How we rate local coaches

• How we rate local coaches

I have always found it interesting how we ascribe greatness to coaches who have mever won anything, especially at the local level.

I was reading the comments on the Observer website a few weeks ago and I saw where a colleague and some one who used to post here a long time ago described the present Titchfield coach as "legendary", I was surprise as I have never herd of this coach before and I wondered what his resume says.

Cliff Williams for example coached many teams to titles but in leagues like St Ann, St Mary and St Catherine but was a doismal failure at the national level even in the A-league... which in my mind speaks for it self but he claims to have won more than most of the present coaches and thus he looks down on them.

Which leads me to the present St George's coach, Braxton Hyre who has kept the team at the top of the tables with basically the same players who failed under Maxwell and the previous guy who talks a good game and who is now at Sporting which is near the bottom of the tables.

This guy (name slips me now) was even hired at Portmore as TD and was a national coach... maybe I am clueless but I have seen him in action a few times and he has never been able to convince me he has a clue.

I recall the first time I saw him in action in a play off game against Granville at catherine Hall and I got the impression he and the players spoke two totally different languages and he was more into spouting cliches and posturing than in actually guiding the team on the field.

Not unusual in Jamaica.

The terms star, super-star, of course "legendary", world-class...are all terms some Jamaicans use willy-nilly.

Cannot forget some years ago a local chap described Negril airport as Negril International Airport. He said it was extremey busy....

The trick is to keep going, keep reading, keep learning, keep practising and let your results speak for itself

time spent arguing could be better spent reading and getting knowledge

the secret is staying focused

We have to teach people what they need to learn and in teaching them listen to ourselves and take that advice(spirituality 101) hence the saying "give and it shall be given unto you" or "point one finger and 3 is pointed back at you"

If you know not love you know not God because God is love.
      A love a run the cut nowadays

Well I can tell you about Don Davis “Don D” or “Iman Blak”. He played professionally in the USA original league with Pele and others. He came to Titchfield in the early 80 and left in the early nineties. He also coached St.Georges on their first stint in the NPL in 1987. He never stayed with them because of reason his likes for the youth system. He was wanted by Habour View and other teams but refused as his love is the youth system.

He also worked with St. Georges as a TD putting their structure together (not as a coach). Don D just finished his PHD and is looking about publishing his thesis about “football in Jamaica from slavery to Reggae boyz” He has worked with many professional players on the youth level including Damani Ralph. He has been given the opportunity to address youth soccer forums overseas in place like Germany and has worked with many others. He is the kind of coach JFF needs along with people like Bucknor who want to work with the youths without that big ego. It is good to see two of his protégés stepping up, in color and Braxton Hyre. Don D returned to Portland thanks to the urging of Color, Emporer and others and his love for Portland. He is currently focusing on the under 16s.

Also many of the players coached by Don D have a very high success rate at O levels and stepping in under graduate degree programs.
        Last edited by Assasin; October 23, 2009, 02:39 AM.

Well, get used to Boscobel International Airport!

For you, only if it comes from America could it possibly be called legendary or superstar. Poor yuh!

What would be the key points on his resume? Because you certainly have not listed any there.

Rating Coaches

You can rate a coach just like any other industry. Results acheived over a period of time is one way.

Since the game requires winning by results it's based on a coaches efforts and success record. If they are a youth coach to a senior coach they are rated on the results for that level and non other. More than winning that coach at that level must be a person of integrity to change the hearts of the players as well as winning matches.

Football in Jamaica needs to go beyond the local seen at all levels in terms of the development of the coach to develop the players. The spectators, who usually label coaches by special names can also see by watching TV that the game in Jamaica needs new methods to produce better players to grow the football industry, so when they come to a match it would be exciting (how are the gate receipts doing). There is a football industry that players would like to move into in the world within the borders of Jamaica and without so they can use their gifts to play the game for wages.

If this exists in the minds of the players in Jamaica than we need to create a system for coaches to develop to be heros with no egos so players will be like there mentors (coach) and repeat the process some day.

