Seems refs are 'clamping' down on 'dives'

• Seems refs are 'clamping' down on 'dives'

...was watching Hibs v. celtic (SPL) last night.

A player was immediately ejected because of a 'dive'; (his 2nd. yellow card)

The new's out: that 'football' has asked all refs to clamp down on simulated fouls. This in the wake of Edwardo's dive resulting in a penalty.

They were given such instructions years ago. I am against that foolishnes.

The player dives leave him/her on the ground and the game goes on. I said that when the directive went out. The refs should ignore it.

If taken to its logical conclusion, a player who uses his hand is trying to deceive the ref. So what?

Off!
    ...or is it some ass is going to say the refs should now decide where the offense is committed in relation to play?

Off if the ref deems it ...what?

...then defenders who go down will now be sent off?

It was crazy...nonsense...when introduced, nonsense still!

There was when the directive went out then (those years past) of players who were tripped being given red cards...because of the refs' position on the field it appeared to be a dive!

In the next few days if the refs have gotten renewed call to 'red card' dives some innocent players and their managers are going to fell badly done by....and some refs will look the fool on replays!

I think allowing the game to continue when a dive is the decision a good idea.

I can see this (red carding) resulting in a mistake --an become another real issue when a true foul committed.

Karl, I agree that these directives are garbage. The refs should apply the laws fairly and consistently for both teams across a contest - end of story. Clearly Mike Dean didn't get the memo because he "allowed" Rooney's DIVE hook, line and sinker on Saturday. What an abomination. Anyway, that's my beef with football, too much refereeing inconsistency...FROM THE SAME REF IN THE SAME GAME!!

Maybe it's mind over matter...but i don't like Howard Webb.............................................. .................................................. ..............

Karl, I agree that these directives are garbage. The refs should apply the laws fairly and consistently for both teams across a contest - end of story. Clearly Mike Dean didn't get the memo because he "allowed" Rooney's DIVE hook, line and sinker on Saturday. What an abomination. Anyway, that's my beef with football, too much refereeing inconsistency...FROM THE SAME REF IN THE SAME GAME!!
            That last part of your post addresses what all the seminars, field work and match reviews are supposed to bring about - consistency in applications of the laws. The aim is all refs throughout all matches refereeing the 'same way'.

We'll never get there...but as close as humanly possible to 'same consistent application' is the aim.

That last part of your post addresses what all the seminars, field work and match reviews are supposed to bring about - consistency in applications of the laws. The aim is all refs throughout all matches refereeing the 'same way'.

We'll never get there...but as close as humanly possible to 'same consistent application' is the aim.
              Karl - the reason we will never get there is not because it isn't possible, but because FIFA refuses to apply a consistent interpretation of the law themselves. It is lunacy when in Scotland a man gets tackled from behind yet no call, whereas in Spain, a man barely brush another man and they blow the whistle. And then there's technology, but don't get me started on that.

It has to do with the different cultures of countries and the difference in personalities of referees. The outlook on life persons from different countries has vast gulfs...that will make for the how and why different souls see things differently.

A fair crunching tackle for one man appears not even as merely a foul, but an outrageous assault to another!

suh dat nuh sound inconsistent 'pan a global level? therefore the flow of the game and crucial decisions penalties cards etc will depend on which country the ref is from

Yuh nuh seeit?

...so before all the regional (e.g. CFU), confed and world tournaments the organisers request refs report early and tremendous effort is put into meetings, trainings sessions...aim being to get all conforming to similar application of the laws... and also how they can physically cover ground - i.e. get all as fit, fast and mobile as each can - the way signals are used, positioning during free flow (how the 'diagonal' is run...including when to get off 'the diagonal') and positioning at set plays. The idea being to as best as possible create culture of the tournament & all submerging self into 'one mind' on interpretation and application of laws and how the game is managed.

We have even in JA progressed to the level where before each season the JFRA apes the FIFA above described pre-tournament work. Before I left JA in 1990 for the good ole USA we had instituted similar work pre-National Premier League - uniformity was and still is the cry.

Yet for all that the local refs handling of matches in South America can be seen to have a different way of handling matches than the local refs in leagues in say, the EPL...and so the differences can be noticed as we move to watch various leagues across the world.
                    Last edited by Karl; September 4, 2009, 09:54 PM.

I disagree. Any play that is unsportsmanlike should be punished. When a player dives, he is usually trying to win penalty. Penalties almost always mean goals. Such actions should be punished!

Yes, the ref could miss the dive, or think there is dive when there wasn't any. Too bad. There are hundreds of fouls that are missed or imagined during the course of a game. Linesmen make countless numbers of offside calls during a game. Do they "look the fool" on replays?

I say punish divers! And if it means going back to the tape to see if it was a dive or not, do it, and hand out the late cards if necessary! And if the ref was wrong, no big deal! He's wrong all the time!

I disagree. Any play that is unsportsmanlike should be punished. When a player dives, he is usually trying to win penalty. Penalties almost always mean goals. Such actions should be punished!

Yes, the ref could miss the dive, or think there is dive when there wasn't any. Too bad. There are hundreds of fouls that are missed or imagined during the course of a game. Linesmen make countless numbers of offside calls during a game. Do they "look the fool" on replays?

I say punish divers! And if it means going back to the tape to see if it was a dive or not, do it, and hand out the late cards if necessary! And if the ref was wrong, no big deal! He's wrong all the time!
                        Mosiah a foul is as stated in 'law' and as determined by in real time by the ref. If the ref says 'no foul', no foul it is.

Do we stop the game when the ref decides 'no foul'?

No!

Why then in the penalty area only if a player goes down when no contact by an opponent was observed by the ref the game is not allowed to continue uninterupted?

Why put this additional strain on refs to determine whether or not the player happened to fall under his/her own violation - inadvertently or deliberately?

We know players can fall from not having perfect balance and being fatigued or simply either not having perfect balance or fatigue...can slip... can come in contact with an opponent inadvertently (i.e. no foul), etc., etc.

Why now a player is deemed to have dived and thus puts his team at a disadvantage if the game continues...you are going to stop the game and issue a dismissal?

Why not then be consistent and regardless of where a player goes down, if deemed by the ref to be 'stimulation' a dismissal?

You know, why that does not happen? It would be a 'nonsense' policy! ...you know what? ...just as this current sending off is a 'nonsense' policy!

I don't believe the game should be stopped. But cards can be presented thereafter, for unsportsmanlike behaviour!

His team is hardly at a disadvantage when a forward chooses to dive. How many times do you see defenders diving? And when they do, they most likely are putting their teams at a disadvantage, so there's no problem there. But I do believe they too should be given a card for the same reason. But the play should not be stopped. On that we can agree!

But there is a difference between diving at halfline and diving to win a penalty. I don't have any problem with refs making that distinction. If he doesn't want to card the fool at halfline, fine, but the fool in the penalty area - CARD!

I don't believe the game should be stopped. But cards can be presented thereafter, for unsportsmanlike behaviour!

His team is hardly at a disadvantage when a forward chooses to dive. How many times do you see defenders diving? And when they do, they most likely are putting their teams at a disadvantage, so there's no problem there. But I do believe they too should be given a card for the same reason. But the play should not be stopped. On that we can agree!

But there is a difference between diving at halfline and diving to win a penalty. I don't have any problem with refs making that distinction. If he doesn't want to card the fool at halfline, fine, but the fool in the penalty area - CARD!
                            How many times do you see defenders diving?

Ever heard of Danny Alves?

Is that a nickname too?