• Marlon King: what sickens you most?

Mike Norrish
    Mike Norrish is the Blogs Editor of Telegraph Sport
    Marlon King: what sickens you most?

By Mike Norrish Football Last updated: October 30th, 2009

What sickens you most about the case of Marlon King, the former Wigan footballer jailed for sexually assaulting of a young woman in a London nightclub?

Is it the hair-trigger transition from lecherous neck-stroking to gratuitous face-smashing? “Marlon King took one step backward and smashed her in the face with a clenched fist. He broke her nose with the blow. It was a completely gratuitous piece of violence against a slightly-built female,” said Roger Daniells-Smith, prosecuting.

Is it his conduct in court, where his plea of mistaken identity was dismissed by the jury? “You have shown not a hint of shame at your disgraceful and arrogant behaviour,” said judge Nicholas Loraine-Smith.

Is it the fact that King groped his victim while out celebrating his wife’s third pregnancy?

Is it the likelihood that King, as he boasted, is a multi-millionaire? And this despite an entirely unremarkable career with provincial clubs. One so unremarkable that, to his apparent surprise, young women in Soho nightclubs don’t ‘know who he is’.

Or is it the reaction of the Jamaican Football Federation, whose president, Captain Horace Burrell, said yesterday: “Marlon has been a very charismatic figure in the Reggae Boyz set-up and one who has given heart and soul for the Jamaican football cause; always giving of his best.* So, to see him faced with the harrowing prospect of time behind bars hurts me deeply, as I am sure it would anybody who has been associated with him.**”

(*King was banned for two years by the Jamaican Football Federation in 2006 for his repeated indiscipline. But that was under a Captain Burrell’s predecessor, so it obviously doesn’t count. **Anybody who has been associated with him? Does that include those whose ‘association’ with King led to them being picked up off a nightclub floor covered in blood?)

So what sickens us most? All of the above, I suspect.

King, however, doesn’t seem sickened by any part of his behaviour. Indeed, he is now planning to appeal.

What sickens me is his woefully soft sentence
    However, I’m given to understand that he’s appealing against this short prison sentence – and to use a variation of an advertising term – ‘The value of your investment can go UP, as well as down’
    Am I right in thinking that he already has extensive form?

Phil Kean on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
    Report comment
    I had £50 on him finishing Wigan’s top scorer this season.

beaton on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:30 pm
    Report comment
    What sickens me is, if my memory serves me right, this animal has a record of violence against women and yet football, ‘the beautiful game’, (LOL), still employed him. Wigan has sacked him but must have been aware of his past. I have no doubt he will be back playing just as soon as he is released as some manager will want to give him a chance to ‘redeem himself’.

Bry St Ives on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:31 pm
    Report comment
    So much to choose from.
    If what I have read is correct, What about the Soho Revue Bar’s refusal to call the police to the scene (despite claiming that they had done)? What a great message to send out to your customers; the more money you earn, the more you can get away with. Hence a Premiership ‘footballer’ launches a sickening attack on a defenceless woman and is ‘protected’ by the establishment. What protection was offered the poor student who was attacked? What woman in her right mind would want to go to this club?

donkeyshed on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
    Report comment
    While what Marlon King has done is discusting,he has come in for some harsh criticism. On some websites it has been made out he is a racist. Not true. As for not being a top class striker also not true. He finished top scorer in the championship and had a good loan spells at Hull and middlesbrough. The article above is therefore biased. Saying he never made a impression at clubs is’nt true. As a Watford fan I can say he did have a impact,and got us promoted. So lets stick to facts. What he did was wrong,and all these other convictions have now come to light. I am sure he will reflect on himself during his sentence. For his sake I hope he does. In my opinion it would’nt bother me if he was to wear a Watford shirt again. At least he cared.

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:54 pm
    Report comment
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheryl_Cole#Personal_life
    I could make a comment about what the two were charged with, but wont.

DominicJ on Oct 30th, 2009 at 2:56 pm
    Report comment
    This guy is a psycho
    If you read all the reports about him you will see he has serious almost psychopathic problems and beside his jail sentence needs serious help.His convictions are as long as the wigan pitch
    What makes me laugh though is some team (certainly not wigan Whelan is true to his word)will take him on forgetting about whats happened this in my opinion shouldnt be allowed to happen with someone high profile like this and its a joke
    It seems to me these clowns like king are NOT learning any lessons at all and the clubs are turning a blind eye to potential flashpoints (King had a major row with windass that the club knew about not wigan cant rem who)
    Most pro players think they are “gods”and being young and wedged up think they can do exactly as they like
    LET THIS INCIDENT BE A WARNING TO YOU ALL

drone on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:22 pm
    Report comment
    Didn’t the Chairman or whoever say he was fired ‘cos ‘they didn’t want to be involved with a footballer who’s serving a prison sentence for 18 months’ . . . so, not because they didn’t want a bloke on the payroll who sexually harassed then broke a woman’s face when she spurned him, then? The real horror is that he’s not available to play. Nice. So if he’d got a suspended and a fine it’d be all ’see you on monday, Marlon.

xxcorrectxx on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:28 pm
    Report comment
    Psyco? Hardly psyco drone. He deserves a second chance,like anyone. He has not killed anyone,and am sure he will be a reformed charecter after his sentence.

