• These Youngstgers need to stop this

Page last updated at 13:04 GMT, Friday, 18 September 2009 14:04 UK

E-mail this to a friend Printable version
    we need to deal with the aggression on the field and stop complaining.

Fabregas anger at Adebayor tackle

Adebayor offers his hand to Fabregas after fouling his former team-mate

Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas claims Manchester City's Emmanuel Adebayor should have been sent off for a foul on him during their sides' fiery meeting.
    Adebayor has been banned for three games for violent conduct after a clash with ex-Gunners team-mate Robin van Persie in City's 4-2 win on Saturday.
    And Fabregas, pointing at a gash on his leg, said: "I think this is a red card. I was lucky my foot was in the air."
    Adebayor also faces an improper conduct charge for his goal celebration.
    The 25-year-old, who joined City from Arsenal for £25m in the summer, caught Van Persie's face with his boot during the second half of his team's victory last Saturday.
    He misses Sunday's trip to Manchester United and home games against Fulham - in the Carling Cup - and West Ham.
    There is only so much abuse a man can take until he reaches breaking point

Emmanuel Adebayor

Adebayor may also have to explain his goal celebration in front of the Arsenal fans, with City having until 30 September to respond to the Football Association's charge.
    The Togo striker believes he was fully justified in running the length of the pitch to celebrate a goal before the away supporters.
    "There is only so much abuse a man can take until he reaches breaking point," Adebayor told The Sun.
    "People talk about us as being football players and the money we earn, but just because we are fortunate does not mean we need to take abuse.
    "I scored and I wanted to show people it is not a good idea to abuse me. They were shouting personal abuse at me even before the match kicked off.
    "I was running on pure emotion and when you take emotion out of football we are going to have a big problem."
    606: DEBATE
    Even as a Man Utd fan, I feel City and Adebayor have been really hard done by

ReverendHeenan

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger tried to move on from the Adebayor situation on Friday but defended his work with the player.
    "In our job you accept that you give and do not expect any return, so you are never disappointed," said the Frenchman.
    "I feel my job is to give to people as much as I can and without expecting any return from that. That is how I approach my job. In this case specifically, I do not feel I have done too badly.
    "I believe I succeeded (with Adebayor as a player), but you can always do better and that is what is my approach.
    "I try to help every single player to achieve something in his career and over the years I feel I have done quite well."
    Arsenal midfielder Emmanuel Eboue, however, says he was disappointed by his former colleague's behaviour.
    "I have no idea why he acted like this," said Eboue. "We always respected him.

I made Adebayor a better player - Wenger

"I am very, very happy because the FA have given him a three-game ban (for the Van Persie stamp).
    "What he did was no good for football. I am very disappointed about it, very disappointed."
    But Adebayor, who counts Eboue as one of his closest friends at Arsenal, says his former team-mates also showed his a lack of respect.
    "There were players from Arsenal who refused to shake my hand before kick-off," he added.
    "My friends, like Eboue, were fine, they are decent people. But I could not understand some of the players being disrespectful towards me.
    "I have spent a lot of time with them and I thought they were my friends, but the way some of them behaved is just crazy.
    "When a man offers you his hand, you shake it. For them to act like that was a disgrace."

Yes, I'm standing on the sidelines but Adebayor has admitted the goal celebration was PREMEDITATED. This is a bigger infraction if you ask me than the stamp.

However, I hope he realizes what his impetuous behaviour has cost his team...had he played on Sunday you never know how things would have turned out.

Bigger infraction? I really hope you are kidding. You want to call a man celebrating and carrying on worst than stamping on someones face.

Lets get real.

I did not say more dangerous. I simply said a bigger infraction and I said why; IT WAS PREMEDITATED. You can stay there saying he was simply celebrating a goal, when his action could arguably have had more serious consequences than the stamp to Van Persie's head.

more serious consequences. You mean when morons want to behave like they have no sense, they can use Adebayour as the excuse.

Stamp and physically hurt someone.
          Or show up the opposing fans and those fans DECIDE to act like idiots.

Better you stop the joking.

If you want to keep your head in the sand keep it there!

