• Ricketts still top 'keeper to Galaxy

Ricketts still top 'keeper to Galaxy

Jamaican international has solidified L.A. defense

By Larry Morgan / MLSnet.com Staff

Donovan Ricketts had a 1.03 GAA and nine clean sheets in his first year with the Galaxy. (Getty)

CARSON, Calif. -- Chivas USA's Zach Thornton was named MLS Goalkeeper of the Year on Wednesday after a season in which he led the league in goals-against average (0.87) and shutouts (12) and tied for most victories (12).

Los Angeles Galaxy coaches and players sent along their congratulations, but not without a sense of disappointment.

If they had their way in the decision-making process, Donovan Ricketts would have won the award. The Jamaican international, in his first season in Los Angeles, finished with a 1.03 GAA, 9 shutouts and 10 victories and did wonders in solidifying a defense that as recently as last season led MLS in goals allowed.

"Absolutely," midfielder Chris Klein said when asked if Ricketts was the league's best goaltender. "I wouldn't want to have any other goalie than Donovan. I think he's shown over the course of the year ... I don't want to take anything away from Zach, who had a great year ... but for us and our team Donovan is the best goalie in the league."

"We're comfortable with that. We don't need an award to tell us that."

Ricketts, who spent five seasons with English sides Bolton Wanderers and Bradford City and then Village United in Jamaica before joining the Galaxy, was a member of Jamaica's 1998 World Cup team and has earned 74 caps for his country. In December he helped his countrymen secure a berth in this year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The 6-foot-4, 200-pounder, who missed the first two games of the regular season but finished with a 10-5-1 won-loss record, casts an imposing presence in front of the net.

"He's so long," Klein said. "If you look at every aspect of the game, he does it well. He's a guy that has all the physical tools and really puts it together in the best way during the game. We know what we're going to get from Donovan."

Defender Gregg Berhalter, another new addition to the Galaxy's back line this season, also said Donovan was the league's best goalkeeper and was disappointed Ricketts did not get the award over Thornton and the other finalist in the balloting, Seattle Sounders FC's Kasey Keller.

"Credit goes to Zach, who also had a good year," Berhalter said, "but Donovan deserved to win it. When I first saw him I knew he had quality. He has that aura about him ... you can see he's confident in himself and on the field and that definitely helps the team.

"There's been games where he hasn't gotten much work, but when teams get that one, good chance he saves it. That's when you need goalkeepers to win points for you, and he's definitely done that."

Dema Kovalenko said he was happy for Thornton, a former teammate in Chicago, but he also was one of many who felt Ricketts got shortchanged in the voting. He also didn't want to diminish Thornton's achievement in any way, but he did say he found the final result a little hard to figure.

"Unfortunately this league is a little bit about numbers," Kovalenko said. "I'm not taking anything away from Zach ... I'm happy for him and he's a good friend of mine ... but I think our goalie is the best in the league.
    In my opinion he should have won. He's going to get it next year."

Galaxy head coach Bruce Arena didn't want to get caught in any discussions on whether or not Ricketts was unjustly overlooked.

"You don't want to get into that game, that this guy is better than that guy," Arena said. "The fact that Donovan was a finalist for the award speaks volumes for what he did this year. He had a terrific year. Zach Thornton is a deserving winner, he had a fantastic year and give him all the credit, but we're real happy to have Donovan Ricketts."
    Last edited by Karl; November 6, 2009, 05:20 PM.

Imagine a year ago man a talk how Tall P nuh good.

Sometimes we can underate our own very badly.

Very good year Ricketts, keep it up. I watched a few games and it exciting to watch him save some world class shots. If he was keeping in England and Dunny tell me I wouldn't believe it but I saw it for myself and Ricketts is good goalie.

It is also Ryan Thompson's last year at Tampa. I know he is trying to get a pro contract so good luck to him.

Imagine a year ago man a talk how Tall P nuh good.

Sometimes we can underate our own very badly.

Very good year Ricketts, keep it up. I watched a few games and it exciting to watch him save some world class shots. If he was keeping in England and Dunny tell me I wouldn't believe it but I saw it for myself and Ricketts is good goalie.

It is also Ryan Thompson's last year at Tampa. I know he is trying to get a pro contract so good luck to him.
      Seriously Sass two of those saves he made in that first game against Chivas were top drawer! Especially that one off the full volley. Simply world class. It is ashame that he was the only one on his team to show up that day. Then again I guess Chivas could argue the same thing. The comedy of errors in that game alone had the Three Stooges jealous.

Funny enough for all the buffonery going on I thought Shavar had a very good game. His team deserved to have all 3 points but it really was impossible for the ref to see that handball by Donovan on the galaxy's first goal. He was already moving down the field when it happened. I don't think one person on planet earth could have imagined what was to come when the chivas player (santos) somehow managed to kick the ball back towards his own goal from 20-22 yards out. I would have to say that it was the worst defensive clearance in the history of football. He deserved to be red carded just for plain stupidity. - T.K.

that "back pass/clearance" by Santos can't be duplicated.
        The fact is all year long Ricketts a make them saves.
        Interesting to see if any European team a go come for him again.

that "back pass/clearance" by Santos can't be duplicated.
          The fact is all year long Ricketts a make them saves.
          Interesting to see if any European team a go come for him again.
          sass , ricketts alright weh im deh . Im will play in di concacaf champions league and top notch opposition wen Galaxy put dem pon xibition . wen JA
          ready fi im ,im juss deh right desso . Mi mind tell mi seh im agoh get 250,000
          next year note seh is a 150000 im a get .
          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
          Probably forthcoming...

I wonder if the best goalkeeper in England, Germany or France wins that award strictly on his stats?!?

I doubt that. America is Stats capital and you should know that.
              everything is down in stats including assists, etc. It is good for assessing game but not the best tool to choose "best" player. Thorton was also good this year but in my opinion not as good as Ricketts.

When you can beat out Casey Keller in your first year in the league it a say something, and Thorton has played more than 10 years in the league with different teams so he may have some "biased" vote as well.

I hope galaxy win di MLS CUP this year.
                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                Probably forthcoming...

i guess there really can't be a biased vote because they go by stats. but stats is not always the best way to choose such an award, regardless what hl says!

Mo, them use the stats as justification this time, but if a them favorite a go get turn down by the stats them will justify it. Even with the stats don't they still have to vote?

At least that a my opinion anyway.

i guess there really can't be a biased vote because they go by stats. but stats is not always the best way to choose such an award, regardless what hl says!
                      have you ever heard , 'you have lies ,damn lies and statistics' -mark twain .
                      Probably forthcoming...

a get yuh!

When mi tell yuh seh Yard people nuh know nuttin bout ball unnuh waan get vex

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                            sass , ricketts alright weh im deh . Im will play in di concacaf champions league and top notch opposition wen Galaxy put dem pon xibition . wen JA
                            ready fi im ,im juss deh right desso . Mi mind tell mi seh im agoh get 250,000
                            next year note seh is a 150000 im a get .
                            Yuh expect man fi play fi dem chumpers?

Mosiah Why yuh drawing me in this conversation?

I have never seen a NPL management team with book and pencil taking notes on the side-line. Not even wid a crayon an a scrap a papah