• Reds need to sack Benitez and bring back Dalglish

by Nick Webster

On June 16th 2004, the Liverpool board made a bold and slightly unconventional move when they signed Spaniard, Rafael Benitez, to manage their club.

In his first season, that proved to be an inspired signing as he won the UEFA Champions League. He followed this success with the FA Cup in his second campaign.

These two trophies bought him time to build, time to experiment and time to bring the league title back to Anfield.
    That time has expired — Rafael Benitez should now be sacked.
    The performance the Reds served up at the Stadium of Light would have had legendary managers Bill Shankly and Bob Paisley reaching for a wee dram or ten. It was listless, uninspiring and completely out of character for a club with the pedigree of Liverpool.
    Credit to Sunderland for making it difficult, but even without Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres, the Black Cats should have been swept aside with ease.
    It feels like Rafa has lost interest in the Premiership, he's content with the Reds being a cup team and at the end of the day there is a whiff that he's treading water, just trying to survive, and it's not pretty.
    For Liverpool to scale the heights of English football again they must go back to basics, to a time of long sideburns, bad haircuts, T-Rex and the culture of the famed 'boot room.' This is where Liverpool ruled football for twenty-five years and this is where the Merseysiders will find the answers they need.
    To make things even easier, the answers to all their prayers lie right under their noses at Anfield and on this side of the Atlantic. Owners George Gillette and Tom Hicks need only look towards the Melwood Academy and the stadium that bears one of their names in Foxborough, Mass. for the two men capable of leading the Reds back to the 'promised land' — Kenny Dalglish and Steve Nicol.

For those of you who may be a little young let me refresh your memories about what these two men brought to LFC.
    Before there was Sir Alex Ferguson there was Kenny Dalglish and before there was Roy Keane there was Steve Nicol.
    As a player and manager Dalglish won eight League titles, yes eight League titles, three European Cups, yes three European Cups, three FA Cups, four League Cups and a cabinet full of assorted trophies. Need I go on?
    Nicol was his teammate for four of those League titles while being runners-up another four times. Throw in two of the FA Cups and the European Cup triumph in Rome and surely a picture laden with silverware is beginning to emerge.
    These two men are so steeped in the culture of the club that they'll immediately right the most obvious wrong currently swirling around Anfield — namely they'll have the 100% backing of the fans because in my book Rafa has lost them.
    Secondly they'll instill in the players the passion that made Liverpool the most feared club in the world.
    Thirdly, only SAF at Old Trafford knows more about winning League titles than Dalglish and Nicol and these men will make that their first priority.
    Dalglish is only 58, while Nicol a sprightly, feisty 47, both are Scottish and both men have a yearning to be back in the dugout.
    Dalglish has said that he walked away from Anfield too soon and that all he needed was a short mental and physical sabbatical away from the game. When you consider what he'd been through, one could hardly blame him. When he did return, it didn't take him long to win another title with Blackburn.
    Nicol has said on Fox Football Fone-In that he'd swim back to Liverpool if they offered him the job. After turning water into wine for seven years with the New England Revolution, imagine what he could do with a squad of international players.

I sometimes think that the Premiership and certainly the big clubs get consumed with their own self-importance; they think that only a 'big' name could manage their teams.
    Sometimes though the most obvious answers lies right in front of you and I can guarantee you the following: Kenny Dalglish and Steve Nicol will not rest until they knock Sir Alex off his perch.
    Messrs Hicks and Gillette, heed my words. Pay Benitez off and get two legends of Liverpool FC back to Anfield doing what they've done best throughout their Liverpool careers — win titles. Until then, I'll see you at the far post.

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/stor...-back-Dalglish#

LOLOL .....MLS COACH ! .....Yuh need fi deal wid yuh issues come Janauary....no way in the world that MAN U squad winning anything this season !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nick needs to address the way Fox Football Fone in (FFF) us going. Why in God's name should they bring in Eric Wynala (who cares how it spell). The man is so cold, he has no friggin personality. Bittah1 aka Don1 would have done a better job.

LOLOL .....MLS COACH ! .....Yuh need fi deal wid yuh issues come Janauary....no way in the world that MAN U squad winning anything this season !
        What the hell does Manchester United have to do with the article? Agree or disagree with the writer if you wish, why try to make it a Manchester vs Liverpool thing?

Thats what is ! isnt everything ... i need to get from under this rock that i have been living under for laawd knows how long but i kinda like it here ...sorry.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

FFF needs more diversity , Its football for christ sake , where diversity is mandatory, making it a ENGLISH /AMERICAN nationalistic show is ridiculous.

