Trophyless Season Ahead for English Giants

• Trophyless Season Ahead for English Giants

Before Sunday’s game between Liverpool and Manchester United, Liverpool were supposedly in crisis. While their manager Rafa Benitez has got some relief from the enormous pressure on him, the questions regarding the team’s dependence on Gerrard and Torres will come up again in the future. Liverpool fully deserved their victory and this does not reflect well on the quality of the United team.

One thing that is for certain is that it will be a miracle if United or Liverpool win the Premier League this season. If Chelsea don’t self destruct like they did last season then they are certainties to win the league. Any of the opposition are simply not good enough. Arsenal showed in their game against West Ham a clear lack of experience and threw away three points that should have been in the bag. They are poor in defense, and apart from the games against the Manchester teams have had a very easy run of fixtures this season so far.

Liverpool lack strength in depth and the usual frailties will be their downfall. Manchester United’s total ineptness up front meant that Sunday the lack of pace in the Liverpool defense was never highlighted. Unless Alberto Aquilani proves to be a brilliant signing, then the Liverpool midfield will still miss Xabi Alonso, and this will lead to problems against weaker teams who come with a very defensive approach. Liverpool showed their strengths in Sunday’s victory, the persistent fouling took away United’s offensive threat, Mascherano and Lucas soaked up any United pressure, and Torres showed why he is the best striker in the world.

United, on the other hand, were abysmal. Defensively United were poor, although Nemanja Vidic’s sending off was harsh considering how late in the game Liverpool’s midfield were punished for the persistent fouling on United players. United’s midfield was once again destroyed. Michael Carrick once again showed he is a nothing player who contributes nothing in big games for United unless Fletcher or Hargreaves is there to compensate for his inadequacies.

This was also a game that should have seen Anderson play – he would have provided some ball winning ability and good energy levels in the game. Wayne Rooney did not have one of his better days, but he did not get the service from midfield to allow him to show his ability. Dimitar Berbatov was once again terrible and £34 million now looks like a big mistake on this player. The shocking performance of Berbatov was summed up by a pass in the second half which had no United player within 30 yards of where it went.

Michael Owen at least made an impact when he came on, creating a chance for Valencia and then being fouled by Carragher who was the last man. Surely it is time to give Owen some starts alongside Rooney if Berbatov can only contribute the odd fancy flick in a game. Owen Hargreaves can only come back soon enough for United and put some steel in the United midfield while Darren Fletcher was also missed for Sunday’s game.

Finally, Liverpool showed how bad United are on Sunday. This current batch of Red Devils is a shadow of the teams that won three Premier Leagues and a Champions League. United and Liverpool are simply two teams not good enough to win the title this season.

http://www.premiershiptalk.com/2009/...nglish-giants/

I agree with most of what the writer has to say, but disagree with this statement:

"United and Liverpool are simply two teams not good enough to win the title this season."

For one, he should not put the Empire and Livafool in the same sentence when talking about winning titles. As long as we stay this close to Chel$ki, then I see us winning the title going away in points. Only Chel$ki can compete with us for the title and as night follows day, I know that they will crumble once we keep up the pressure.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well he agreed with me on 2 out of 4?
      Liverpool and BoyU he was spot on.

He missed out on Chelsea. They do not have to self-destruct, they shall fade as the season goes on.

Anelka and Drogba who is a young thirty-something, will last. The entire midfield excepting for the extremely strong Essien, the young and energic Salomon Kalou and Mikel will all breakdown physically.

The rear guard of Terry and company are breached fairly regularly during matches. Chelsea's defensive record is flattering as it is the opposition who has so far been failing to take their changes. The 5th minute gift by Terry to Blackburn in Chelsea's last match was a glaring example of that. Chelsea's luck will not last.

Now the YOUNG GUNNERS have just recently slipped up. They were nonchalant in the match against West Ham and paid the price. I hope it is a learning experience imprinted on the mind of each member of the squad. There is no question about the technical and tactical ability in this team. They have youthful energy and two+ years of experience...this year is it!

I agree with most of what the writer has to say, but disagree with this statement:

"United and Liverpool are simply two teams not good enough to win the title this season."

