• Maradona puts 'second-best' Pele in his place

Maradona puts 'second-best' Pele in his place

Argentina coach Diego Maradona on Wednesday put Brazilian legend Pele in his place, insisting the latter was the second best player ever after himself.

A FIFA internet poll in 2000 saw Maradona, who will lead the albiceleste against the five-times world champion Brazilians in a September 5 World Cup qualifier, come out on top and he said on Wednesday that ought to settle the issue.

"What matters is that when the people voted, he came second behind me. Nobody can take that away from me," insisted Maradona, who said the fact he had played with success in European club football, unlike Pele, ought to be the clincher - even if Pele won three World Cup titles to his one.

(continue)

Maradona ...yuh fi tek yuh meds!

seems he has not stopped his sniffing habits either..

"For 20 years they have been asking me the same question, who is the greatest? Maradona or Pele? I reply that all you have to do is look at the facts - how many goals did he score with his right foot or with his head?" - Pele

Mi rate Diego but him kyann touch Do Nascimento. A peer young blood vote. Ah weh dem know bout ball. Di stats dem show seh Pele bettah by far, far.

Originally posted by myYout View Post
            Di stats dem show seh Pele bettah by far, far.
            A wha dis baseball? Did Pele go through the wear and tear in Brasil that Diego experienced in Europe?

Maradona could POSSIBLY have surpassed the King's performances but his drugs habit and less than ethical standards thwarted that. I don't have the stats but I have to believe Pele's international stats (goals and assists) outdistance Maradona's by far.

Diego was good, but my vote is for Pele.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

What does wear and tear have to do with the best ever?

What do stats have to do with being the best ever?

only everything?!

Tap eh noise, yuh ah come wid di wear an tear foolynish to, nuh baddy wid dem fool fool argument deh pan yah. Baseball, ah wah duh yuh, man ah cricketah. A which part Diego guh chue wear an tear tell mi nuh.

only everything?!
                          So Ronaldo is the best player ever in the World Cup? And Alan Shearer is the best ever to play in the Premiership?

Originally posted by myYout View Post
                            Tap eh noise, yuh ah come wid di wear an tear foolynish to, nuh baddy wid dem fool fool argument deh pan yah. Baseball, ah wah duh yuh, man ah cricketah. A which part Diego guh chue wear an tear tell mi nuh.
                            And you are telling me to stop my noise? Where did Maradona go through wear and tear? How do you think he got that plate in his ankle, playing dandy shandy?

simple conclusion. sorry, simpleton conclusion.