Third place women's GC on FSC @ 6pm est.

• Third place women's GC on FSC @ 6pm est.

the final will be on 8:30pm est. From what I see Mexico will rule this region in women's football (next three years).

RE: Third place women's GC on FSC @ 6pm est.

Jawge (11/26/2006)the final will be on 8:30pm est. From what I see Mexico will rule this region in women's football (next three years).
    Only if we do not plug enough effort...'good effort'...into our football!

Potential we have nuff-nuff of!

Talent in abundance we have!

Karl if we record that potential song

it would be hit around the world

Karl,

The "problem" with talent is that plenty people have it... the reason why Canada and USA and Mexico to a lesser extent ( I disagree with Jawge about who will rule the roost, it is USA women in my opinion) is that thein both these countries little girls from the age of three and four are playing "soccer" in Hicksville USA and Hicksville Canada.

If we do not have the infrastructure in place to nurture the talent in the Caribbean then the talent will never have a chance to see the light of day. In my opinion, because we put so much emphasis on schoolboy (and now it seems that the way to go is scholgirls football) we are really disenfranchising a whole bag of "talent".

A whole different structure of football should be put in place by the Football Federations to encourage youths to play competitive football outside of school. The development of more coaching schools that operate year round, creation of more holiday leagues (summer) are just a couple of initiatives that we could pursue. If this is already being done great, butI don't see it happening in great numbers here in TT. It is either that or develop more levels of competition among school teams.

A Canadian female friend of mine who is working here in TT was looking for a ladies Football team to "sweat" with and there was none in POS. Her options were only a couple(Joe Publicbeing one and these are considered "pro" teams so walking on would not be that easy), plus they are based outside of POS and if you wan see traffic...

BTW the above scenario really is underlining that at all levels, male and female we cannot yet begin to come close to the opportunities that the North Americans are providing for their people.

pr

That was clearly NOT a penalty... if this were the men's game that wouldn't have been called. My girl got all ball before the player came down... why is aggressive play among women being penalized?

pr

Typical Jamaica team. Very Disorganized and defense seems clueless. The ladies need to practise moving their body or reflex actions and positioning play..They seem faster than the mexicans a times when running straight but they always get out ran when back turned...maybe they should start marking more sideways than dead front.

All in all..I'm sorry, I don't see the talent when compared to Mexico..I agree with the commentator to an extent...The football IQ is very low,,they can put passes together, they don't run into position.

Alot more work needs to be done...As I have been sying...samething with the men's team..we have the speed, we have the physical attributes but no organization so we can use them to our benefit

We are disorganized and seem to be tactically clueless. Nothing which good coaching will not correct.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Peter R (11/26/2006)That was clearly NOT a penalty... if this were the men's game that wouldn't have been called. My girl got all ball before the player came down... why is aggressive play among women being penalized?

pr
                We tend to think that because she got the ball first it is not a foul (hence a penalty). The rule however does not emphasize getting to the ball first. It more says if in the opinion of the referee the tackle is considered reckless, then a foul can be called. It is therefore left to the discretion of the referee to make the call.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

PR did you see the skill of the mexican

middle? The Us women's system of play is like the men. They are not very techical, just basic ball with strength and stamina. Now back to the mexicans: I love good ball when I see it. Why can't we play that way? Good first touch, bellismo one two. Are the mexican ladies born to play that way?(they look a lot like the men's team) Tactically they are ahead of us their technique is uperior. aaah that middle with the captain et al. We need to improve more. PR that tackle was an indisciplined one (wonder where she learn that) if it was Rboyz a penalty would be called the same way. One on one. come on. We must get serious about learning this game.

what's the score? My office does not subscribe to FSW

Seen enough..No marking, no trodding back...everyone standing around ball watching...they definitely took something from the reggae boyz

For me the interesting statistic would be to compare the number of games at ANY and ALL levels that the girlz have played compared to their Canadian, US or Mexican counterpart. I would guess conservatively that the ration would be 3:1 (them :Girlz).

We just do not have the infrastructure in place nor the quality competition to develop what we have to the level of the top three.

Having said that, I agree that coaching could help to alleviate some of the problems.

pr

J,

I don't disagree bout the technique and touch of the Mexicans. They were definitely the more watchable team vs USA. Somehow tho' USA always takes advantage of their opportunities which other teams have to learn to do.

As for the penalty today, I loved the tackle; you are right that she should learn to accomplish the same thing, dispossess the ball with more finesse... pity we didn't show the same spirit vs Canada.

pr

Peter R (11/26/2006)We just do not have the infrastructure in place nor the quality competition to develop what we have to the level of the top three.

Having said that, I agree that coaching could help to alleviate some of the problems.

pr
                            I agree wid yuh sah. And come to think of it, we expect miracles with our inadequate facilities and preparation.

I am putting the result so it doesn't show in the subject line as some people get upset with that.

Mex 3 Ja 0 min 58

pr