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:30 pm
    Report comment
    @ patterson
    I think you’ll find Mike has stuck to the facts. He quite clearly states that King has had ‘an entirely unremarkable career with provincial clubs’. You’re simply reinforcing this by bringing up his career at Watford…

baronsaintjean on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:36 pm
    Report comment
    @Patterson. Everyone deserves a second chance? I’m sorry, but have you got any idea what you’re talking about? This guy has got more form than the Racing Post…

Mike Norrish on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:38 pm
    Report comment
    @ drone
    Simply not true. Iy you are one for facts you will see he single handly got a small town club into the premier league and finished top scorer in the championship. unremarable? I think not my freind xxx

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
    Report comment
    @mike. It is not just myself who has this belief. I said what he did. For example wenger to name but a few. I am of the opinion that you have got you’re point across in a unfair and untrue manner. Statistics will support that.

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 3:57 pm
    Report comment
    Sorry did’nt make sense that, at work hiding this from boss! What I was trying to say is that what he did was wrong,but deserves a second chance. Saying he was not a good football player is untrue.

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:03 pm
    Report comment
    Another soccer empty head, along with Bowyer, Woodgate, Barton……over paid, overrated and full of ……. .
    18 months! 5yrs and send him home.

Justinxs on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:14 pm
    Report comment
    1ST PRIZE, BOLLOX OF THE WEEK COMPETITION..“I am sure he will be a reformed charecter after his sentence.”
    Yeah, right – patterson, you are clearly some sort of nut-job. The guy is psycho, as drone points out, and normal human beings, which wouldn’t include him, or apparently you, don’t go punching women they don’t know. As a matter of fact, they don’t go punching those they DO know – but we have not heard from Mrs King on this subject – I doubt she dare open her mouth for fear of a ‘manly’ fist in it.
    What sickens me, is that this piece of garbage has been passed through the revolving door of our misnamed ‘justice system’and let out to continue his assaults, thefts, and fraud, without being much inconvenienced.
    The second thing that sickens me is the paltry damages he has to pay his victims (he HAS told us all how rich he is, and I thought there was a scale of ability to pay), and the miniscule contribution he has had to make towards what must be considerable court costs.
    He should be impoverished, jailed for 10 years to serve – then deported whence he came. Now THAT would encourage those who would use the animal as a role model.

45govt on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
    Report comment
    @45govt. Nut job im not. As for de-portation ,where shall they deport him to? Back to Dulwich where he was born and brought up? That is the rubbish I am talking about. I am not standing up for his actions. He was a fine athelete and once again I will repeat myself,DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE. GET A GRIP

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:28 pm
    Report comment
    Patterson -”In my opinion it would’nt bother me if he was to wear a Watford shirt again. At least he cared.”
    this mong shows us all exactly why King behaved as he did, and will do when he gets out and gets another contract. Let me put it bluntly: In my opinion, it wouldn’t bother me if he was to wear a watford shirt again – because obviously their fans are all women bashing t@rds with no balls. But then again, this attitude would be common amongst most football fans, being a good cross section of the lower, bowel regions of society. what society needs is a good sh@t, ridding us of King, patterson, and the rest of their scummy sub-culture.

Charlie Zulu on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:32 pm
    Report comment
    It can’t be that anyone gets away with actions like these. What kind of person “celebrates his wife’s pregnancy by making advances on another woman”? Or chases a woman around london with a belt stripped around his fist? The guy’s a nutter and belongs behind bars. He’s had his chances before. You only get one 2nd chance and he wasted it.

gonzy on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:37 pm
    Report comment
    Gonzy “What kind of person “celebrates his wife’s pregnancy by making advances on another woman”? Or chases a woman around london with a belt stripped around his fist?”
    answer: a professional footballer of course.

Charlie Zulu on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:41 pm
    Report comment
    Nonsense.

patterson on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:45 pm
    Report comment
    SECOND PRIZE, BOLLOX OF THE WEEK COMPO..
    “He was a fine athelete and once again I will repeat myself,DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE. GET A GRIP..”
    Listen up you pitiful moron – have you read HOW MANY CHANCES THE ANIMAL HAS HAD ALREADY??
    Can you count, you’ve got 10 fingers FFS, use ‘em.
    He may have been a fine “athelete”(sic), but he is also an accomplished thug who should never be let back out on the streets of Britain. So he was born (certainly not brought up) in Dulwich? – he plays for Jamaica too – that’s the place he should be sent to – and don’t say we can’t, we could if we had the balls.