They sing on Donovan & All english players like football revolves around them esp Beckham .

FFF needs more diversity , Its football for christ sake , where diversity is mandatory, making it a ENGLISH /AMERICAN nationalistic show is ridiculous.

They sing on Donovan & All english players like football revolves around them esp Beckham .
              The dude that is a Chelsea fan was interesting, matter of fact the original pair was okay for me. Doesn't matter their nationality to me ... just make the focking thing interesting. Rahtid the girl that read the emails would do a better job that Eric.

What the hell does Manchester United have to do with the article? Agree or disagree with the writer if you wish, why try to make it a Manchester vs Liverpool thing?
                Lazie!! Are you out of your mind!! You of all people - a man who cyan see a lizard run from a chicken and not draw a Liverpool v. Manu-re parallel is accusing X of this stretch!!! Lawd give me strength. Like you, my bredrin X is misguided on this one. This is not a manu-re/liverpool thing by but there is that element which could be inferred by all discussions of Liverpool ending their title drought.

Still, I think the author is right. Based on his past, Dalglish would be a better manager for the club than Rafa EXCEPT that he would be crazy to take over the team under the current ownership.

Secondly, no one can really tell if Dalglish's absence from management for so many years would be a detriment. Since his title winning performance with Blackburn, I believe he won a Scottish Cup with Celtic and earned Newcastle some respect, but no title or cup (I believe). To me, his long absence would be an unknown and he would probably be given very little time to right the ship. But to take on management now, with G&H at the helm, he would have to be nuts. But although X would argue with me on this one, I believe Rafa has to go, as do the owners and half the squad.

You missed it , its not about their nationality its the nationalistic tone of the show , its focused on the England squad esp Beckham and the USA squad esp Donovan.

Thats killing the show .O.K some might argue its a USA program fine , but it is killing the show.They could be more inclusive of the region they live in or the other nationalities that ply their trade in that league.

Its a booooooooooring program.

Lazie!! Are you out of your mind!! You of all people - a man who cyan see a lizard run from a chicken and not draw a Liverpool v. Manu-re parallel is accusing X of this stretch!!! Lawd give me strength. Like you, my bredrin X is misguided on this one. This is not a manu-re/liverpool thing by but there is that element which could be inferred by all discussions of Liverpool ending their title drought.

Still, I think the author is right. Based on his past, Dalglish would be a better manager for the club than Rafa EXCEPT that he would be crazy to take over the team under the current ownership.

Secondly, no one can really tell if Dalglish's absence from management for so many years would be a detriment. Since his title winning performance with Blackburn, I believe he won a Scottish Cup with Celtic and earned Newcastle some respect, but no title or cup (I believe). To me, his long absence would be an unknown and he would probably be given very little time to right the ship. But to take on management now, with G&H at the helm, he would have to be nuts. But although X would argue with me on this one, I believe Rafa has to go, as do the owners and half the squad.

As you said, "This is not a manu /liverpool thing ..." Thats all you had to say in your first paragraph. The author made an argument and I wanted to get the reaction of the Liverpool fans, yet the first reaction is to mention Manchester United? Damn.

You missed it , its not about their nationality its the nationalistic tone of the show , its focused on the England squad esp Beckham and the USA squad esp Donovan.

Thats killing the show .O.K some might argue its a USA program fine , but it is killing the show.They could be more inclusive of the region they live in or the other nationalities that ply their trade in that league.

Its a booooooooooring program.
                      Callers can calll in about other teams. You are aware of that? It got boring because of the 2 hosts.

As you said, "This is not a manu /liverpool thing ..." Thats all you had to say in your first paragraph. The author made an argument and I wanted to get the reaction of the Liverpool fans, yet the first reaction is to mention Manchester United? Damn.
                        Well - I gave you a reaction on the substance. What now? No comment? Or you jus' gwine focus on the all too boring manu/liverpool element and call it george?

2 host that focus on 2 things england and american players, i.e Beckham and Donovan.

You're correct on that..but you of all people should know the answer to your question; Lazieism...- change the topic when you don't want to deal with the issue/question at hand.

My reaction to the suggested gaffer would not be worth anything as I do not have the knowledge that some of you do about their reputation and achievement. However, I would agree that Benitez is not doing the job at the moment. I'm hoping that for his (and the fans ) sake things turn around. The game against Sunderland suggests that there is a lack of depth of creativity and finishing...for despite putting the pressure on in the last 20 minutes the only one who looked like he might have half a chance to score was Johnson...though the sub, N'gog blasted one directly at the keeper that I think he could have placed better.

Worth a try!