Meet me by the river

• Meet me by the river

Mutt & Jeff and likkle Xcuse, unuh know that fineral song?

Javier Mascherano reveals crisis talks ahead of Manchester United showdown as under-fire Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez fights to save his job

By Sportsmail Reporter Last updated at 12:00 PM on 21st October 2009
    Javier Mascherano has revealed that Liverpool will hold crisis talks as Rafa Benitez attempts to save his job ahead of the crunch clash with arch rivals Manchester United.

The Reds boss is under intense pressure after four straight defeats threaten to extinguish their dream of winning the Champions League and Barclays Premier League.

Red riot: Javier Mascherano tackles Lyon's Ederson at Anfield

Tuesday's 2-1 loss at home to Lyon leaves Benitez battling to avoid the axe and Mascherano insists they must reverse the damage before it is too late.

'Rafa didn't say anything after the game, he didn't want to talk because everyone is disappointed,' revealed the Argentina midfielder.

HAVE YOUR SAY...
    Is it time for Liverpool to sack manager Rafa Benitez? Liverpool suffered yet another defeat when they lost 2-1 at home to Lyon in the Champions League on Tuesday. Rafa Benitez vows that he is the man to revive Liverpool but the supporters are starting to lose faith in the Spaniard. Is it time for the axe to fall on the Reds manager?

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK

'But I think on Wednesday we will talk a lot. We need to talk and we need to see all the mistakes we have done and try not to repeat them against United.'

The match against United at Anfield on Sunday is expected to ultimately decide Benitez's future. Defeat against their old foes would leave the Spaniard facing the axe.

However, Mascherano has attempted to shift the spotlight away from his manager by claiming that the players are to blame for Liverpool's woes.

'It's not the manager's fault. It's the players' responsibility,' he added. 'The manager can say how to play but on the pitch it's down to us. We were not intelligent.

'We are so very disappointed as it was important for us to win. We lost, so we know we are in a difficult situation.

'We are a team that was doing well last season but we have got to keep going, we have to keep working really hard and we have got to try to win the next game.
    'United will be a massive test for us. It is all about confidence. When you have confidence you can do everything but we know the team is not playing well.

Troubles: Rafa Benitez (centre) surveys his latest defeat

'Maybe a lot of players are not in the best form and it is difficult for the team and we are losing more confidence with these results.

'The supporters come to watch Liverpool win and it would be great for us if we could give them a victory on Sunday.

Hammer blow: Maxime Gonalons celebrates scoring for Lyon

'In football, you never know what will happen but we can't afford to think about what has happened in the past. All we can think about is the future and we need to beat United.'

Liverpool could be without star duo Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard for the United showdown. Gerrard limped off after just 25 minutes against Lyon after aggravating his groin injury.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1221921/Javier-Mascherano-reveals-crisis-talks-ahead-Manchester-United-showdown-Liverpool-boss-Rafa-Benitez-fights-save-job.html#ixzz0UZczjQVf
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Liverpool legend Alan Kennedy lets rip at Rafa's Reds as Benitez blows it in Champions League

By Christopher Davies Last updated at 11:40 AM on 21st October 2009
    Liverpool legend and European Cup winner Alan Kennedy delivered a damning verdict on Rafa Benitez's side after they were beaten by Lyon.

Kennedy questioned the effectiveness of Javier Mascherano and Lucas in the 2-1 defeat at Anfield.
    Yossi Benayoun fired Liverpool ahead but the French outfit fired back to make it four defeats in a row for the Reds for the first time since 1987.

Highlight: Kennedy scores the winner against Real Madrid in the 1981 final

Kennedy, who won Europe's top prize in 1981 and 1984, said: 'The indifferent form has been coming and when the key players are out they struggle. Without Fernando Torres in the team they didn't have much going forward. They're a different team then. (David) Ngog did his best but there was no cutting edge.

'There wasn't much creativity in midfield. They found it difficult to break down Lyon and after taking the lead couldn't kick-on from there. Do Mascherano and Lucas do enough going forward? Many would say they don't but the manager has no strength in depth.
    'The fans and players became frustrated and Lyon got the winner. The whole team were poor, no exceptions.

Don't look now: Benitez (centre) had little to smile about on the bench

'The way they've been playing is very disappointing especially after finishing second (in the Premier League) last time. There is a severe lack of confidence and while many are the same players from last year they are not playing well.

'They are conceding goals for fun. They know they can play better than this and it's up to the manager to get the best out of them.

Left a hole: Hyypia

'Every game is now a must-win match and if Torres isn't there against Manchester United on Sunday they must find other players who will stand up and be counted.'
    Kennedy also reckons Benitez was wrong to let central defender Sami Hyypia join Bayer Leverkusen at the end of the last campaign.

