Hey Karl ... what is your

Fair point about the context except that the celebration was inappropriate because it incited mob-like fan reaction that, had it gotten out of control, could have left people dead. That is the entire problem.

By his actions, he endangered innocent people. As that article pointed out, the stewards had to hold back fans from charing the field. The police are investigating those fans AS THEY SHOULD. But what about the man who goes to the match with his 10 year old youth to watch the game? Had it turned uglier, then you could be reading a very different story this morning.
    If Adebayor motioned to the fans I would agree, however, he slid on his knees so how is that inciting the fans? The mere fact that he was on the field incited the fans. Wha dem ago do charge him fi playing in the game?

Brickie, stay with me here. First of all, you can't show me another example of where a player has ran from one goal mouth to another to celebrate in front of the visiting fans, can you? We both know the answer to that, so I think you are by default agreeing that it was out of the ordinary.

Now you're changing the argument to ask how does 'the mere fact that he was on the field [incite] the fans?" Go back to the fact that he ran the length of the field, you are conveniently leaving that out of the equation. Had he scored in front of them and fell to his knees right there, you would have had a better argument. But that is counter-factual.

No matter if you want to believe me or not - he's in a world of hurt, and it matters not what I think, but the FA will come down hard on him and he has - by his own deliberate action - put his team in a more than awkward position.

Brickie, stay with me here. First of all, you can't show me another example of where a player has ran from one goal mouth to another to celebrate in front of the visiting fans, can you? We both know the answer to that, so I think you are by default agreeing that it was out of the ordinary.

Now you're changing the argument to ask how does 'the mere fact that he was on the field [incite] the fans?" Go back to the fact that he ran the length of the field, you are conveniently leaving that out of the equation. Had he scored in front of them and fell to his knees right there, you would have had a better argument. But that is counter-factual.

No matter if you want to believe me or not - he's in a world of hurt, and it matters not what I think, but the FA will come down hard on him and he has - by his own deliberate action - put his team in a more than awkward position.
        He could run up and down the field ten times if him want to. Did he motion to the fans? Where is the incitement? If you claim him running the length of the field incited the fans i counter that his mere presence on the field incited the fans

We see it differently, but I assure you that you are in the minority. He is in grave danger of becoming a public target, which is really really stupid. More power to him...he will need it.