If you want to keep your head in your mess and make excuses for idiotic fans, then go ahead.

Me, all I have to say is you are being terribly naive; the fans behaviour is far more difficult to manage than the players'; I am not making excuses for idiotic behaviour by fans but, players MUSt understand their role and impact upon the said behaviour of fans. If for example the same stupid idiotic fans had crushed someone and caused their death, then the player who ran the full length of the field in a premeditated act of celebration before opposing fans HAS to accept some blame in that incident. I am in no way saying a player shouldn't celebrate, but players have to be the adult in these situations. If you do not see that well we will have to disagree and I'll leave it there. I'm getting too long in the tooth for prolonged debates of this nature.

If fans CHOOSE to react that way, then they are the idiots and they MUST be held responsible. Sameway, if Rooney or someone else decide tocuss off a bunch of abusive fans who tell him about him mother, I am not holding Rooney responsible if those idiots decide to then riot.

If you want to accuse the man of being immature xyz, sure. But to suggest he is liable for anything and should be punished is simply hogwash.

I said the player would have to (my opinion ) "accept SOME blame in the incident"... so your first paragraph means zilch to me.

Secondly, I am not accusing the player of anything other than bad judgement; so LET US DISAGREE for I believe in the scenario I painted the player should be held accountable for his PREMEDITATED action. Adebayor admitted it. You are welcome to have the last word for I know we will not agree on this issue.

I couldn't care less if his celebration was premeditated. He is NOT accountable for people DECIDING to overeact and behave like IDIOTS. Especially since he stayed on the field where he is paid to be.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                        I couldn't care less if his celebration was premeditated. He is NOT accountable for people DECIDING to overeact and behave like IDIOTS. Especially since he stayed on the field where he is paid to be.
                        Me, what you're failing to realise is that there is a code of conduct by which the players have to abide per the FA's Rules. There is a whole section on conduct spelled out in the rules. One of these rules requires players, managers, coaching staff etc. to act in the best interests of the game and not act in any manner which is improper or engage in a host of other unacceptable behaviours and specifically requires all participants to safeguard children. So that's the rule under which he may be charged. It is not arbitrary. So your point about him "NOT [being] accountable for people DECIDING to overeact and behave like IDIOTS" while technically true, is out of step with the spirit of the rules.

From what I understand, it is unprecedented in modern football for a player to run the length of the field to celebrate in front of the visiting fans. This is the crux of his infraction, he clearly intended to goad the visiting contingent which is a violation of the FA's rules (and I believe Premiership rules as well).

Now, put that aside for a minute and think of how crowds behave. If you went to that game with your 10 year old youth (and were not one of the idiots affected by the player's stupidity), how would you have felt if Adebeyour's actions had lead to a stampede and in that riot, your youth got trampled? While he may not have directly done the trampling himself, he could have aggravated a potentially life-threatening situation because crowds by definition include idiots. The onus therefore, clearly has to be on the player(s) to act and behave appropriately, that's why the FA has a code of conduct.

Adebeyour is extremely lucky that the only person injured was the steward. Had there been any loss of life, he would have probably been facing a lengthy or permanent ban, and worse, a criminal charge for inciting a riot. This charge is often used by the English courts to prosecute perpetrators of fan-oriented mob violence.

In my opinion, this was a remarkable act of stupidity, eclipsed only by his infantile attempts to justify it.
                        Last edited by Paul Marin; September 23, 2009, 11:19 PM.

"Not in the spirit" is why people upset. "Technically" is why no charge should be there. If is my youth that happen to, I hold the stampeding idiots responsible. Not Adebayour.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                            "Not in the spirit" is why people upset. "Technically" is why no charge should be there. If is my youth that happen to, I hold the stampeding idiots responsible. Not Adebayour.
                            To each his own, but please explain to me why it is a crime - yes, a crime - to incite a riot? Why would such a law be in existence if the only people to blame are the rioters?

Why is it a crime? Cause them put it on the books. Nuh the same crime that where the typical defense lawyer will talk about a disconnect between the actiona and reaction and will refer to the description of the action as "vague"

Nonsense.