Dehring next JFF president?

RE: Dehring next JFF president?

[quote]Peter R (11/26/2006)There is something to be said..just ask Warner??? In't he independently wealthy....what kind a fool-fool argument that boss?

Exile, It's simple...Warner was NOT "independently" wealthy when he got into Football... he made his money through Football. Dehring was already a successful investment banker (DB&G) or whatever his title before he got seconded/hired into the role he now has with the WICB etc.

Therefore I reiterate that money is likely not a motivating factor for him in fulfilling an administrator role in sports. Plus, maybe I'm naive but I find him a credible person when he speaks about sport. I do not get the impression of a waggonist who is in it for what he can gain personally.

pr

So Exile, why did Stanford spend mega millions of US dollars on a tournament that didn't make him any money. Notwithstanding that he owns an airlines and hoped to promote it through the venture, he knew ther was no way he could recoup his money through this one-off tournament.

I wouldn't have a problem hiring a man like that as he has already made his fortune before jumping into the sports arena; I would like to think he is now trying to find ways to give back...some people pretend to give like Jack when it's not even his own money but FIFA money him spending.

You cynical bwoy.

pr

So wedohave other smart business men not named Burrell? Hmm!

The edge that Burrell would have over Boxhill (Business not just administrator) he wont Have it over Dehring.

Here is to hoping that someone of the Caliber of mr Dehring steps up to the plate and stops Horace Burrell from buying his way back to the presidency.
          SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Exile dont be stupid, Chris Dehring is not working for the WICB and so their indebtiness (sic) is not his fault.

Did you read the part where he negotiated the biggest ever deal in cricket history? Or did you skip past that one?

As an investment banker he would know what to do with the little money to make it grow.

Spoke to a highly influential KSAFA delegate a few days ago and he said Dehring does have connections to a club in Kingston, would not say which but I am hearing he played some ball with Real Mona at one time.

I am sure KSAFA would back him, I am willing to bet they would, maybe Mosiah can make some calls and find out.

Well ,not circumvent the rules but at least have the rules changed, supposed the EFA was to choose a president every four years, imagine the foolishness that would go on and why would any of the bright people want to put their chances in a popularity contest anyways???

Maybe we need a Board that would choose via interviews etc but then that would open them up to corruption and bribe with baked products SIGH!!!!!

Sickko: The position that Dehring holds with the WICB to organize the World Cup, I am sure it is a paying position. Would he work for "nutten" by becoming the JFF president?
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I did not ask him that but from his tone he sounded as if he knew the rules of engagement and did say he always wanted to give back to sport in anyways he could.

I am sure money wont be a problem for him if he gets elected, he is doing well with the WICB and ICC right now and when BNS buys out DB&G this week he will have more money than he knows what to do with.

My fear is that football will drop the ball and he wont even be on the ballot when the elections are called in July/August in MoBay and cricket will snap him up.

It would make sense now that KSAFA or some other far thinking Confederation would start wooing Dehring and get him in place so as soon as the ICC CWC ends, the system can start rolling.

Wasn't he ever a part of the cricket machinery? Biggest deal? Ok - and he is the only one that coukld have done that - right? All I am asking is to put it all into persepective. The man is no genius - by any stretch - neither is he any financial wizard- he happened to be in the right place at the wrong time.....why do we always look for a new Messiah? There is none!!!!

<DIV>
                          Exile (11/27/2006)why do we always look for a new Messiah?
                          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Who's looking for a new Mosiah? What's wrong with the old one?!?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>:crying:</DIV>

Forgive me for thinking that anyone who really loves the sport and wanted to see it go forward would welcome another option rather than the ones we have now.

Especially give the obvious advantages that this third option has over the other two.

Why so bitter? I cant understand it at all.

As for the 'is he the only one' argument, that is just sad to say the least, we could say the same of the Burrell/Simoes combination that took us to the World Cup in 1998.

Hell who is Deon Burton, Steve Green or Chippy McDonald could have scored all those goals in 1997 as well, right?

Dont be too quick to dismiss a thing before you think about it my youth.

Karl, I was at the Congress when the offer was made to Burrell to head a commitee of former presidnets that would advise the new admin...I guess well all knew what the answer to that was.

Then snake in the grass Happy Sutherland accepted the people them invitation as VP for life...

Give Karl time to come up with a half-decent response.