'I thought Sami was a great player for Liverpool. He left last season and we miss him...his authority and leadership. We haven't replaced him,' he said.

'I think they have conceded nine goals from set pieces and having someone like him there would have helped

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1221885/Liverpool-legend-Alan-Kennedy-lets-rip-Rafas-Reds-Benitez-blows-Champions-League.html#ixzz0UZeOvAPB
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez is done four! After the beach ball fiasco, Steven Gerrard gamble backfires as Reds equal their worst run for 22 years

By JOHN EDWARDS
      Last updated at 11:49 AM on 21st October 2009
      Rafa Benitez was reeling from Liverpool's worst run of results in 22 years and another injury setback for Steven Gerrard after a Champions League calamity at Anfield.
      Liverpool are facing elimination at the group stage after an injury-time winner from Lyon substitute Cesar Delgado left them floundering behind the French side and Fiorentina.
      Arsenal also conceded a goal in added time as they drew 1-1 with AZ Alkmaar in Holland.

Disaster: Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has to go off injured

Benitez's gamble over Gerrard's fitness backfired and he was booed by Liverpool fans after substituting in-form Yossi Benayoun, who put Liverpool ahead in the 2-1 defeat.

More...

Liverpool have now lost four games in a row for the first time since 1987 and defeat against Manchester United on Sunday would further inflame the supporters' anger.
      But Benitez adopted a defiant stance as he brushed aside suggestions the pressure might be mounting and said: 'My appetite for the job is as strong as ever.'
      Making a stand: Rafa Benitez was defiant in defeat

Gerrard had been declared ready to return 24 hours earlier after missing Saturday's defeat at Sunderland with a groin strain, but he cut a sorry figure as he made his way off, head bowed, after barely 25 minutes.
      It was clear the England midfielder's troublesome groin was restricting his movement once more and a packed Anfield was reduced to stunned silence as he gave way to Fabio Aurelio.
      Benitez faces an anxious wait while Gerrard's bleak prospects of facing United on Sunday are assessed but he had other things on his mind as he reflected on a defeat that leaves them having to win all three remaining Group E games to be sure of going through.
      He said: 'I don't think it was a risk with Gerrard because he wanted to play and the doctor gave him the all-clear. He had been training for two days but sometimes luck can go against you. He just felt something and knew he had to come off. We will know more tomorrow about Stevie and Glen Johnson, who injured a groin in training.
      'There have just been too many problems, before the game and during it, and I am really disappointed with the outcome.
      'It was a difficult game with all our problems, and we had done well to be leading at the break. Then we had two or three chances soon after the interval.

Enlarge
      'Had we scored, it would have changed everything. But we have to lift ourselves for the United game on Sunday, we have to push on.

'Who will lift me? My staff will help me and I am sure the players will be there for me as well, as will everyone else who wants to see Liverpool win. I know the fans did not want to see Yossi go off, but I knew he was tired and that we needed fresh legs. I can understand it, though. They like him and wanted him on the pitch.
      'All I am concerned about is preparing for the next game and I will start that as soon as I finish this press conference.'
      Liverpool have been written off by many in the Premier League title chase and are now in dire straits in Europe, six points behind Lyon and three behind Fiorentina, who beat Debrecen 4-3 in Hungary.

Brave face: Carragher believes a win over United on Sunday will raise morale

Jamie Carragher put on a brave face and claimed Sunday's Anfield showdown with United could be the perfect opportunity for lifting morale.
      'It's a massive disappointment, losing like that, a bad result which leaves us a lot to do,' he said.

'We're going through a tough patch but we've had those before, and I am sure we will come through this one.
      'We have great fight and character. We had a lot of young lads tonight and if we could have hung on for a draw, it would have been a good result.
      'It's always a great game against United. They are a top side, and that could be just the game we need.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-1221846/Liverpool-boss-Rafa-Benitez-After-beach-ball-fiasco-Steven-Gerrard-gamble-backfires-Reds-equal-worst-run-22-years.html#ixzz0UZhLQRPx

I'm taking it calmly...sipping a scotch and coconut water to ease the pain of disappointment. Thanks for your "compassion" and empathy...

here's something to cheer you up. I hope you never get to this stage, especially come next May when you are battling rlegation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sh6oGwOMVeY

Liverpool wins Sunday!
            Sorry, Lazie!

Liverpool wins Sunday!
              Sorry, Lazie!
              Suh why yuh sorry? Excepting Man United fans, everybody else want Liverpool to win. Mek we cross the CSKA bridge fus nuh?