Who is Zavon Hines? 20 year old Jamaican striker with...

yup, but the squad is still too small. Gabby pump up some weight over the summer. He looks so much stronger.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

well tappa and Burrell phone better start dial soon.

He was on the bench for JA when we played Nigeria in London,but since Barnes left the job Tappa left him out of his squads.

The squad much better you have Hesky, Dunne, Downing in the new year. Then you have the young youth from Leeds to develop and two academy player knocking on the door. Barry is gone but I think the defense putting it together after Laursen left.

The commentators are giving him the man of the match runner up.

Hines touch is not bad. Needs to do a lttle more on defense.
              Good match!

The commentators are giving him the man of the match runner up.
                He did well!
                Who is he? Where is he coming from?

can you imagine a frontline with him on the left, Cummings on the right, Obrien White in the middle and JJ a little behind them, with Dane Richards, a better ball control Luton and tell me about speed.
                  Yeah...they would make a respectable 4 X 4

For football purposes...who knows?

you ever seen them play?

the commentator for the game said about Hines "He has speed, not just with his feet but also his head".

You just have to read the review by the coaches of White and Cumming to see that these youths are intelligent players who actually scores.

Liverpool's Johnson impressed by West Ham kid Hines

21.09.09 | tribalfootball.com
                      Liverpool fullback Glen Johnson was full of praise for West Ham United winger Zavon Hines after Saturday's win.
                      Like Hines, Johnson came through the Hammers academy and said: "I didn't know Zavon while I was here, but he has a bit of pace and looks like a decent player. Thankfully, we did the job and won the game and that was the most important thing.
                      "At the end of the game, he asked if he could have my shirt, so I was more than happy to give it to him."
                      While Johnson is one of a host of Academy products impressing for Fabio Capello's England, the defender said he had been struck by the next generation of claret and blue youngsters, including James Tomkins, Jack Collison, Junior Stanislas and Hines, who have blossomed under the expert eye of Academy Director Tony Carr.
                      He also told whufc.com: "It doesn't surprise me to see all the youngsters that the club continues to produce. About 90 per cent of the coaching staff were here when I was here so it comes as no shock to me at all."

Dunny, I have only seen Hines play in this one game. I was lucky to be at this match and I can tell you that it was as nail biting from the stands as it seems to have been on TV. There is no question that Hines gave the Liverpool midfield and defense trouble, he exposed them more than once and quite rightly deserved the penalty when Carra elbowed him to the ground. The thing that you may not have seen on TV was how well he played the space. He is clearly a natural winger who has either been trained or been encouraged to bring the ball inside. I can't recall him ever making a cross, choosing instead to take on the defense. His acceleration and natural touch is very impressive. Another thing, the WH fans around me thought that he and Parker were the MOTM - he surely would have been given the award had he converted on the chance he had that struck the post. We were lucky on that one.

I watch academy games from time to time and this youth caught my eyes 3years ago in a game against Arsenal he was playing as a striker for West Ham and he terrorized the Gunners defence,i ask about him then and was told he was from Jamaica but came over as a youngster.I was pleased when Barnes picked him for Jamaica and had hoped he would've gone to the Gold Cup.Barnes left the job and the rest is history.I think we missed our chance and i'm 100% sure he will be playing for England under 21's before the end of the season.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            I think we missed our chance and i'm 100% sure he will be playing for England under 21's before the end of the season.
                            Based on what I saw, he sure looks like England material. Great to see it. What an academy WH have! They should be on top!!

Rio Ferdinand,Frank Lampard,Joe Cole,Jermaine Defoe,Michael Carrick,Glen Johnson ........ they must be doing something right there.