• Third Anniversary of Livi's passing

and nothing on the forum up to now, shame on Mosiah, Baddaz and others

great grandstanding! hip hip hooray!

No boss, more shame on you, I just saw it in the Gleaner Obits.

I spoke to him once soon after I started posting, he had some ideas for Arnett that he wanted to bounce off me and maybe get some story ideas out of it..can we just respect the man's memories and not get into the finger pointing.

3 years did go by pretty fast.

Sorry Sickko in no way to did I mean any disrespect. I did not realize that this was the day of Courtney's passing. I knew it was around this time I just was not sure of the specific day.

Really sad to think about it. It really is a borderline impossible thing to grasp even 3 years later. He is not here and never will the forum be graced by his presence ever again. Hard to take in. I just hope that his family is doing as well they possibly can under the circumstances. RIP Courtney. - T.K.

i miss him.

yes the big man is well missed.

Big up, Livi!
                RIP!

Photo: Courtney, Mosiah, and Ohene Blake

Picture of Mosiah, Courtney (center) and Ohene Blake. The picture was taken in 1998 at Railway Oval, during my first trip to Kingston.

Riding around in Ohene's Jeep, listening to the three of them argue non-stop about soccer, I thought I was either going to be a wrestling referee, or the straight man for a Three Stooges act.

The last time I saw Courtney was at a USA vs. Jamaica game at Giants Stadium. Jamaica was terrible, losing 5-0 or 5-1.

We went to a 24-hour diner down the road from Giants Stadium, and the hostess was 40-something, with a European accent. Courtney ran off almost every country in Europe trying to guess her accent, but no luck.

I asked her, "Greece?" and she said "Bingo!" Courtney asked how I knew.
                  I told him Milwaukee has more Greek restaurants than Athens, and if there is a dessert counter in front of the door, it's a Greek restaurant.

Anyway, the discussion of soccer got rather loud, and the hostess tapped me on the shoulder and asked me if there was going to be trouble. I told her no, they're arguing about soccer. I've known them for 5 years, thats all they ever do, is argue about soccer. They are not happy unless they are arguing about soccer.

I paid my tribute to Courtney on one of my trips to Portmore, I went into The Jungle for an Arnett Gardens game, to see what Courtney helped build. He did a great job. Someone who was with Courtney when he had his heart attack described what happened that fateful day.
                  Last edited by Bruce; April 21, 2010, 06:38 PM.

Great post, great pic, great memories!

An American young lady, a friend of one of ours, was in the stands with us at the stadium once (or was it Arnett Gardens?) and she whispered to me to break up the fight that was about to explode in the stands, as we got all emotional. (Lazie is not surprised.) I advised her that we couldn't be further from any fisticuffs that day. I don't think she was convinced.

Livi was special and to this day, whenever I pass an old red pickup truck, I take a double glance. I've stopped looking for him up on the top level of the Arnett stands, but the truck still gets me.

Gone, but never, ever forgotten.

Nice touch, Bruce!
                      ...were you at the Foxboro World Cup match? Courtney was there.

...btw - The last I met up with Courtney was on Knutsford Boulevard earlier in the year he died. He was standing besides a red pick-up that he had driven. Just general chit-chat. Nothing about football (scccer).

...good gentleman!

mmmm?
                        ...you too about the red pick-up!

Good memories..I have sm good ones..not for airplay....how Mosiah look like screw-face suh?

Just ugly him ugly....LOL!

Mankind ah di original dat. Bwoy time fly is a shame. Jah guide mi yout, "Yuh nevah scared fi tan up inna fiyah" great memories yuh lef pan di board yah.