Adebayor hit by two FA charges

• Adebayor hit by two FA charges

THE Football Association have hit Emmanuel Adebayor with two charges following his stormy performance in Manchester City's win over Arsenal on Saturday.

Adebayor is facing a three-match ban for violent conduct for the incident involving Robin van Persie, while the City striker is likely to face an additional punishment for the celebration that followed his goal in the 4-2 win.

Unless the Togo international can successfully argue his case, he is almost certain not to be available for City at least until their trip to Wigan on October 18.

“The Football Association today issued two charges against Manchester City's Emmanuel Adebayor following Saturday's Premier League fixture between Manchester City and Arsenal,” said a statement issued by the FA.

“Under the fast-track disciplinary process, Adebayor has been charged with violent conduct following an incident with Robin van Persie, which resulted in the Arsenal player receiving facial injuries.

“Referee Mark Clattenburg has advised the FA that he did not see this incident but has confirmed that had he done so, he would have sent Adebayor off for violent conduct. The player has until 6pm on Wednesday evening to respond to the charge.

“Adebayor has also been charged with improper conduct following his actions when turning and running the full length of the pitch to celebrate in front of the Arsenal supporters after scoring.

“The Greater Manchester Police have written to The FA with their views on this incident. A separate date will now be arranged for a commission to consider Adebayor's goal celebration.”

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co....two_fa_charges

Why 2 charges? Charging him for kicking Van Persie is fine, why charge him for the celebration? Wasn't he already punished after getting a yellow card?

Because everybody in the world except you and Brickie understand that his celebration deliberately incited the fans, which is improper conduct as far as the FA and the police are concerned. As you know, I agree with them.

By the way, I am in England this week for work. I ask a bag of people what they thought about the incident. Virtually everybody thinks he was stupid and worry for his safety. There is speculation that both Adebeyor and Citeh are paying for personal security for the player. I don't know if that is true, or if he is contemplating any more security than he already probably has, but there are enough idiots out there for him to be concerned...and it is his own fault.

Lazie never know dat?!

Because everybody in the world except you and Brickie understand that his celebration deliberately incited the fans, which is improper conduct as far as the FA and the police are concerned. As you know, I agree with them.

By the way, I am in England this week for work. I ask a bag of people what they thought about the incident. Virtually everybody thinks he was stupid and worry for his safety. There is speculation that both Adebeyor and Citeh are paying for personal security for the player. I don't know if that is true, or if he is contemplating any more security than he already probably has, but there are enough idiots out there for him to be concerned...and it is his own fault.
          The English FA is a bunch of hypocrites, so pointing to their position doesn't impress me. Fans been abuse the youth from he was at their pathetic club, now they went to the game abusing the youth same way. How the hell he can be accused of inciting anything when he was still on the field? All he did was remind the sorry a ss holes of what he can do and for those wasn't sure who score ... he made sure dem know.

Gimme a break.

oh boy, here we go again!

The English FA is a bunch of hypocrites, so pointing to their position doesn't impress me. Fans been abuse the youth from he was at their pathetic club, now they went to the game abusing the youth same way. How the hell he can be accused of inciting anything when he was still on the field? All he did was remind the sorry a ss holes of what he can do and for those wasn't sure who score ... he made sure dem know.

Gimme a break.
              As I told Brickie...find me a player who scored a goal and then turns around and runs the entire length of the field to celebrate in front of the visiting fans. The long standing protocol Lazie, tried and true, is that you celebrate in front of your own fans, so your argument that he was 'still on the field' is out of step with precedent.

oh boy, here we go again!
                You know...every now and again I believe that Lazie can be objective...stupid me.

As I told Brickie...find me a player who scored a goal and then turns around and runs the entire length of the field to celebrate in front of the visiting fans. The long standing protocol Lazie, tried and true, is that you celebrate in front of your own fans, so your argument that he was 'still on the field' is out of step with precedent.
                  How many players you know of that has been in Ade's position? Abused by a bunch of ungrates, pushed out of the club, then turn around and score pon dem ... while the bunch of ingrates were still abusing him? As mi say, he should display a shirt indicating he was gonna dweet again at the Emirates.

As I told Brickie...find me a player who scored a goal and then turns around and runs the entire length of the field to celebrate in front of the visiting fans.

Adebayor isnt the first player who's celebrated scoring a goal against a former team's fans in a premiership match.

So you're okay with that kind of behaviour? just asking.

This is football ... not golf! What is wrong with celebrating a goal you score? What is wrong with making the abusive fans aware who emphasized how poor dem team is?

If you're okay with it well fine, that's your position; I would hold players to a different standard than the so-called abusive fans you refer to... (yu ever guh aeven a MLS match? an see how some a dem behave) de odda day unuh tek on beckham when him try fi deal wid some LA fans..
                          Anyway, I bet you though "discretion (will) be the better part of valour" ... bet you he doesn't try that stuff again. Every time him go in de parking lot him mus be checkin pon him tyre dem or if him cyar get key... we live in an irrational world and like begets like.
                          Last edited by Peter R; September 15, 2009, 07:28 PM.

Can understand the stomping thing, but a ban for that celebration is simply stupid. When players over do their celebration, they get yellow cards and that is usually because they have left the field or take off them clothes.

FA are morons. Whether or not you liked what he did, it is stupid to ban him for that.

I am an Arsenal fan to the bones and I honestly believe that the yellow card was enough punishment. So what if he celebrate in front of the visiting supporters? As a player you live to score on your former team. The only problem I have with the whole thing is that Ade shouldn't have done that to Van Persie as a former very recent team-mate, Arsenal treated him good and there was no bad blood when they parted...so why give off that vibe against the Gunners. Furthermore, the media has now made it worse than it would have been so they are also inciting the fans. Any baller have a right to celebrate, Ade shoulda beat him chest too!! My side can put a stop to that happening next time...just don't let him or anyone else on the team score!! BTW the Gunners really need a top class goalie. I was happy when Lehman left but his replacement is not much better at all because he seem to lack confidence and is never really in command. Oh well please Faada mek one of the 3rd or 4th string keeper step up to the plate tomorrow vs Standard Liege and be the man!