Berbatov - "I've failed"

• Berbatov - "I've failed"

DIMITAR BERBATOV admits he was a failure in his first season with Manchester United and the stress of it all gave him sleepless nights.

In his most revealing interview yet, the Bulgarian striker also describes how self doubt and the spectre of legends at Old Trafford have plagued him.

Berbatov, 28, said: "In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that.

"It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters.

"You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar.

"I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals."

Berbatov admits things got so bad for him last season as the critics began to round on him that he would lie awake at nights.

He added: "I don't know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it's luck, maybe it's me... who knows?

"At nights I have stayed awake thinking, 'You could have done this instead'."

The former Bayer Leverkusen ace also concedes he struggled to control his nerves.

He said: "My nerves were too much and that is my responsibility."

Berbatov has made 53 appearances for United - scoring 16 times - since his £30.75million switch from Tottenham on transfer deadline day in August last year.

Two months into his second season he still splits opinion among

United fans, with some seeing the clever flicks as inspirational and others seeing his languid style as just plain lazy.

The accusations he was not trying reached him, though, and began to affect him to the point he had to check the statistics to see if it was true.

Berbatov revealed: "I will be honest. This criticism did affect me, but not in a negative way.

"I looked at our ProZone stats and saw that I was ninth in distance covered.

"I am kind of a nerd. I looked at them too much, maybe. By the end of the season I was fourth. Maybe this season I will be first!"

But Berbatov has failed to shrug off the reputation of being lazy on the pitch.

He said: "This is my style of play. I don't run for no reason. I am always alert and ready."

But Berbatov recognises some fans have not been happy with him since he arrived and insisted: "That is my fault, not theirs. It is me who must change.

"Manchester United are their club. They have treated me perfectly since I came."

Berbatov scored his second goal of the season when crucially breaking the deadlock at Stoke last Saturday.

United went on to win 2-0 at the Britannia Stadium to go top of the Premier League.

But while he is more satisfied now with his game in general, he admits the goalscoring tally must increase.

He added: "I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already.

Advertisement

//Retrieve Blue Lithium & Bull frog Cookie Valuevar blueLithium = "No";blueLithium = get_cookie("BL")==null?"No":get_cookie("BL");var RStag = "";try{RStag = segQS;}catch(e){RStag = "";}document.write('');

"I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more."

Berbatov says the pressure does not come from his huge price tag because he believes it is totally unrealistic. He said: "Who can live up to that sort of money? Nobody can. If I think about that money it is crazy to me. I can't believe it."

The striker often looks as if the weight of the world is on his shoulders but he maintains that inside he is enjoying himself.

He added: "I am a footballer playing for the best club in the world.

"I am playing with legends like Scholes, Giggs and Rooney. Being coached by a man like Sir Alex Ferguson. How can I not be happy?"

Berbatov may not have won over all the supporters but he certainly has impressed strike partner Wayne Rooney.

The England star is full of praise for Berbatov and said: "He is playing some good football and has had some unfair criticism.

"Sometimes with his body language it doesn't look as though he's working but he is. And he showed some fantastic touches and created some great opportunities for our team against Wolfsburg when he came on."

Rooney also insists United have shown their critics there is life after Cristiano Ronaldo.

And he believes the squad have responded to the wing wizards's £80m departure to Real Madrid by playing more as a team.

He said: "Yes, we lost to Burnley but we have won every game since and yet this week still got criticised.

"We are playing different football. Obviously last season the team was based a lot around Cristiano but this year there are a few more players chipping in with goals, which is great to see."

And Rooney said: "It's no surprise to see how well Cristiano is doing at Real. He's rightfully the best player in the world and I'm sure he'll continue to do well."

Of course we'd all like to see more goals, but those assists last season is sufficient for me as a Man United fan. Seeing him in the Wolfsburg game showed how much class he has.

Think about it Lazie,for 30 million pounds he is not proving value for money so far is he?I am a massive fan of the guy but to me he haven't transfer is best form unto this bigger stage he might be 1 of those players who enjoy being the big fish in a small pond.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Think about it Lazie,for 30 million pounds he is not proving value for money so far is he?I am a massive fan of the guy but to me he haven't transfer is best form unto this bigger stage he might be 1 of those players who enjoy being the big fish in a small pond.
        Maybe the price tag is a burden on his shoulders, but look back at the game against Spurs, 4 of the 5 goals he made the penultimate pass. Many of the fans don't look at that. They only want to see him running like Tevez. Maybe he needs to be more vocal with his team mates. Wednesday night against Wolfsburg he was wide open in the 6 yard box, yet Rooney tried to chip the keeper.

You hit the nail on the head,when you are playing for a club like Man U you cant be a shrinking violet,you've got to stand up and be counted and it's about time Berba gets out of his shell.This guy have got everything in his locker to be a great player for the club.

+1. Berbatov = grossly overpaid average player. I think Tottenham raped United in that transfer deal.

Scored a brilliant goal today.

consent is exculpatory where rape is concerned.

Average? I don't think that he is an average player. I think he's above average but the Empire paid $10m too much.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Average? I don't think that he is an average player. I think he's above average but the Empire paid $10m too much.

Jangle he is average. He will score a few spectacular goals every once in a while like he did today but other than that he doesnt provide much options in terms of attack because he is a poacher. Someone else has to do all the work and get him the ball in the box for him to be effective. He's not even half as good as Van Nistelrooy was. United overpaid by 17m for his services.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                      Jangle he is average. He will score a few spectacular goals every once in a while like he did today but other than that he doesnt provide much options in terms of attack because he is a poacher. Someone else has to do all the work and get him the ball in the box for him to be effective. He's not even half as good as Van Nistelrooy was. United overpaid by 17m for his services.
                      I dont agree,Berbatov is a class act is performances for Bayer Leverkuson and tottenham proves that.They might have paid 10million too much for him but i think he can still be a success at Old Trafford.

No Warlord ... yuh wrong on this one.

I dont agree,Berbatov is a class act is performances for Bayer Leverkuson and tottenham proves that.They might have paid 10million too much for him but i think he can still be a success at Old Trafford.
                          Dunny, im not saying he isnt a class player, but you are looking at him from his days at Spurs and earlier days at Leverkusen. He hasnt been that type of player at Man U. There are some players that are true goalscorers and if we're honest here, Man U bought him for that reason. He has not delivered thus far.

No Warlord ... yuh wrong on this one.

Lazie which part am I wrong here. Let me ask you..Is he better than what Van Nistelrooy was at United? His overpaid price tag? or is it the fact the I stated he will score spectacular goals every once in a while?

"but other than that he doesnt provide much options in terms of attack because he is a poacher. Someone else has to do all the work and get him the ball in the box for him to be effective."

That is what you are wrong about. Many fans get on his case because they want him in the box. He isn't that type of player as he always drops deep, providing an option for the ball to move forward. What yuh talking bout bredren?