Tyrone Mears played for Jamaica despite no links to there.

• Tyrone Mears played for Jamaica despite no links to there.

AS a defender, Tyrone Mears knows you get punished for playing a man on-side - especially if it's the WRONG side.
    And that's now happened to the Burnley star after playing football for a country he has NO link to.
    The balls-up came when Tyrone - who thought he was of Jamaican blood - was asked to play by their old boss John Barnes.
    It was the right-back's first international cap - but the Jamaican FA MISSED the fact Tyrone's long lost father was AFRICAN.
    Now the 26-year-old must pay the ultimate penalty - not being able to fulfil his boyhood dream of playing for England.
    Tyrone, born in Stockport to a British mum, told the News of the World: "It was an honest mistake on my part. I can't believe the Jamaican FA didn't check in the registration process!"
    The Premier League player, rated as England's second-best right-back by Opta stats, was recovering from an injury at the start of the year while playing for French club Marseille.
    He added: "I was desperate for games at the time. When Barnes asked me about Jamaica I thought I'd see if I qualified."
    That's when Mears began digging into his father's past and was told he had Jamaican roots. His father was actually from Sierra Leone.
    He added: "I gave the Jamaican FA my name, my father's name and that was it. I didn't have to submit my passport.

lol lol

Wait dah breddah yah nuh easy. Him tell di man dem him father from Jamaica.

LOL .. Man seh him can't believe the JA Fa never check. Him never interested to know either LOL

He is an ASS! And it serves us all right for this policy we have pursued!

Nuh your boy John Barnes. You lucky him leave early, or him would have 11 man on the team with Nigerian father.

I some times wonder at the IQ levels of these profesional football players

well when a man have fi jump through window fi got outa him contract you done know.

Him must have two daddies because it nuh that hard fi find out.

You can't believe anything Mears say.

Isnt the jff just as guilty in this case.

Yes them guilty.

Although something nuh sound right in him story.

I looks bad, but then again, it was not a real game, just a friendly. The JFF should have done due diligence on this to make sure the man is a legitimate Jamaican by descent. If he were to play in the Gold Cup, a FIFA sanctioned competition or in any World Cup Qualifier, then the JFF would have to have all the necessary documents in place, as they would then need to apply for a passport for the player. Mears was not involved in the GC, so. . .

It is sad though that Mears knows not his roots beyond himself. Imagine, not being sure where your father was from. So maybe he just did not know the man, but at least his information should be on his birth certificate.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

thats a damn shame
                      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                      United Oil by 1.31.26;A JOINT VENTURE GROUP TO DO PISTON CORE ,3D REPROCESSING AND ENVIRONMENT
                      PERMISSION ARE PEREQUISITE TO DO
                      EXPLORER WELL.TO SPUD IS FINAL
                      AND CAN HAPPENED BY JAMAICANS
                      ANYTIME.EXPLORER WELL
                      IN 2026.

Burrel and him foreign mentality bway. Good thing him in good stead with FIFA cause we can get ban fi him stupid mistake, if it was even one in the first place as he could've known darn well what he was doing.

I don't care bout Mears story. Just don't step close to a Jamaica team again for as long as him live and i will be arite!

Well since I dont know him to speak to ... so

Imagine if this had taken place under Boxhill's watch...