Wenger angry with fixture pile-up

• Wenger angry with fixture pile-up

<H1></H1><P class=story_panel_text valign="top"><SPAN id=intelliTXT nd="1">Arsene Wenger has come up with yet another excuse to explain Arsenal's recent poor form, describing the Premiership fixture list as a 'farce'.</SPAN>

<SPAN id=intelliTXT>The Gunners saw their title hopes all but disappear following a second straight away defeat on Wednesday night, when they went down 2-1 at Fulham and finished the match with 10 men. <P nd="3">Boss Wenger had suggested this next run of games - which also includes a crunch Champions League trip to Porto next week before the clash against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on December 10 - would prove to be the "moment of truth" for his side's campaign. <P nd="4">While stopping short of conceding the Premiership crown, privately the French coach will know it would take something of a minor miracle for Arsenal to overhaul the 16-point deficit on leaders Manchester United, even with a match in hand. <P nd="5">Spurs were one of the top-flight clubs not to be involved in midweek action - a quirk of the fixture list which certainly did not impress the Arsenal manager. <P nd="6">Wenger, though, insists his men will be more than ready for the challenge which awaits them in the first north-London derby to be played at the new 60,000-seater Emirates Stadium. <P nd="7">"We have a difficult game coming up against Tottenham, and I do not agree at all with the way the fixtures have been organised - it is a farce," bemoaned Wenger. <P nd="8">"I cannot understand how the Premier League can organise midweek fixtures in between Champions League games. <P nd="9">"They are very creative because to get that through anywhere else in Europe, you will have big problems." <P nd="10">Wenger added: "We play now against opponents who did not play this week - but we will beat them." <P nd="11">The Arsenal manager elected to rest several of his first-team regulars against Fulham. <P nd="12">It proved to be a miscalculation, as the Cottagers put the reshaped visitors on the back foot from kick-off before racing into a 2-0 lead inside 19 minutes. <P nd="13">Robin van Persie gave Arsenal hope when he smashed in a superb 30-yard free-kick to reduce the deficit - but even the introduction of Cesc Fabregas at half-time and then England starlet Theo Walcott, who hit the base of the post, could not rescue a point for the Gunners. <P nd="14">Captain Thierry Henry returned to the starting XI following a neck problem - but saw an evening of frustration capped when his second-half strike was ruled out for a dubious offside flag. <P nd="15">Wenger insisted the number of matches Arsenal face between now and the turn of the year left him with little choice but to rotate the squad. <P nd="16">"I had to make changes because some players have played in every game and we also had guys coming back from injury," said the Gunners boss. <P nd="17">"We had to change the players or we will not get through to January." <P nd="18">Central defender Philippe Senderos must serve an instant one-match suspension on Saturday following his dismissal for a second yellow card at Craven Cottage. <P nd="19">William Gallas is making good progress with his thigh injury, but the Spurs game may come too soon for his return. <P nd="20">Henry's neck problem could sideline him again on Saturday, having missed the trip to Bolton. <P nd="21">Wenger told Arsenal TV Online: "Thierry has to be assessed and we will make a decision on him tomorrow. <P nd="22">"It is a problem with his sciatic nerve." <P nd="23">The Arsenal manager added: "Everybody else has come through the [Fulham] game well." <P nd="24">Wenger maintained his full focus was now on Spurs - and not possibl

RE: Wenger angry with fixture pile-up

A nuh lie him a tell. Only Newcastle play UEFA Cup game this week, suh why Blackburn, Spurs and M'Boro get a week rest? Why Chelsea not playing this weekend like everybody else? Well, we all know Roman money stretch farrrr ... but why the other 3 teams get a week rest?

RE: Wenger angry with fixture pile-up

'It's Time To Get Physical, Arsene'

Let's Get Back To Basics, Arsene
      Enough is enough. As much as I have enormous respect for Arsene Wenger, last night he took his unwavering defence of the team to new heights. His assessment that we played well is just ridiculous. We were crap and the score flattered us.

I was at Fulham last night and we were second best, looking lightweight in midfield, unsure in defence and almost complacent up front in our never-ending attempt to create the perfect goal.

When are we going to learn to defend at set-pieces? I remember the days when that's all we could do.

When are we going to accept that teams will pressurise us in possession, get physical and try and knock us off our stride? Why do they do it?? Because it's been proven time and time to work again and if I was Fulham, Bolton, Blackburn etc that's how I'd play against us. Our response is always to sulk as if it's in some way out of order. It's going to continue so Arsene, how about a plan to counter it? Where's the Tony Adams or Pat Vieira in this Arsenal side, someone who'll give at least as good as they get?

Finally, up front. How can we keep missing so many chances? Why do we so frequently refuse to shoot in the vain attempt to play that inch-perfect ball that virtually never comes off? The perfect goal is a beautiful thing but Arsene, it may have escaped your attention that Chelski have a player whose whole game is based around his ability to shoot and score from distance by playing a sort of pinball with unsuspecting defenders. If Fat Frank can do it, why can't we try the same thing just now and then?

I for one am fed up with watching a team whose passing ability 30 yards from goal is second to none but who display so many basic weaknesses that I fear it may even cost us a Champions' League place. We've a big stadium to fill with a huge mortgage to pay and people just aren't going to pay the best part of a 1000 quid and upwards to be driven mad with frustration week in week out. Sometimes we've just got to win ugly and bag those points.

So our annual November nightmare has come to an end, thank God, but come on Arsene, a few weeks at the training ground focusing on the basics while learning to deal with the physical side of the game will do us the world of good and once that's put right we can then concentrate on playing the champagne stuff that's made us the most admired side in world football.
      Dominic (I really miss the Clock End) Patton

...I'm an Arsenal fan and although I think that Wenger has got a very small point about things not going for us at the moment, the same can be said for a lot of other teams and now the excuses are wearing a little bit thin. We are creating chances (enough to win a game) but that isn't enough. You also have to put the chances away and then deal with what the opposition is throwing at you.

I think the team needs to concentrate on some very basic football skills, like defending set-pieces, especially corners and just defending in general. We know we can score a goal or two but we get so caught up in attacking and searching for a goal that we leave a massive gap at the back, almost daring the opposition to have a go on the break and then we go one down. Almost all of our bad results this season have come from an early goal against us and, in last night's case, two early goals!

I think some people will blame Wenger for bringing in some second-string players to play Fulham and some see this as a lack of respect but I see this as a lack of decent players and with all the big games we've got coming up he would have to rotate at some point.

So next up it's our scummy neighbours in our new stadium. Lose this one and I think it surely is a sign of the times.
      Paul Griffiths, London

...This Arsenal side are a living testament to the fact that talent is nothing without the right mental attitude. The combination of the obvious talent within the squad and the spinelessness