This is what I cannot stand with Wenger. Whenever

• This is what I cannot stand with Wenger. Whenever

he loses him bitch and complain. How about addressing where his team failed?

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger accuses Manchester United of kicking their way to victory

Published 22:41 30/08/09 By David McDonnell
    //// article view //

Arsene Wenger accused Manchester United of kicking their way to victory at Old Trafford through systematic fouling of his Arsenal players.
    Arsenal's own credibility may be on the line with the Eduardo diving controversy that has engulfed them, but Wenger said United should also be in the dock.
    Wenger refused to name names, but it was clear Darren Fletcher was at the forefront of his thoughts, the United midfielder having harassed and harried Arsenal throughout.
    "I have seen today players who play only to make fouls but who were never punished," said Wenger.
    if (typeof ord == 'undefined') { ord = Math.random() * 10000000000000000; } document.write(''); if (navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Gecko") == -1) { document.write(''); } document.write('');
    "Players who make repeated fouls are never punished and get out of the game without a yellow card.
    "I think that is more anti-football than a player who did what Eduardo did. Look at how many deliberate fouls some players make and get away with it.
    "I think it's a bigger problem because it cuts the flow of the game. And people come and pay to see football, not free-kicks.
    "You should certainly ask the officials to watch the video again and they will see the conclusions.
    "The borderline between being sensible, being shrewd or being a cheat is sometimes very slim so in some cases to assess which is which is very difficult."
    Despite suffering their first defeat of the season, Wenger claimed his side proved they have the ability to sustain a title challenge by outplaying United.
    "I think we're equipped to challenge for the title. United can improve, but when you compare the performances of the two teams they won a game they shouldn't have won.
    "I think we were a bit too nervous and rushed our decisions in certain situations.
    "We looked mature in terms of the positions we took up, but individually still there is some nervousness in certain situations.
    "We were very strong and I'm still very confident. I just hope this undeserved defeat will not knock our confidence. I hope we respond well in two weeks."

It's not Fletcher's fault he is a goon...

The ref let him get away with it.

What wrong if Wenger points that out?

man u win...and nutten will change...they didn't deserve to win but that happens in football sometimes.

wenger is right, but nutten naw change....seet deh ref and 4th official haffi apologise to him fi di red card or whatever that farce was....one could argue it shows a predisposition...and could mean the difference between cslling one a penalty and not the other....but as i seh nutten naw change...so we move on!

It's not Fletcher's fault he is a goon...

The ref let him get away with it.

What wrong if Wenger points that out?
        Wenger has already admitted that he is dishonest. Wenger and his players want the opponents to backoff and allow them to do as they wish. This isn't Xbox or Liverpool (that allowed Russian to score 4 goals).

Do you consider Jefe a goon? Stop being hypocritical Peter R. Aren't defensive mids suppose to break up the play of the other team? Isn't Viera idolized at Arsenal for doing the same?

Aren't defensive mids suppose to break up the play of the other team?
          To a certain degree. After repeated breakups, they should be yellow carded.

But you wouldn't see that, of course.

man u win...and nutten will change...they didn't deserve to win but that happens in football sometimes.

wenger is right, but nutten naw change....seet deh ref and 4th official haffi apologise to him fi di red card or whatever that farce was....one could argue it shows a predisposition...and could mean the difference between cslling one a penalty and not the other....but as i seh nutten naw change...so we move on!
            Yuh right ... nothing naah change. Unuh not winning nothing. What is Wenger right about? Same way after unuh had unuh way with Celtic, mi see Van Persie on SkySports a talk bout how well Celtic played. Thats the only time dem compliment an opposing team ... when the team allow them to do what they want.

As far as I know, 2 teams are out there to win, with Arsenal they want the other team to always give them room. Y'all need to get real.

To a certain degree. After repeated breakups, they should be yellow carded.

But you wouldn't see that, of course.
              Where did you see any malicious tackles from Fletcher? The ref didn't see where he did anything to get a card and the closest he came to getting booked was when he disputed a foul, pointing out he won the ball.

But of course ... because he plays for Man United .. none of you would see that. Would you have taken the same position if it was Jefe?

Where did you see any malicious tackles from Fletcher? The ref didn't see where he did anything to get a card and the closest he came to getting booked was when he disputed a foul, pointing out he won the ball.

But of course ... because he plays for Man United .. none of you would see that. Would you have taken the same position if it was Jefe?
                This thing is blown out of all proportion by the media,Arsene was asked a simple question by a journalist and he gave a honest answer then all of a sudden there was big headlines about Arsene accusing Man U players of kicking his team off the park.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  This thing is blown out of all proportion by the media,Arsene was asked a simple question by a journalist and he gave a honest answer then all of a sudden there was big headlines about Arsene accusing Man U players of kicking his team off the park.
                  .. but Dunny, isn't the norm for Wenger the Whiner to whine whenever his team lose? I heard him talking about playing in the spirit of the game. What was Eboue carded for?

