Premiership footballer Marlon King jailed

• Premiership footballer Marlon King jailed

Premiership footballer Marlon King jailed for assault on woman who rejected him

(Paul Rogers/The Times)

Marlon King attended court with his wife

Nico Hines

gSiteLife.Recommend("ExternalResource", "6895707","http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/crime/article6895707.ece");

div#related-article-links p a, div#related-article-links p a:visited { color:#06c; } A Premiership footballer was today sentenced to 18 months in jail for groping a woman and punching her in the face after she spurned his advances in a nightclub.
    Marlon King, a Wigan and Jamaica striker, was celebrating his wife’s pregnancy in a bar in Central London when sexually assaulted the 20-year-old woman and then broke her nose with a single powerful punch.
    The footballer, who has not played a match this season, was found unanimously guilty by the jury at Southwark Crown Court in South London. Dave Whelan, the Wigan chairman, announced this evening that the club has sacked King after the conviction.
    King, who had scored the winning goal in a match a few hours before the attack, was repeatedly “cold-shouldered” by women in the busy Soho Revue Bar last December, the jury heard.
    function slideshowPopUp(url) { pictureGalleryPopupPic(url); return false; } Related Links

When a slightly-built university student became the latest to recoil from his advances, he lost his temper and in an outburst of “completely gratuitous violence” he lashed out, “smashing” her to the floor.
    The court heard that his single clenched fist blow was so powerful that two other women - one of them holding on to his arm - were also knocked from their feet.
    During the trial, the victim said: “I felt someone grab my left buttock. I turned around because I was quite disgusted and shocked. There was a man standing towards the bar, smirking at me in a suggestive way. I said quite firmly, ‘Don’t touch me, it’s not nice.”
    The prosecution explained that King had then grabbed the woman’s wrist before punching her in the face causing a broken nose, black eye and split lip.
    While bouncers moved in to restrain the muscular £5m striker, friends rushed to the aid of his victim. As she was helped to her feet, blood poured from her shattered nose.
    The 29-year-old player, from Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire, claimed he was a victim of “mistaken identity”. But after hearing overwhelming evidence from a string of witnesses, including a football coach who insisted King was the assailant, the jury decided he was lying.

Boxhill's fault

Must be Boxhill's fault...fight 'gainst the youth..

celebrating his wife's pregancy but groping other women? dem coulden seh the "UK born Jamaican striker"?

set him up...first the girl caused her buttock to fly into his hands and then she smashed her face into his fit...a very cunning plan but not cunning enough for us not to see through it!

Any bets a civil suit follows?
          ...mmmmm?
          A waus rich?
          Im lucky a nuh 'Merica court im wudda face?

This over grown kid had this coming to him a long time but he refused to heed warnings and got what he deserved.

It was shameful that Burrell and his lackeys appointed him captain of the national team after his disgraceful behavior in the team hotel... at least Simoes stood up to him and benched him.

BBC story-

Footballer jailed for sex assault

The Jamaican international had said he "didn't touch any girl in that club"

Footballer Marlon King has been jailed for 18 months for sexually assaulting a woman - and has been sacked by Premier League club Wigan Athletic as a result.
              The striker was repeatedly "cold-shouldered" by the 20-year-old student in a bar in central London last December, Southwark Crown Court heard.
              He groped her and then punched her, leaving her with a broken nose.
              The father-of-three, from Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire, had insisted it was a case of mistaken identity.
              The jury returned a unanimous verdict, however, and King was convicted of sexually assaulting the woman and causing actual bodily harm.
              The assault happened at the Soho Revue Bar at a time when he was on loan with Hull City.
              King was celebrating two occasions - his wife's latest pregnancy and the scoring of a winning goal - with a night out in the West End.
              He was repeatedly "cold-shouldered" by women in the bar, the court heard.
              'Gratuitous violence'
              Prosecution lawyer Roger Daniells-Smith said King had struck up a conversation with his victim by saying: "Don't you know who I am? I'm a millionaire."
              The court heard she replied: "I don't care who you are; take your millionaire self away from our table."
              He groped the woman and she told him: "Don't do that, it's not nice. Don't touch me."
              He is absolutely sacked. We will not tolerate football players who get sent to jail for 18 months

