• Hines gets England call

Hines gets England call
    Zavon Hines is one of three West Ham United players selected for England Under-21 duty later this month

Zavon Hines has earned his first England call with his selection in the Under-21 squad to face FYR Macedonia in Coventry on Friday week.

The 20-year-old forward has been electric for the club this season, with four league appearances as well as a goal in the Carling Cup defeat of Millwall. He was called up by Jamaica for a senior friendly against Nigeria last season but did not play and, with a British passport, was eager for Young Lions recognition.

Hines joins James Tomkins and Junior Stanislas in the selection for the 2011 UEFA European U21 Championship. There is no place for the match at the Ricoh Arena for the injured Freddie Sears, who is on loan at Crystal Palace and scored in the 2-1 win against the Macedonians last month that preceded a 1-1 draw in Greece.

so what you call him? A England version of UB40?

A "crash worker", maybe?

nope assasin they did not call him up from Jamaica

so how him reach a England?

he grew up in east london played football at west ham academy came through their system and now is an English player .... and is eager to be a lion

if him so eager how comes he wore a Jamaican jersey not so long ago?
              Where you get your quote from?

Mi starting to get the feeling that Barnes recruit these players by telling them if they don't like how things are set up, they can always play for England since it isn't an official game. LOL

when u select dem, cap dem....
                  “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

yet again jamaica has missed an opportunity to cap a future star.Why wasn't he in the gold cup squad.

Why should he be selected he have been selected to the Gold Cup Squad?

Did he not attend camp before and was not played.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                        Why should he be selected he have been selected to the Gold Cup Squad?

Did he not attend camp before and was not played.
                        He should've been selected because he is good enough.It is not that we are overly blessed with great players are we?

...mek sure im cyaan play fi JA...yes!

Gwaan Zavon!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            He should've been selected because he is good enough.It is not that we are overly blessed with great players are we?

Based on his performance in the reserves at that point? based on his performance while injured?

Stop talking rubbish. There would have been NO justification for calling at that point in time ahead of any of the forwards. Even worse what you going to tell Devon Hodges the justification was.

Why the great Johnny never play him when him call him to the squad.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                              Based on his performance in the reserves at that point? based on his performance while injured?

Stop talking rubbish. There would have been NO justification for calling at that point in time ahead of any of the forwards. Even worse what you going to tell Devon Hodges the justification was.

Why the great Johnny never play him when him call him to the squad.
                              The great Johnny included him in the squad because he done is homework on the player that's one of the things that is letting us down,it doesn't seem like the JFF have anyone scouting and watching players i was aware that the player was playing well so why didn't the JFF? Devon Hodges done well in the DPL but the reserve league that Hines was playing in is of a much higher standard than the DPL.