Lazie - Wenger is often mischaracterised in the media. I have come to start cross referencing any story in the English papers with video of actual quotes so that I can make up my own mind. The truth is that Wenger is NO DIFFERENT than any other manager - he protects his players. That is his job. When he says something that the media can blow up into controversy, no matter how trivial, they do it. They have cleverly manipulated the public into buying the cast of characters as they have unilaterally decided to cast them:

Slurgueson - The Hero we love to hate
                    Wenger - the fallen angel, a wolf in sheeps clothing
                    Rafa - the fat waiter, hopeless in love and war
                    Mourinho - the swashbuckler - the white knight whose fatal flaw is narcism

I could go on, but I think you get my point. I think the media wants us to think a certain way and we have to be careful not to succumb to their whim.

Lazie - Wenger is often mischaracterised in the media. I have come to start cross referencing any story in the English papers with video of actual quotes so that I can make up my own mind. The truth is that Wenger is NO DIFFERENT than any other manager - he protects his players. That is his job. When he says something that the media can blow up into controversy, no matter how trivial, they do it. They have cleverly manipulated the public into buying the cast of characters as they have unilaterally decided to cast them:

Slurgueson - The Hero we love to hate
                      Wenger - the fallen angel, a wolf in sheeps clothing
                      Rafa - the fat waiter, hopeless in love and war
                      Mourinho - the swashbuckler - the white knight whose fatal flaw is narcism

I could go on, but I think you get my point. I think the media wants us to think a certain way and we have to be careful not to succumb to their whim.
                      Media aside Paul. When Arsenal, Liverpool and Fulham beat Man United last season did you hear Fergie complaining about how the other team played? When Barca beat us in the CL final, did Fergie complain about Barca's play?

This is a regular thing with Wenger and his players. They play you off the park, you get complimented, you don't allow them to do as they please ... they complain, especially Wenger and Fabregas.

Media aside Paul. When Arsenal, Liverpool and Fulham beat Man United last season did you hear Fergie complaining about how the other team played? When Barca beat us in the CL final, did Fergie complain about Barca's play?

This is a regular thing with Wenger and his players. They play you off the park, you get complimented, you don't allow them to do as they please ... they complain, especially Wenger and Fabregas.
                        Lazie, you can't compare Slurgueson to Wenger in this way. They use different measures to achieve the same outcome. Slurgueson uses the media before a match more prolifically and more effectively, whereas Wenger is more prone to try his manipulation afterwards. You rarely see acidic comments from Wenger before a game.

That said, I don't think he complains more than any one else. What I do think though, is that his team's style of play attracts desperate measures by opposition. If you watch them closely, they get kicked down more than other teams in the EPL but usually, their style of football prevails. Saturday was a frustrating day for them as they really played better than the opposition; their frustration was compounded by the nature of the goals scored. I believe this is the root of the "complaints" you're stressing out over.

Lazie, you can't compare Slurgueson to Wenger in this way. They use different measures to achieve the same outcome. Slurgueson uses the media before a match more prolifically and more effectively, whereas Wenger is more prone to try his manipulation afterwards. You rarely see acidic comments from Wenger before a game.

That said, I don't think he complains more than any one else. What I do think though, is that his team's style of play attracts desperate measures by opposition. If you watch them closely, they get kicked down more than other teams in the EPL but usually, their style of football prevails. Saturday was a frustrating day for them as they really played better than the opposition; their frustration was compounded by the nature of the goals scored. I believe this is the root of the "complaints" you're stressing out over.
                          Really? LAst season when the same Arsenal had problems beating Aston Villa, the same Wenger was complaining how the other team didn't turn up to play in the spirit of the game. Its a regular thing with Wenger. He doesn't want his players to be tackled. Isn't that apart of the game? Yuh win some and yuh lose some. Wenger need to understand that.

I'm glad you used that word, "malicious". Persistent fouls do not have to be malicious in any way, Lazie. All they have to be is persistent, no matter how seemingly trivial and innocuous.

And if anything, I have more a liking for Arsenal than ManU, so, let's put that line of argument to rest.

Why do you always bring up some peripheral insignificance when arguing a point, Lazie? Stick to the core issue at hand!! And leave the cute nicknaming and other crap out of it!

I'm glad you used that word, "malicious". Persistent fouls do not have to be malicious in any way, Lazie. All they have to be is persistent, no matter how seemingly trivial and innocuous.

And if anything, I have more a liking for Arsenal than ManU, so, let's put that line of argument to rest.

Why do you always bring up some peripheral insignificance when arguing a point, Lazie? Stick to the core issue at hand!! And leave the cute nicknaming and other crap out of it!
                              If you have no idea who Jefe is simply ask. No one was calling you anything ... Jefe is the known alias for Javier Mascherano. Better yuh stay out of this.