Harbour Sharks – Big Move by Reggae Arsenal!!
October 18, 2009 (AP) Well football fans, the drama continues in the Harbour Sharks league. Last week’s table toppers – Slurgie’s Nightmare (394) – remain 39 points clear of second placed Nhor Burgundy’s XI (355) who themselves only maintain a slight one point lead over Jangle United (354) up to third from fourth last week. There is also much controversy surrounding Slurgie's Nightmare manager Paul Marin whose party lifestyle is increasingly the subject of discontent amongst his fans. Manager Paul Marin was quick to come to his own defence “Listen, when a man my age has a girlfriend like [popstar] Rihanna, there are certain responsibilities that come with the territory; I mean, some things are just as important as football...don’t you think?” But fans were not as forgiving, claiming that the manager’s late night escapades has resulted in an alarming lack of focus. They claim this is the only reason the team failed to name a captain this week, costing a minimum 2 to maximum 7 potential extra points. Only time will tell if this comes back to haunt the mild-mannered but recently flamboyant manager.
But the real story this week has to be ReggaeArsenal, amassing a huge 46 points to move the title hopefuls three spots from 7th to 4th in the table with 351 points, only 5 behind Jangle United. This is a remarkable turn of events for a club that has languished mid-table for most of the season. When asked about this week’s performance, their manager could only say – “Cho, dat ah nuh nuttin’, my bwoyz jus’ sta’t fi play...I was particularly proud about how Rodallega and Bowyer came off a di bench an’ show’d some class. I will have to think about whether they have done enough fi break een a mi firs’ team nex’ week.”
But ReggaeArsenal’s success came at the expense of an increasingly poor performing Freddy is God United who on 346 points continue to struggle to maintain form, dropping from third to fifth and out of the Champions League. “Bwoy, dis is extremely frustrating. We are dealing with an injury crisis with Rooney, Gerrard and Torres on the bench, it was a difficult week. But if ReggaeArsenal, Jangle United, Nhor Burgundy or Slurgie’s Nightmare believe they have seen the last of us, they better think again!! We jus’ sta’t fi fight,” exclaimed TK, the FIGU manager.
This sense of defiance was a common refrain with other managers whose teams dropped in the table this week, namely ChristChurch FC (345) and Light Blues FC (338) in sixth and seventh place and down from fifth and sixth places respectively. “Bwoy, what hot mi di mos’ is dat Jangle United deh ahead a wi...dat no right...dey are a mid table team at bes’, but no mine, season young still,” lamented the Blues manager Twan.
Of particular mention this week is the performance of manager Shola’s Gooner Hill FC, amassing a whopping 48 points but the team sadly remains in eight spot with 331 points, only 21 points behind fourth place ReggaeArsenal giving Shola much reason for optimism. “I am pleased with the way things are going. Anyone that is quick to write us off now would be doing so at their own peril. Mark my words, we will be in the mix come May.”
Unfortunately, such optimism eludes fans of lowly Per Curiam (252). The team continues to hug the bottom of the table eeking out the week’s worst performance of ony 13 points. RBSC has still been unable to locate their manager (Gamma) who rumour has it was last seen sunning himself in the South of France with new romantic interest, Dionne Warwick.
The table at the end of week 9:
Harbour Sharks League
Pos Player-----------------Name------------ Points
1. Slurgie's Nightmare-----Paul Marin--------394
2. nhor burgundy's XI-----Rohn Rainford-----355
3. Jangle United----------Jangle------------354
4. ReggaeArsenal---------George Freeman---351
5. Freddy is God United---Forumite TK -------346
6. Christ Church F.C.------Kevin Ramsay-----345
7. LightBluesFC-----------Twan-------------338
8. Gooner Hill F.C.--------Shola-------------331
9. tantos c-bar ----------Patrick phillips-----313
10. Chelsea Lions----------Robert Harvey-----289
11. LiverpoolXXX-----------X-----------------281
12. per curiam-------------Gamma-----------252
October 18, 2009 (AP) Well football fans, the drama continues in the Harbour Sharks league. Last week’s table toppers – Slurgie’s Nightmare (394) – remain 39 points clear of second placed Nhor Burgundy’s XI (355) who themselves only maintain a slight one point lead over Jangle United (354) up to third from fourth last week. There is also much controversy surrounding Slurgie's Nightmare manager Paul Marin whose party lifestyle is increasingly the subject of discontent amongst his fans. Manager Paul Marin was quick to come to his own defence “Listen, when a man my age has a girlfriend like [popstar] Rihanna, there are certain responsibilities that come with the territory; I mean, some things are just as important as football...don’t you think?” But fans were not as forgiving, claiming that the manager’s late night escapades has resulted in an alarming lack of focus. They claim this is the only reason the team failed to name a captain this week, costing a minimum 2 to maximum 7 potential extra points. Only time will tell if this comes back to haunt the mild-mannered but recently flamboyant manager.
But the real story this week has to be ReggaeArsenal, amassing a huge 46 points to move the title hopefuls three spots from 7th to 4th in the table with 351 points, only 5 behind Jangle United. This is a remarkable turn of events for a club that has languished mid-table for most of the season. When asked about this week’s performance, their manager could only say – “Cho, dat ah nuh nuttin’, my bwoyz jus’ sta’t fi play...I was particularly proud about how Rodallega and Bowyer came off a di bench an’ show’d some class. I will have to think about whether they have done enough fi break een a mi firs’ team nex’ week.”
But ReggaeArsenal’s success came at the expense of an increasingly poor performing Freddy is God United who on 346 points continue to struggle to maintain form, dropping from third to fifth and out of the Champions League. “Bwoy, dis is extremely frustrating. We are dealing with an injury crisis with Rooney, Gerrard and Torres on the bench, it was a difficult week. But if ReggaeArsenal, Jangle United, Nhor Burgundy or Slurgie’s Nightmare believe they have seen the last of us, they better think again!! We jus’ sta’t fi fight,” exclaimed TK, the FIGU manager.
This sense of defiance was a common refrain with other managers whose teams dropped in the table this week, namely ChristChurch FC (345) and Light Blues FC (338) in sixth and seventh place and down from fifth and sixth places respectively. “Bwoy, what hot mi di mos’ is dat Jangle United deh ahead a wi...dat no right...dey are a mid table team at bes’, but no mine, season young still,” lamented the Blues manager Twan.
Of particular mention this week is the performance of manager Shola’s Gooner Hill FC, amassing a whopping 48 points but the team sadly remains in eight spot with 331 points, only 21 points behind fourth place ReggaeArsenal giving Shola much reason for optimism. “I am pleased with the way things are going. Anyone that is quick to write us off now would be doing so at their own peril. Mark my words, we will be in the mix come May.”
Unfortunately, such optimism eludes fans of lowly Per Curiam (252). The team continues to hug the bottom of the table eeking out the week’s worst performance of ony 13 points. RBSC has still been unable to locate their manager (Gamma) who rumour has it was last seen sunning himself in the South of France with new romantic interest, Dionne Warwick.
The table at the end of week 9:
Harbour Sharks League
Pos Player-----------------Name------------ Points
1. Slurgie's Nightmare-----Paul Marin--------394
2. nhor burgundy's XI-----Rohn Rainford-----355
3. Jangle United----------Jangle------------354
4. ReggaeArsenal---------George Freeman---351
5. Freddy is God United---Forumite TK -------346
6. Christ Church F.C.------Kevin Ramsay-----345
7. LightBluesFC-----------Twan-------------338
8. Gooner Hill F.C.--------Shola-------------331
9. tantos c-bar ----------Patrick phillips-----313