Fuller inspired Stoke,snatched all 3 points

• Fuller inspired Stoke,snatched all 3 points

STOKE saw through a classic smash 'n grab to snatch the three points at Spurs.

Glenn Whelan was the Potters' hero — popping up to belt home the late winner.
    Tony Pulis' men had kept Tottenham at bay, with James Beattie's incredible goal-line clearance denying Peter Crouch.

ltbx2698227
    /sol/

Matty Etherington, back at his old Spurs stomping ground, fluffed an incredible early chance.
    The ex-Spurs ace was set free by Salif Diao — but Etherington's volley was nodded to safety by Jonathan Woodgate.
    At the other end, Peter Crouch soared above Stoke and called Steve Simonsen into action.
    Woodgate's comeback then came to an abrupt end — just FOURTEEN minutes into his return.
    The serial crock limped down the tunnel to be replaced by Michael Dawson.
    Aaron Lennon forced Simonsen into another save when he zipped past Andy Wilkinson and pulled the trigger.
    The winger was in the thick of it minutes later, setting up Peter Crouch.
    The lofty hitman nodded Lennon's cross over Simonsen — but Beattie came to his rescue, booting the ball off the line with an amazing acrobatic clearance.
    Nico Kranjcar then hit the base of the post as Spurs turned up the heat.
    Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni watched on, with his star man Robbie Keane forcing a save from Simonsen soon after the break.
    Wilson Palacios slid the ball through to the Spurs skipper and stand-in stopper Simonsen parried the effort away.
    Pulis was haring across the dug-out when Beattie had sight of goal from Etherington's cross — but the striker nudged his header wide.
    At the other end, Beattie cleared another Crouch effort off the line and Vedran Corluka could not connect when the rebound fell to him.
    The hour of goalless football led to Harry Redknapp replacing Keane with Roman Pavlyuchenko.
    Lennon headed down the tunnel after injuring his ankle — leaving Spurs to play the rest of the game with 10 men.
    The winner came four minutes from full-time when Ricardo Fuller tore through Tottenham to tee up Whelan.

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2698268/Tottenham-0-Stoke-1.html#ixzz0Us7VIILB

As I told you earlier in the week, the way they play now, they do as well as Fuller does. Them man deh regularly have possession in the 30% range and then win games cause they kick the ball into the corner for Fuller and he creates chances.

Second week in a row he is the difference.

where's his goals boss? well ran dry from last season?

stoke was lucky , spurs had a few chances .
          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
          Probably forthcoming...

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
            stoke was lucky , spurs had a few chances .
            Im not a Spurs fan but they dominated tha game and Stoke was extremely lucky to get 3 pts. Simonsen was well beaten on that Krancjar shot off the post and then Crouch's lob look certain to go in only for that last gasp Beattie clearance off the goalline.

If Stoke wants to play PL football next season they'll need games with alot of luck like this one.

Are you saying that Stoke is relegation bound??

There is no way they will be relegated,their home record is up there with the best and they keep picking up points away from home.They will be top 10 this season.

that should be repeated wbvs..."STOKE WAS LUCKY"!!

very difficult to think of a game that had so many missed chances. This range from the ball hitting the post to the ball being cleared off the line at the last second.

Stoke management approach to the game was to leave with 1 point. fuller was therefore the lone man in front. Support vcame late when he had the ball.

Stoke got lucky when Lennon twisted his ankle and walked off the field. Spurs played with 10 men with maybe 10 minutes to go.

stoke took advantage of this--and started attacking. It paid off.

A lucky win is better than ........

Stoke City win at home. key to staying up.

Fully agree 'ssasin. Give me a lucky win anyday!!!

W'aaapen, would be nice if we jink a beer before the 'alidays come.

If you need me to ask for permission for you to go out--just let me know.

Are you saying that Stoke is relegation bound??
                        Not saying that just yet but they been in the premiership for just ova 1 season and their status isnt guaranteed. On a better day, Spurs probably gives this team a sound 3-0 beating but Stoke rode their luck today.

They'll need some type of production out of Fuller though if they are to stay up.

give me a ding man. Anytime. A mi rule you know

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                            Not saying that just yet but they been in the premiership for just ova 1 season and their status isnt guaranteed. On a better day, Spurs probably gives this team a sound 3-0 beating but Stoke rode their luck today.

They'll need some type of production out of Fuller though if they are to stay up.
                            Tony Pulis was full of praise for Stoke City after they put in a hard-working performance to beat Spurs 1-0.
                            "We know it's a great three points today but we've got to pick up and make sure we keep working as hard as we did today.
                            "It's a difficult game against Wolves next Saturday, a local derby, so I've told them to enjoy the weekend but we're back to work on Monday."
                            Simonsen had a great game after Thomas Sorensen was forced out of the match in the warm-up through illness, and Pulis praised the stand-in shot-stopper as well as striker Ricardo Fuller, who set up Whelan's late winner
                            "I think because that it was so late in the day (Simonsen being called into the team) he had nothing to think about so there was no nerves or anything like that and he was smashing, it was absolutely first class," he added.
                            "Ric (Ricardo Fuller) had looked as though he'd run his cause, him and Beattie (James) worked enormously today, the workload that they put on their shoulders and how hard they work is fantastic.
                            "It gives everybody else a base, but he's a special player Ric, he can do things that nobody else in our team can do."

yuh caught between a rock and a hard place eh?