Martin Edwards raises Glazer concerns

• Martin Edwards raises Glazer concerns

Former Manchester United chairman Martin Edwards, now an honorary life president at Old Trafford, has become the first voice at boardroom level to question the way the Glazer family run the club.

GettyImages
    Martin Edwards: Words of warning

Since the American owners took control of United in 2005 the previously profitable Premier League club has accrued debts of around £700m and Edwards fears that financial turmoil could be ahead.
    "It concerns me that the club are in so much debt," Edwards said. "The club are not in control; that family are in control of the debt. I can understand where the fans are coming from with their concerns. The crunch time will come when they [the Glazers] exit. Will they saddle the club with the debt or just sell the club on for a profit because that's all they are interested in? How will they leave the club?
    "I'm not going to make any accusations because up to now they have behaved fairly well, supporting the manager, and they haven't disrupted the running of the club or the personnel. Time will tell."
    Edwards, the man who hired Sir Alex Ferguson and spent 22 years as United chairman between 1980 to 2002, endured strong criticisms of his own chairmanship, most notably when he recommended to the club's shareholders that they accepted a £623m takeover bid from BSkyB.
    "I thought Sky would have taken Manchester United to a level where nobody could have got near us," he explained. "That's why I recommended their offer in 1998. When they approached us, we had gone 30 years without winning the European Cup. I felt that they could have pushed us on to the next level."

Whey Yuttie deh? I recalled how you mocked me when I expressed my disagreement with the Glazers taking over the club. Pay attention, "Since the American owners took control of United in 2005 the previously profitable Premier League club has accrued debts of around £700m"

Now think about the path the new UEFA President wants to take against clubs with heavy debt.

Mi tell yuh all the while, even when a me alone versus 99 ppl .... mi know what me saying.

Whey Yuttie deh? I recalled how you mocked me when I expressed my disagreement with the Glazers taking over the club. Pay attention, "Since the American owners took control of United in 2005 the previously profitable Premier League club has accrued debts of around £700m"

Now think about the path the new UEFA President wants to take against clubs with heavy debt.

Mi tell yuh all the while, even when a me alone versus 99 ppl .... mi know what me saying.
      Is the club losing each year since the Glazers took over? Or are they running a profit?

Former Manchester United chairman Martin Edwards, now an honorary life president at Old Trafford, has become the first voice at boardroom level to question the way the Glazer family run the club.

GettyImages
        Martin Edwards: Words of warning

Since the American owners took control of United in 2005 the previously profitable Premier League club has accrued debts of around £700m and Edwards fears that financial turmoil could be ahead.
        "It concerns me that the club are in so much debt," Edwards said. "The club are not in control; that family are in control of the debt. I can understand where the fans are coming from with their concerns. The crunch time will come when they [the Glazers] exit. Will they saddle the club with the debt or just sell the club on for a profit because that's all they are interested in? How will they leave the club?
        "I'm not going to make any accusations because up to now they have behaved fairly well, supporting the manager, and they haven't disrupted the running of the club or the personnel. Time will tell."
        Edwards, the man who hired Sir Alex Ferguson and spent 22 years as United chairman between 1980 to 2002, endured strong criticisms of his own chairmanship, most notably when he recommended to the club's shareholders that they accepted a £623m takeover bid from BSkyB.
        "I thought Sky would have taken Manchester United to a level where nobody could have got near us," he explained. "That's why I recommended their offer in 1998. When they approached us, we had gone 30 years without winning the European Cup. I felt that they could have pushed us on to the next level."
        How yuh explain dat, HL? I thought Americans understood business and how to make money?!?!

Originally posted by Me View Post
          Is the club losing each year since the Glazers took over? Or are they running a profit?
          Yes they've made profits, Gills has stated that servicing the debt is "easy". Really? Secondly, they all seem to ignore the hurdle in their path with UEFA's stance about clubs burdened with debt.

How yuh explain dat, HL? I thought Americans understood business and how to make money?!?!
            Where does it say they are not making money?

If they are making a profit, why do you think it isn't easy for them to service the debt?

Originally posted by Me View Post
                If they are making a profit, why do you think it isn't easy for them to service the debt?
                The last numbers I saw was the debt was 700 million. The last numbers regarding profit was 70+ million. Easy? With the expectation of remaining competitive in the EPL and the CL? Sorry, I don't see it as being easy. Giggs, Scholes, Neville and Van De Sar soon retire. Rio getting more injuried he could hang up the boots any time soon. That means players will have to be purchased and a player worth 10 million is valued 25 million as soon as Man United ask about the player.

As for the position by UEFA .....

The last numbers I saw was the debt was 700 million. The last numbers regarding profit was 70+ million. Easy? With the expectation of remaining competitive in the EPL and the CL? Sorry, I don't see it as being easy. Giggs, Scholes, Neville and Van De Sar soon retire. Rio getting more injuried he could hang up the boots any time soon. That means players will have to be purchased and a player worth 10 million is valued 25 million as soon as Man United ask about the player.

As for the position by UEFA .....
                  How is it not easy if after paying debt service they still have $70 million+ in profit. Seems like they are quite comfortable.

The UEFA thing is another matter.