45govt on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
    Report comment
    @Patterson
    What a staggeringly shallow individual you are. You must be one of these blokes who will prioritise their football team above all else (for many this includes family) in the mistaken belief that it gives them some sort of credibility. So when a former ‘hero’ (who, by the way had thoroughly inept spells at Hull and- especially- Boro) viciously assaults a petite woman in an unprevoked attack, you are prepared to forgive that in an instant, so long as there is a chance that he comes back and scores goals for your team. I hope that spouting such ludicrous bile makes you look big, clever and ‘committed’ when you repeat it whichever unfortunates will listen to you. However, I suspect they will merely see you for the immature idiot that you have shown yourself to be on this forum.
    Small-time player; small-town team; small minded individual. Looks like you were made for each other.

donkeyshed on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
    Report comment
    Perhaps he can find employment at Michael Vick’s Bad Newz Kennels when he gets out??

sweeney on Oct 30th, 2009 at 4:55 pm
    Report comment
    “He was a fine athelete and once again I will repeat myself,DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE. GET A GRIP”
    …and hopefully he will get one. A second chance to do a better job on the shower floors in prison. Let’s hope he is as good at defending the rear (ahem) as he is at the lightning attack.
    Or. let’s not.

Shocker on Oct 30th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
    Report comment
    i hope he becomes mr bigs bitch and is discharged with pillow embedded in his gums.

bigvern on Oct 30th, 2009 at 6:24 pm
    Report comment
    What sickens me most was the politically ‘correct’ length of the sentence. He’ll be out before you know it.

turinst on Oct 30th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
    Report comment
    Professional football is once again disgraced by an arrogant thug, with an overwhelming sense of his own importance and his attractiveness to women, for whom he holds nothing but contempt. The so called beautifull game panders to badly behaved, overpaid, oversexed louts, with underdeveloped brains, and these are are the objects of adoration to their shallow fans. The fact that this brutish young man was a professional athlete, that assaulted a slight girl, merely because she did not share his inflated sense of his own importance, makes the matter worse. What a fine example this must be to their young fans.

Toboo on Oct 30th, 2009 at 6:55 pm
    Report comment
    Patterson, he might well be given another chance but in what way does he deserve it?
    (By the way, he has already had more than one chance so please don’t call it “second chance”.)
    What might have led you to the conclusion that the piece of scum deserves another go? – was it the remorse he has shown for his actions or the fact that he admitted his guilt and spared his victim the necessity of testifying?
    Oh, silly me, I quite forgot that he hasn’t shown any remorse and he made up a ridiculous lie to try and get away with his crime. How inconvenient for you.
    It seems then that your support for this sexual predator appears to be based on the fact that he once scored a few goals for the football team you support.
    You are a credit to your tribe – a true supporter.
    Anyway, if he ever comes back to Watford, I hope he makes you very proud. Just hope that your wife or daughter doesn’t run into him in any of the local clubs.

jonforest on Oct 30th, 2009 at 7:42 pm
    Report comment
    No chance of him getting deported to Jamaica as that country doesn’t like f@gs.

turinst on Oct 30th, 2009 at 8:38 pm
    Report comment
    I find the night club staff’s claim that they had called the police, but in fact hadn’t, particularly reprehensible. Borderline accessory after the fact collusion.

jackthesmilingblack on Oct 31st, 2009 at 1:05 am
    Report comment
    “I had £50 on him finishing Wigan’s top scorer this season”-beaton
    Do Wigan have more than one rapist on their team?

enasharples on Oct 31st, 2009 at 5:24 am
    Report comment
    What a load of rubbish, all this talk of deportation and rapists makes me sick. This is just a case of assault (all be it on a woman) by a man who happens to be good at a sport. This type of offence happens every hour of every day in this country by the so called “common man” and would never get a reaction from 90%. Although you expreses his point a little harslhy, PATTERSON speaks sense about a British man serving his time in prision for his crime. I’m not a Watford fan but it wouldnt bother me to see this man playing profesional again, just like Joey Barton Duncan Fergusson or England captain Tony Adams. These are regular men who happen to be good at football

munichman on Oct 31st, 2009 at 11:23 am
    Report comment
    @munichman
    ‘This type of offence happens every hour of every day in this country by the so called “common man” and would never get a reaction from 90%’
    Whoah! Are you serious? Punching a woman in the face ‘would never get a reaction’ from 90 per cent of people?!! I know that in some dingy corners of society physical abuse might be the norm, but I don’t know a single person who wouldn’t be shocked to see a woman being punched by a man.
    If that’s acceptable where you live, I feel for you.

donkeyshed on Oct 31st, 2009 at 4:12 pm
    Report comment
    munichman
    These idiots are pampered and beholden as demi-gods, they are feted and invited into these clubs/bordellos and treated as royalty.
    When they step across the line and behave as King did they deserve every approbation/disgust/contempt, this nut is not a man he is a child who cannot see his own good fortune, he is a crap player who off the backs of other far better players, has the bountiful good luck to be paid an astronomically silly amount of money for a player pf only a mediocre standard. So when they fall, they shall be castigated, never again should he be allowed to play soccer in this country or indeed any other.
    He’s just another s*****g and until the authorities become tough, there will be more cases, of empty headed overpaid so called ’stars’ doing the same type of thing.

Man seh King facing time behind bars hurt him.

Man a gwaan like seh Burrell seh di girl shoulda get lick down.

talk among yourselves. mi dun!

you nuh must done. You done from Crenston gone.

ha ha...ha!

funny indeed...