To create special words that discribe or characterize a coach is not what coaching is all about. So be careful what you listen too and belieive. If in the field of medicine a doctor has a reputation for saving lives and not killing people on the operation table why can't the football coaching industry in Jamaica be thought of in the same way. "A savior of winning game and player lives rather than a killer who does not know their trade".

This problem is world wide and not just happening in Jamaica. Lets get educated.

Paul Banta
              GSM International

Thanks, Coach! As always!

thanks Coach. this is the kind of projects Don D loves.

NHT Hosts Sports Clinic for Inner-city Children

Last Modified: 08/20/2004 10:53:15 AM
                  19/08/04: The National Housing Trust through its Inner City Housing Project (ICHP), is currently conducting a sports clinic in netball and football for 25 children who live in a number of Kingston’s inner-city communities.

The training which is intended to encourage change in the attitudes of children between the ages of 7 and 12, began on August 9 and continues until August 23 at the University of the West Indies (UWI) Mona Bowl.

The underlying assumption behind the hosting of the clinic is that children of this age cohort are open to change and therefore can be positively influenced through sports. By developing the skills of the children, it is intended in the long run, to enhance other learning activities in which the children are enrolled.

The children have been selected from the communities of Maxfield Park, Denham Town, Hannah Town, White Wing and Monaltrie which number among the communities being targeted by the NHT’s Inner City Housing Project. The children are being guided by Don Davis, graduate Student and part-time lecturer at the UWI. Mr. Davis who has over 25 years in coaching people of different age groups, is responsible for guiding the youngsters in football. The netball sessions are being coached by Conrad Parkes of the UWI sports department.

As an added feature, the children were yesterday (August 18) exposed to some international coaching techniques from English football coach Keith Daugherty.

In recognition of the fact that two weeks of training is a short period within which to effect change, the NHT’s ICHP unit will be making contact with the schools that these children attend to assist in channeling them into appropriate sports programmes. In this way, their development in sporting activities can be sustained over a longer period and therefore have a more lasting effect.

a good man hope he contiues with passion what he's doing.

Session 6: „National Stories - South America/Caribic"
                      Lothar Mikos
                      (Academy of Film and Television „Konrad Wolf" Potsdam)
                      WORLDCUP
                      CONFERENCE LEIPZIG, Germany 2006

Ivani Barbosa Poritz
                      (Academy of Film and Television „Konrad Wolf" Potsdam)
                      Football, Television and Everyday Life in Brazil
                      Donald Davis (University of the West Indies)
                      Jamaica reggae boyz. A Psycho-cultural analysis of Jamaica‘s 1998 Road To France World Cup Campaign
                      Maria N. Ng (University of Lethbridge)
                      Warriors and Pretty Boys: Media Representations of Footballers

...........why yuh easy to get angry suh?

You had me until you started talking about Bucknor and ego, you have no clue who Bucknor is..there is not greater ego than that.

BTW my post was about football coaches and results, what has Don D produced to be called "legendary"?

Well at least in the public eye Bucknor comes across as a coach who is not pushing to be the "next TD" he rather work with the local youths, but you may know him better than I do.

Don D can post his resume and maybe you want talk to him but the kind of work he has done over the years is documented. You don't have to have NPL titles or DCup titles to be legendary. If I get a hold of his football resume I will post it. Fuller is a Stoke "legend", Harry Rednapp by some is considered a legend. Not that I am comparing NPL to EPL but the fact that they have not copped any major titles.

People are legends as they make their mark in history. Is it possible to be a legend in Kingston and not in Mobay?

Assassin, a coach, any coach any where WILL ONLY be judged by the number of titles he has won, if you are saying that Don D's influence on his community is wider and more than just a football coach, then so be it but I am talking about a football coach, one who wins stuff and as such Don D aint 5hit....

But this was not even about Don D it was more about the youth that is at Sporting now, his 'greatness' is a figment of his imagination