Karl etc the Team posse can you explain

• Karl etc the Team posse can you explain

Why Avan Grant concept of team is different from Scolari concept and its working so well for Colliti ?

Grant benched Anelka is favor of a Kalou Drogba strike force

Scolari almost chased Drogba from Chelsea in favor of Robin ho and Deco looked weak on his team , as Lampard was reduced to defensive duties and Deco pushed upfront.

With Colliti ,Anelka , Drogba even Deco works well with team.I remember you Karl being hard on Drogba under Scolari spell.

Hiddink approach to team seems to mirror that of Colliti, where Drogba flourished and Anelka and Kalou had alternating starting roles.

My conclusion is that this talk about team is B.S because an individual (the coach ) sets the framework of a team and as long as it works well with his concept of team thats all what counts.

So far , Colliti seems to be getting the best out of this team , but its early in the season , we will see what happens at the end of it to have a true assessment of team.

Its amazing to me how Drogba & Anelaka flourishes , post Grant & Scolari concept of team.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I guess you watched the game this morning-- Chelsea/Burnley .

Burnley was an extremely tough nut to crack. The 3 NIL Chelsea win could have been 10 NIL.!!!!!

I think Chelsea played with 6 players over 30 yo. The season is young. My question is ...will age play a factor down the stretch?

As far as the coaches are concerned...the game of football is still a game of chance (and opportunity). But, like boxing..."style" makes fight. Same applies to football. Colliti's style is a good fit for Chelsea.

Thank yuh sah , style meaning concept of team ? i.e Drogaba , Anelaka and Deco fit into team?

One thing that is constant in all Chelsea teams Eissen , man it look like Colliti leggo di leash on di bway.

Avan Grant cried when he was out injured.This could be why Deco looks good , I hope they age in the last two months of the season, dem look unstoppable.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Agree; considering Man U just beat Burnley 1 NIL...and Burnley beat Everton 1-Nil.

Chelsea looked darn unstoppable!!

BTW: I am very comfortable with Mikel running the mid-field also.
        Last edited by HL; August 29, 2009, 12:17 PM.

You have forgotten that I have always been saing it was nonsense saying Anelka and Drogba could not play together.

I think for our Reggae Boyz it was claimed that Whitmore and Hue could not play together.

Well my mantra was as long as players think TEAM, act sensible any set of individuals can perform well together.

I may have been hard on Deco in a match or in a number of matches...but it must have been about his performance as individual...not about being unable to fit in team.

Agree; considering Man U just beat Burnley 1 NIL...and Burnley beat Everton 1-Nil.
            I guess you meant ManUre lost to Burnley 1-0. Burnley has been having some beginners luck in the league so far. This is a reason why this game was so well anticipated.

I finally got out of bed this morning at 6 AM my time to go downstairs to watch the game in HD. It makes such a difference!

Man, Chelsea's passing was slick and efficient. Nuff fluid one touch ball and the passes finding their intended players too.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Man, Chelsea's passing was slick and efficient. Nuff fluid one touch ball and the passes finding their intended players too.
              It is Chelsea's title to lose...I said so at the beginning of the year and still think it will be so...

You have forgotten that I have always been saing it was nonsense saying Anelka and Drogba could not play together.

I think for our Reggae Boyz it was claimed that Whitmore and Hue could not play together.

Well my mantra was as long as players think TEAM, act sensible any set of individuals can perform well together.

I may have been hard on Deco in a match or in a number of matches...but it must have been about his performance as individual...not about being unable to fit in team.
                Karl, the truth is that Anelka and Droba can't play well together if you play Anelka as a winger. The first 40 minutes of today, Ancellotti fell back into that trap playing the frenchman wide on the right...the minute he switched the two...bingo!!

Marin, I think age may be a factor towards the end of the season.

Still, i must admit they are looking wassy!

HL - age will not be anymore of a factor than with any other team. It will become a matter of experience which will work to their advantage. More than anything else, keeping themselves injury free is critical.

There is one caveat to that - they have NO ONE to replace Lampard if he gets hurt. In the game yesterday, he was instrumental in 2 of the 3 goals and if Chelski had converted their other chances, he could have possibly been instrumental in 5. Hard act to follow. The age issue will catch up to Chelski in the 2011 season if they don't make moves this coming year.

Karl, the truth is that Anelka and Droba can't play well together if you play Anelka as a winger. The first 40 minutes of today, Ancellotti fell back into that trap playing the frenchman wide on the right...the minute he switched the two...bingo!!
                      That does not fit within my view of football...remember 'no formation'...be where the game demands you should be? ...team members must be able to rotate such that it matters not where on the field you started at the first whistle.

I think we are in agreement, but I am speaking of a single player's effectiveness, not philosophy. Watch Chelsea play again and see how more effective Anelka is in the middle. Drogba is effective no matter where he is, fitting more in line with your philosophical view point.

Let's watch this pair a wee bit more. I think Anelka shall surprise you.