For one, he should not put the Empire and Livafool in the same sentence when talking about winning titles. As long as we stay this close to Chel$ki, then I see us winning the title going away in points. Only Chel$ki can compete with us for the title and as night follows day, I know that they will crumble once we keep up the pressure.
        I'm sorry, I don't see what they're talking about. Manchester played all of the top 12 teams excepting Villa and Chelsea (for those who think dem smart, Manchester United cannot play themselves) yet they're 2 points behind Chelsea.

Of course there are those who are hoping for the Empire to crumble, but weren't these the same people who were talking bout Chelsea's domination a few yeats ago?

Man United were poor and deserved to lose to Liverpool ... why everybody start singing nearer my God to thee because of that result?

Nevah count out di scottish man an him side, kah champions know how fi win Dem need hargreaves fi sure dat plain as day. Di supporters dem didah bawl bout dem nah guh miss Ronaldo an di man was di engine fi di side. Dem nuh miss Tevez neighdah, dem sure bout dat Rooney wouldah love di bubbling ballah out deh a support him right yah yow. But tings jus start warm yah now. Liverpool get a likkle life line still, dem need fi play di Israeli more kah ah him duh di ting sunday, aldough odah man get di praise. Wi wi si how eh guh, kah tings jus start bubble yah now. It ah guh interesting indeed. Chelsea a runaway wid di ting, mi did like di side from season start still, kah mi believe if Drogba an Anelka start chune right it ovah, bess striking partnership mi si fi ah long time. Remin mi ah Yorke an Cole

Well he agreed with me on 2 out of 4?
            Liverpool and BoyU he was spot on.

He missed out on Chelsea. They do not have to self-destruct, they shall fade as the season goes on.

Anelka and Drogba who is a young thirty-something, will last. The entire midfield excepting for the extremely strong Essien, the young and energic Salomon Kalou and Mikel will all breakdown physically.

The rear guard of Terry and company are breached fairly regularly during matches. Chelsea's defensive record is flattering as it is the opposition who has so far been failing to take their changes. The 5th minute gift by Terry to Blackburn in Chelsea's last match was a glaring example of that. Chelsea's luck will not last.

Now the YOUNG GUNNERS have just recently slipped up. They were nonchalant in the match against West Ham and paid the price. I hope it is a learning experience imprinted on the mind of each member of the squad. There is no question about the technical and tactical ability in this team. They have youthful energy and two+ years of experience...this year is it!

"Arsenal showed in their game against West Ham a clear lack of experience and threw away three points that should have been in the bag. They are poor in defense, and apart from the games against the Manchester teams have had a very easy run of fixtures this season so far."

I think Nani needs to play more to build something with Rooney. The truth of the matter is that Berba is not working out in this team. He slows down the play too much. I really believe that Rooney and Owen can form a formidable partnership. Owen has an uncanny ability to find space and to play off the last defender's shoulder. Rooney's constant running will create the space for Owen. SAF needs to bite the bullet and drop Berba to the bench and start bringing the yute Mechado off the bench.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nani ah my ballah , but it seem like di manager nuh feel like him can duh di business pan di fiel fi some reason. Berbatov ah silky ballah who need fi hab ball ah him foot regulah, an ManU nuh seeit suh, derefore him wi always wi play undah pressure fi produce, kah ball ah come infrequent. True dat bout Owen still, dat a him fi truut. Rooney need a partnership similar to him an Tevez kah him nah relish di ball right yah now. Him all ah bawl fi Ronaldo fi prove it.

The Ginger hair kid and Neville are taking up couple youths' space right now. They have serve the Empire with unquestionable dedication, but the reality is that Fergie needs to let them go. Give back Wes Brown his game.

Man U a bug side. Anybody can see dat

If dem a bug and put 4 past Man S_hity ....

So Suh Man Sh!tty is a big side then? No matter what yuh seh, this Man U side is pitiful.

Pitiful because of a loss and sitting in 2nd in the league? I'm quite certain there are 18 other teams in the league that would love to switch places with MU, while Chelsea would rather another team being so close to them.

You are happy that your team is in second place. I rest my case

Last season after 10 games the Empire was on 21 points play catch up. This season after 10 games they're on 22 points with only 1 team in front of them. As Goldfinger said to James Bond, "Mr. Bond, for the first time you're exactly where I want you to be."