• Rookie brings scoring touch to TFC

Rookie brings scoring touch to TFC

FRED THORNHILL/REUTERS

Toronto FC players celebrate with teammate O'Brian White (C) who scored against the Colorado Rapids in their MLS soccer game in Toronto September 12, 2009.

O'Brian White bounces back from devastating knee injury

Daniel Girard
    Sports Reporter

Before coming on as a substitute with about 20 minutes to go on Saturday, O'Brian White hadn't seen any game action for three weeks.
    Toronto FC's rookie striker wasted little time making an impact.

But White's highlight-reel goal, just three minutes after coming in, didn't just ignite TFC on the way to a crucial 3-2 win over Colorado.

It also offered a glimpse of the scoring touch that has TFC and its supporters so excited about the kid.

"He came on and showed that he's a guy that we can put on the field at any time and he'll create things for us," said Dwayne De Rosario, who played the ball through to White, who deftly flicked it over onrushing goalkeeper Preston Burpo and into the net in the 71st minute.

"If he continues like that, the future's definitely going to be bright."
    It's been a long road to this point for White. The 23-year-old Jamaican-born graduate of Lester B. Pearson Collegiate in Scarborough was seen as a first overall draft pick for Major League Soccer or even a career overseas when he tore up his knee last fall during his final year at the University of Connecticut.

While other teams took a pass, TFC general manager Mo Johnston picked him fourth overall last January. After months of rehab, White finally made his debut in a friendly at BMO Field against River Plate of Argentina then saw his first MLS action in Columbus on July 25.

"I really just want to work hard and try to repay TFC," White said after practice at BMO Field yesterday. "I take it as a great honour that they drafted me in a tough situation, when I was injured."

White has played in four MLS games, two as a starter, and has a pair of goals. And, while he admits he'd like to play more, he calls his match fitness "a work in progress" and said he's ready to accept whatever role he is asked to do.

Coach Chris Cummins says everything he gets from White a bonus.

"We didn't expect to see him a lot this season," he said in reference to the injury, which cost White the last half of the 2008 NCAA season and nearly two-thirds of the MLS one.

"Unfortunately, no amount of training counts for match fitness."
    But taking advantage of his "natural goal-scoring," Cummins said he looks to use White as a second-half substitute, as he did on Saturday.

"You won't see the best of him until next season," Cummins said. "But if we get ourselves into the playoffs and he gets a few more games under his belt, then it's going to be a bonus going into next year."

De Rosario likes White's size – 6-foot-1, 175 pounds – and "deceptive speed," but especially his attitude.

"He works hard, keeps his mouth quiet and is willing to learn," said De Rosario, who leads the team with a club-record 10 goals. "Those are traits that can be hard to find in a young professional.

"I'm sure as he gets more game fit – mentally and physically – you're going to see a lot more things coming from him."

White, who won the 2007 MAC Hermann Trophy, NCAA soccer's equivalent of football's Heisman, said he will continue to work on his match fitness and his scoring touch in hopes of notching many more goals like Saturday's.

"It was a good feeling," he said of the goal, which made the plays of the day on ESPN's Sports Center. "I hope things will continue to work out."

NOTE: Scarborough's Julian de Guzman, signed on Friday as TFC's first "designated player," got his international transfer paperwork from Spain completed yesterday and is expected to make his debut in Saturday's game in L.A. against David Beckham and the Galaxy. "I've got a lot of hunger in me, a lot of fire in me, so I'm dying to get on the pitch," de Guzman said after practice.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post

The 23-year-old Jamaican-born graduate of Lester B. Pearson Collegiate in Scarborough...
    Jamaican-born, huh?

Yeah it looks like Canada is giving him a few things to consider. - T.K.

Him soon get a run with the Les Rouges. The youth grow up in Canada and we wish him the best.

well wi cannot seh that 'sass has not been keeping us informed!

Well if we follow Zeppo we nah fi worry cause him may not qualify fi Canada .

If we lose White it will be carelessness while we running down UB40s.

this youth is a real threat in the middle of the field. I would like to see him and Omar Cummings togather as they play kinda similar, only that white have the better finishing touch.

Well if we follow Zeppo we nah fi worry cause him may not qualify fi Canada.
              What, you mean when I simply asked if White had Canadian citizenship?

Sounds like you're still bitter about being called out on your bogus claim that the U.S. coach can speed up the citizenship process.

Let it go, Asinine.

well wi cannot seh that 'sass has not been keeping us informed!
                Is true lol. I have not seen a campaign so persistent since the days of Mo and Hue....Shatta and Boyd....X and Nandi.....HL and the entire United Kingdom....- T.K.

heh heh!

remember mi use to push Ralph as well?

Sometimes the talent not so hard to spot but it is easy fi ignore.

He class himself as a Jamaican resident in Canada.
                      Only JFF can change that.

him have him Canadian citizenship yet?

I beg to differ. Obrien or ReggaeBoy as he is nicknamed is the only youth that I know that migrated to Canada or migrated for that matter and then the Federation kept in touch with him and brought him back to camps and U17 and U20... so it would be a shame for them to invest so much at youth to turn thier backs now. WDownswell was the coach then. Also keep in mind he migrated having already represented Jamaca at the youth level.