Bolton coach wants Bibi to quit Boyz

• Bolton coach wants Bibi to quit Boyz

Yuh evah si nutten suh, dem pale face bwoy yah nah nuh manners at all. Wi Diamon di bwoy ah come joke wid, run it weh mek him guh siddung.

Jamaica Observer

Posted: 9/18/2009 11:47:37 AM

BOLTON WANDERERS manager Gary Megson is on a mission, it seems, to convince Ricardo ‘Bibi’ Gardner to quit his international football career with the Reggae Boyz, according to a Manchester Evening News online report.

The report in yesterday’s edition of the evening newspaper says Megson “admits he faces a tough job persuading Ricardo Gardner to call time on his international career”.

The report also suggested that should Gardner decides to walk away from Jamaica, this could help the midfielder “steer clear of injuries”.

“We certainly miss Bibi when he's not with us,” Megson was quoted as saying. “But whether it suits Bibi traipsing off to play for Jamaica all the time at the age he is now, I'm not sure,” the newspaper quote continued.

Megson, who succeeded long-time Bolton manager Sam Allardyce, said in the report that he aims to have a chat with the Jamaican on the matter of possibly calling it a day on his international career. “I will have a word with him on that score, but that (convincing him to quit) might be a bit difficult because he is a very proud Jamaican,” said Megson.

Only 18 years old at the time, Gardner was brought to the Reebok Stadium by Allardyce in a £1-million move from Harbour View in 1998 following the youngster’s exploits in Boyz’s historic appearance at the France World Cup earlier in the year.

The Jamaica captain turns 31 on September 25 and could make his first appearance of the season against Stoke City on Saturday “after recovering from hamstring trouble”.

Gardner has paraded in a Jamaica shirt on 109 occasions, and have represented The Trotters 319 times.

But it is well known that English club bosses are reluctant to release their foreign players for international games, and Jamaica’s football authorities have had their fair share of wranglings with them.

Meanwhile, Bolton goalkeeper Jussi Jaaskelainen may also consider his international future as Finland won't be going to South Africa either, the Manchester Evening News report claimed.

With our abundance of talent, there shouldn't be an issue. Bibi being 31 and seeing that we won't be playing in SA next year, shouldn't this be the ideal opportunity to bring in new players?

what crap?

Manu nuh have abundance of talent? How old is Gigs? Scholes and Neville still there.

Oh let me guess we can't compare to Manu.

Did you realise Bibi is our captain?

what crap?

Manu nuh have abundance of talent? How old is Gigs? Scholes and Neville still there.

At times mi affi wonder if yuh figet fi tek yuh meds? What the fornication does Manchester United have to do with this issue?

New talent ah guh come een regardless, but wi still need di diamon fi deh deh, kah him hab nuff experience fi offah. Mi nevah inna di abundance argument, suh mi kah talk bout dat. A draw yuh waan draw mi inna or wah.

Suh Bibi nuh can retire now.. if wi still need Bibi den wi nuh ready so it would be moot...

If wi let Tappa retire.. what di hubbub about Bibi ?!!

Ah wheh di.. ?!

what crap?

ah dat mi ah seh tuh , Bibi a wi captain .no !
              Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
              United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
              happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
              Probably forthcoming...

If you have abundance of talent you get rid of your 31 year olds?

who is talking hogwash?

If you have abundance of talent you get rid of your 31 year olds?

who is talking hogwash?
                  Again, whats the fuss about? Time and again ppl try to convince me that we have an abundance of talent. Bibi is 31, whats the fuss if he should give up international football? Getting defensive is a habit fi unuh?

Originally posted by myYout View Post
                    New talent ah guh come een regardless, but wi still need di diamon fi deh deh, kah him hab nuff experience fi offah. Mi nevah inna di abundance argument, suh mi kah talk bout dat. A draw yuh waan draw mi inna or wah.
                    Bibi is 31, we don't have an important int'l competition fi now. Whats the problem if he should retire?

Originally posted by wbvs View Post
                      ah dat mi ah seh tuh , Bibi a wi captain .no !
                      wbvs ... yuh can disagree with me all day bredren ... I've got no problem with that.

it is well known that English club bosses are reluctant to release their foreign players for international games, FALSE

it is well known that English club bosses are reluctant to release their non european players for international games, TRUE

With our abundance of talent, there shouldn't be an issue. Bibi being 31 and seeing that we won't be playing in SA next year, shouldn't this be the ideal opportunity to bring in new players?
                          well said LAZIE,weather this situation did not come up are not we should have all ready bringing new players into the reggaeboyz squad
                          out of many one people

At times mi affi wonder if yuh figet fi tek yuh meds? What the fornication does Manchester United have to do with this issue?
                            right on queue !!

Is there a problem if he continue to play?