PR, I respect your views and position.

Let us agree to disagree.

I just told PR to let us agree to disagree.

you too wbvs.

No problemo... but whenever I see Jack do "his thing" I'll simply draw it to your attention.

I'll give him credit for the 0.5

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
            warlord if you move from hosting 24 teams to 32 in a WC then ofcourse you
            going to allocate 1 & 1/2 more places to concacaf . JW did not do it ,I was
            just sarcastic up a top . Peter r live in tnt , so he knows Jack warner have
            not achieved anything.Jack Warner is currupt, lets hope CFU get rid of him
            quickly.

wbvs,

There is a problem with your post on allocation of WC spots. Let me explain sumthin..FIFA does not simply hand out spots or award spots to confederate regions like that. UEFA is the strongest confederate in football with Concacaf considered tha weakest. If we use your logic why would CONMEBOL (South America) who without a doubt have more talented/stronger teams than Concacaf have just 4 automatic spots? Why wouldnt FIFA award them another 2-3 spots more. Same can be said of CAF (Africa). They're stronger and more competitive, (Senegal/ Egypt/ Cameroon/Ghana/Nigeria/Ivory Coast/Morocco) cannot always make tha WC. Why wouldnt FIFA allow them another 2-3 spots even with more teams at the finals. It makes absolutely no sense for FIFA to hand Concacaf 3 automatic spots and a half spot at Conmebol or CAF's expense. In all honesty Concacaf isnt deserving of 3 automatic spots and a half spot.

Now the issue with JW, im not disputing that he isnt corrupt but to state that he hasnt helped CFU and Concacaf on a whole is absolutely ridiculous. Like I stated before this region has exported more players to European leagues than ever before and the profile has been raised with the performances of the Mexico winning the Confederate Cup in '99, 2nd place at Copa America in '01 then USA 4th place at Copa America in '95, followed by their performance at Japan/Korea in '02 as well as Confederate Cup performaces in '99 and 2nd place in '09. Mexico also won the U-17 WC in '05, and CR recently reached the semifinals of the U-20WC in Egypt. From a football standpoint he's done alot better than previous administrators. The bottomline is anyone in a position of power will use it to their benefit.
            Last edited by Warlord; October 28, 2009, 10:49 PM.

Yuh did see mi?

HL, who are you to describe my input as irrelevant?! You are irrelevant!

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                mo a wonda y u say dat ? dem seh who di cap fit let dem wear it ...
                mi feel seh a one a we u a talk , ah who ? .
                den try on di cap nuh!

Tek time wid HL. Him not suh brite.

I have a feelin' that Costa Rica will win the 4th spot in CONCACAF.

Costa Rica play Uruguay on Nov.14th and then Nov. 18th.
                    Uruguay undoubtedly have more quality players in their squad. But CR have the advantage of their artificial turf at home.

I'm sure the Uruguayans won't enjoy playing on that surface.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                      wbvs,

There is a problem with your post on allocation of WC spots. Let me explain sumthin..FIFA does not simply hand out spots or award spots to confederate regions like that. UEFA is the strongest confederate in football with Concacaf considered tha weakest. If we use your logic why would CONMEBOL (South America) who without a doubt have more talented/stronger teams than Concacaf have just 4 automatic spots? Why wouldnt FIFA award them another 2-3 spots more. Same can be said of CAF (Africa). They're stronger and more competitive, (Senegal/ Egypt/ Cameroon/Ghana/Nigeria/Ivory Coast/Morocco) cannot always make tha WC. Why wouldnt FIFA allow them another 2-3 spots even with more teams at the finals. It makes absolutely no sense for FIFA to hand Concacaf 3 automatic spots and a half spot at Conmebol or CAF's expense. In all honesty Concacaf isnt deserving of 3 automatic spots and a half spot.
                      How do you figure this?

Take a look at the WC since it was expanded to 32 teams in 1998 and look at the record of the CONCACAF teams. It's not stellar, but it's far from the worst.

Look at Asia. Sure, in 2002 both host teams advanced, but then so did 2 CONCACAF teams (USA and Mexico). Mexico has made it out of their group every time! And in both 1998 and 2006 not one Asian team managed to advance from their group!

And why would Africa be in contention for more spots? What have they done to deserve them?

Since 1998 they have had 5 spots. And yet since then they have had only 1 team out of 5 advance from their group at each WC: in 1998 it was Nigeria, in 2002 it was Senegal and in 2006 it was Ghana.

Sorry, but a 20% advancement rate in three successive World Cups is not exactly begging for extra spots.