Dave Whelan
              Chairman, Wigan Athletic

King was warned off her again but he continued to stroke the woman's hair and then told her she was not in his league, the court heard.
              After she pushed him in the chest, King lost his temper and a moment of "completely gratuitous violence" led to him "smashing" the victim to the floor, jurors were told.
              Two other people standing beside him were also knocked away as a result of the force of the blow he inflicted.
              Several witnesses testified that King was responsible, despite his denial.
              They included a football coach who insisted the 29-year-old Jamaican international was the assailant.
              Wigan Athletic chairman Dave Whelan said King "was finished with football" at the club.
              "We have to follow the rules and regulations, which means we will have to give him 40 days' notice that his contract will be cancelled," he told Sky Sports News.
              "He is absolutely sacked. We will not tolerate football players who get sent to jail for 18 months."

What a disgrace. Unu sure him don't come from Trinidad? I feel it for his wife, she must be starting the divorce proceedings to take what she can now before him come out of jail. What a fool. Him shoulda check wid Lazie how fi hangle rejection true nuff gyal kiss-teet pan him but as him seh...him back broad! No need fi no violence.

How yuh know suh!

Where are those silly excusers now?

That's what happens when things aren't nipped in the bud, when silly folk make excuses for everything he does, including breaking JFF curfews, having a virtual orgy in his room while preparing for matches and cursing out every last bit of JFF officials and the country he plays for.

I hope y'all are proud of yourselves!!!

it was under boxhill's watch, so who cares!?!?
                      Last edited by Mosiah; October 29, 2009, 03:06 PM.

What a class act.

Sad we can all learn from it and teach others.. Really to stand on the soap box now is no the best way to go....

Wigan to sack jailed striker King

King will be left without a club once he has served his sentence

Wigan chairman Dave Whelan says Marlon King will never play for the club again after he was jailed for 18 months.
                            The striker, 29, was found guilty of sexual assault and actual bodily harm after he had been "cold-shouldered" by a female student in a London nightclub.
                            The incident occurred last December while he was on loan at Hull.
                            Whelan told BBC Radio 5 live: "We will now be in the process of severing his contract. To say the least I am really, really disappointed."
                            Whelan, who only learned on Tuesday that King was on trial at Southwark Crown Court, must follow Premier League rules and pay the player's wages for 14 days before terminating his contract.
                            The Latics chairman went on: "It's really upsetting and it just sets such a bad example for any youngster coming through who wants to be a professional footballer.

Please turn on JavaScript. Media requires JavaScript to play.
                            </p>
                            bbc.fmtj.av.emp.load( function() { bbc.fmtj.av.emp.loadEmp("emp_8332924"); });

"He was on loan at the time to Hull City but I don't blame Hull City. Marlon King has got to accept full responsibility for this."
                            After groping and punching his victim at the Soho Revue Bar, breaking her nose, King briefly returned to Hull before spending a subsequent spell on loan at Middlesbrough.
                            The father of three, born in Dulwich, south London, finally made his way back to Wigan in the summer, but is now left without a club.
                            In 2002 King served five months of a two-year prison sentence for handling a stolen car before being released on appeal.
                            Whelan explained how King had kept the club in the dark about the incident.
                            "It's been kept quite secret by the player. We knew he did something but we didn't know exactly what it was. When you read how serious it was, I mean striking a girl and breaking her nose and messing about like that, we didn't realise the severity of what was happening here.
                            "We knew he'd been charged with something but I was shocked by what he had actually done and I was shocked by the sentence. But if he deserves it then he's got to do it.
                            The jury returned a unanimous guilty verdict against King

"I sat down with Marlon at the start of the season and said 'Marlon, if you want to play for Wigan Athletic you've got to settle down, train hard and go on the field and give your best.
                            "He never mentioned anything about this case and he promised me that he was going to train hard and he actually has trained hard, I have to say that.
                            "Once he's served his sentence, if he manages to get back into football, so be it, but he will never pull on the shirt of Wigan Athletic again."
                            The Jamaica international started his league career with Barnet, before moving to Gillingham.
                            He was also signed to Nottingham Forest, who briefly loaned him out to Leeds United, and subsequently Watford.
                            In January 2008, he made his move to Wigan for an initial £3m on a three-and-a-half year contract with a £40,000-a-week salary.

who yuh see pon soap box?