT UNO PLAYER . If yuh all have a glass house dont throw no stone plenty man on this site can give chat but cannot "take backchat".....

Don, Fuller never get benched for Jones. Be smart for one second, why would they bench their leading scorer from the previous season for a player that play so many games with so few goals? Fuller ended up with 11 goals and Jones ended up with bout 4or 5. The reason Fuller was benched was because of the knee injury. They decided to cut ties with him because he was on premiership wages but couldn't play many gamesfor them due to his bad knees.

Well anyways, look at the goals per game ratio this season and see who is the better player. Fuller got more goals in fewer games than Jones.Comparing Fuller to Jones is likecomparing a Lionto a kitten. Argument done.

I posted a report on Stoke andin response toa Stoke vs Coventryreport you responded

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>NOW YUH SEE WHY Southampton let him go and keep jones</SPAN>
                    Now you claim youaren't just making up something to try to say someone from your country outdid a Jamaican youare just aninnocent non ignoramus, non-trouble making trinidadianresponding to Jones getting dissed. But you area liaras it was clearly a report on Stoke vs Coventry and Jones wasn't mentioned.

Naminirt (12/2/2006)Nope no trini out do JA HERE but it have man on here who diss jones so i juss diss them back plain and simple.....
                    Fact is Fuller played less games and even with an injured knee and a loan spell scored more than twice the number of goals as your Jones. Fuller came off the bench 9 times Jones came off the bench 17 times and I remember Fuller hitting the net 6 times in Southamptons last 6 games where was Jones in those 6 games?

keep quiet yuh know the man nuh no good and they get rid of him he did not figure in themanager's plans he was excess bagage

jones was out injured last season also... how much years has fuller been in the Uk this is jones second full season as a pro also he is a defender turned striker . so say what yuh want paw ...

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=center bgColor=#cc0000 height=38><TD class=articleheadlineblack colSpan=2><DIV style="PADDING-LEFT: 2px">Fuller explanation required</DIV></TD></TR><TR bgColor=#000000><TD colSpan=2 height=2></TD></TR><TR class=articlesubheadblack bgColor=#ffffff height=22><TD width=235><DIV style="PADDING-LEFT: 2px" nd="4">By Chris C</DIV></TD><TD align=right width=235><DIV style="PADDING-RIGHT: 2px" nd="5">Thursday 31st August 2006</DIV></TD></TR><TR bgColor=#000000><TD colSpan=2 height=2></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><DIV class=sectiongaplarge></DIV><TABLE class=articlebodyblack cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=textjustify>Stoke City have completed the unexpected signing of Saints' Ricardo Fuller, as Saints continue their seeming policy of selling our top scorers.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><DIV class=sectiongaplarge></DIV><TABLE class=articlebodyblack cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=textjustify>

After selling Kevin Phillips and Peter Crouch post-relegation, Saints started life in the Championship in good form but as a side short of a decent striker. Promotion in the Championship requires plenty of goals, unless you have a Chelsea-like defence and Saints are currently shipping more than our fair share.

Ricardo Fuller arrived from Portsmouth as our only outlay of the 2005 summer in a £90k move. He looked short of form and fitness and it was ony on return from loan at Ipswich that we saw the Preston North End form that earnt him a Premiership move.

Fuller turned the boos to cheers and ended the season on a prolific run of form in a dominant partnership with Gregorz Rasiak. He started the season as first choice against Derby before going off injured. He made a more than impressive return in the 5-2 win over Yeovil, setting up two goals from the bench and running rings around the Yeovil defence.

We need competition for places, especially up front and with the improved form of Kenwyne Jones, we finally looked to have four decent strikers. With Bradley Wright-Phillips still to consistently find the net, you can make a strong case for Ricardo Fuller to be in the starting eleven.

Strange indeed to hear him linked with a move to Stoke over the last few days. Stranger still to hear George Burley claim that "Ricardo was one of the bigger earners at the Club but at the moment there are probably three strikers ahead of him in the pecking order."

It was unexpected to see Jones come on instead of Fuller against Preston, but many put it down to a slow return of injury. In terms of proven ability Fuller is still a better option than Jones. Jones himself was linked with a move to Plymouth, but it is Fuller that has been shown the exit door.

Yes, he may be a higher earner, but Saints only paid £90k for him in the first place and would expect to pay more to our better players. Even then Saint

Strange indeed to hear him linked with a move to Stoke over the last few days. Stranger still to hear George Burley claim that "Ricardo was one of the bigger earners at the Club but at the moment there are probably three strikers ahead of him in the pecking order.":w00t:

As it is, Saints are left looking short of proven talent upfront