Let me take a very deeeeeepp breath before I make this post. Warlord I agree with you. That was and excellent post. Your points were well supported with facts. Now if you can just get it right about Fuller......
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am someone that would very much like to put to work!!

chussss mi.

[quote=Zeppo;195888]
                            How do you figure this?

Take a look at the WC since it was expanded to 32 teams in 1998 and look at the record of the CONCACAF teams. It's not stellar, but it's far from the worst.
                            Team USA didnt even get past the group stage and actually finished dead last of all 32 teams at France '98. US actually had the worst record with no pts even though JA, Croatia, South Africa and Japan were all debutants at the Finals.

Look at Asia. Sure, in 2002 both host teams advanced, but then so did 2 CONCACAF teams (USA and Mexico). Mexico has made it out of their group every time! And in both 1998 and 2006 not one Asian team managed to advance from their group!
                            I agree that Asians didnt get out of group stages in '98 and '06 but they had a very creditable run in '02 beating some very strong teams.

And why would Africa be in contention for more spots? What have they done to deserve them?
                            CAF has had some teams that have performed alot better at WC's than Concacaf has since Italia'90 to the present day. For starters, Cameroon won a tough group back then advancing to the QF with England. Nigeria then won another tough group at USA'94 then made the R16 losing a close game to Italy. In 02' Senegal eliminated France and came second in their group advancing the the QF. Then as you mentioned in '06 Ghana came through a tough group with US/Italy/Czech Republic finishing second and advancing but had to face Brazil in the round of 16.

Now in Concacaf with the exception of Mexico, NO other team in football history at the WC finals has ever won their group. Mexico has advanced to the Round of 16 5 times, USA has done that just twice in 16 yrs and CR once. Compare that with Africa who's had atleast 4 different teams that have done it in their confederate.

Since 1998 they have had 5 spots. And yet since then they have had only 1 team out of 5 advance from their group at each WC: in 1998 it was Nigeria, in 2002 it was Senegal and in 2006 it was Ghana.

I addressed this in my previous post. Overall since '90 they have had far more success with different teams than Concacaf ever has.

Sorry, but a 20% advancement rate in three successive World Cups is not exactly begging for extra spots.
                            Its alot higher than that. Concacaf doesnt deserve to have 3 automatic spots and that.5 spot. This region should only have 2 automatic berths. No other team outside of US and Mexico has ruffled any feathers at previous WC's. This is why Ive stated that without JW, FIFA wouldve never awarded an additional 3rd automatic spot and that playoff .5 spot in this region.

Let me take a very deeeeeepp breath before I make this post. Warlord I agree with you. That was and excellent post. Your points were well supported with facts. Now if you can just get it right about Fuller......
                              thank you sah.

we'll agree to disagree about Fuller though.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                                Team USA didnt even get past the group stage and actually finished dead last of all 32 teams at France '98.
                                But Mexico did make it out of their group; that makes it 1 out of 3 CONCACAF teams advancing in 1998. Africa was 1 for 5, and Asia was 0 for 4.

I agree that Asians didnt get out of group stages in '98 and '06 but they had a very creditable run in '02 beating some very strong teams.
                                But you still did nothing to show that Asia is a stronger region than CONCACAF.

CAF has had some teams that have performed alot better at WC's than Concacaf has since Italia'90 to the present day. For starters, Cameroon won a tough group back then advancing to the QF with England. Nigeria then won another tough group at USA'94 then made the R16 losing a close game to Italy. In 02' Senegal eliminated France and came second in their group advancing the the QF. Then as you mentioned in '06 Ghana came through a tough group with US/Italy/Czech Republic finishing second and advancing but had to face Brazil in the round of 16.

Now in Concacaf with the exception of Mexico, NO other team in football history at the WC finals has ever won their group. Mexico has advanced to the Round of 16 5 times, USA has done that just twice in 16 yrs and CR once. Compare that with Africa who's had atleast 4 different teams that have done it in their confederate.
                                I was talking about the last 3 World Cups, since they are the ones in the current 32-team format. But if you want to look at the previous two that you brought up:

1990 - 1 out of 2 CONCACAF teams advanced from their group. 1 out of 2 African teams advanced from their group.

1994 - 2 out of 2 CONCACAF teams advanced from thier group. 1 out of 3 African teams advanced from their group.

Its alot higher than that.
                                No, it is exactly that: when only 1 team out of 5 advances it is a 20% advancement rate. And it has been that way for Africa in the past 3 World Cups.

I'm not claiming that CONCACAF should have another 0.5 spot to bring our total to 4. But to claim that our region should only have 2 automatic spots is a joke when considering that the current finals format has 32 teams, and the fact that we have been performing at least as well as Asia and Africa in recent years.