Portmore United and Transfer Issues

• Portmore United and Transfer Issues

In recent weeks there have been certain inaccuracies reported in the media with respect tothe operations of Portmore United F.C. during the summer transfer window. For the record, the following is a factual account of these activities.

Firstly, the local transfer window started on 1 July 2009 and ends on 31 August 2009. Therefore, any suggestions with respect to the finality of any transfer activities prior to August 31 would be premature and inconclusive.

Secondly, two names in particular have surfaced with respect to alleged wrongdoings on our part. They are, Richard Edwards and Damion Harwood. We will state the facts regarding Richard Edwards first. Mr. Edwards approached Portmore United and expressed an interest in playing for us. As is our customary policy, we instructed Mr. Edwards to speak with his club, Harbour View FC, to inform them of his intentions. Subsequent to those discussions the player then requested that we proceed with his transfer as his contract with Harbour View was set to expire July 31, 2009. The rules and regulations allowing any club to hold discussions with a player whose contract is set to expire within six months is quite clear and unequivocal. Contact and discussions with the player is allowed and no particular permission from his club is needed. However, as a common courtesy, Portmore United held discussions with Harbour View and secured a signed transfer certificate including both the player’s and club’s signature as well as a player contract signed by Mr. Edwards. On August 1, 2009 Harbour View approached Portmore United and asked if we would consider transferring the player back to them. On that same date, the player advised us that he was having second thoughts about his tenure at Portmore and asked if we would have a problem transferring him back to Harbour View. We advised the player that we would not have a problem doing so and all that was left to be done was for Portmore and Harbour View to work out the details. We are confident that these outstanding issues will be addressed and that the player will be transferred back to Harbour View prior to the close of the summer transfer window.

With respect to Damion Harwood, the player approached us in June and expressed his desire to play with Portmore United. Again, we instructed the player to inform his club, St. George's SC of his intentions. Subsequent to those discussions, also in June of this year, we sought and received permission for the player to train with us. We have also been holding discussions with the club about his permanent transfer since that time. In what can only be described as cordial, co-operative and professional discussions, we were advised by St. George's that they would not have a problem transferring the player to us. However, a transfer certificate has not yet been signed.

Thirdly, as is customary prior to the start of every Premier League season, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) assigns a date to each club by which their teams should be registered for the upcoming season. Portmore United was assigned the date of August 4, 2009. Given the nature and tone of the discussions that we were having with St. George's, we were confident that we would eventually sign Mr. Harwood prior to the close of the transfer window (we were simply awaiting the return from an overseas trip of our principal contact with St. George's to finalize said signing). Accordingly, we prematurely attempted to register his name as part of our team. However, it should be noted that primarily on this basis, the JFF acted correctly and did not finalize our registration.
    Therefore, the assertion that we have successfully registered Mr. Harwood or any other player for that matter is flatly an error. We have until the 31st August transfer deadline to finalize these matters and resubmit any outstanding player registration details to the JFF.

Finally, we hope that this has provided some clarity on these matters and we humbly request that members of the public or the media simply take the time to contact us if they have an interest in understanding the facts of any matter relating to the operations of Portmore United F.C.

"On August 1, 2009 Harbour View approached Portmore United and asked if we would consider transferring the player back to them. On that same date, the player advised us that he was having second thoughts about his tenure at Portmore and asked if we would have a problem transferring him back to Harbour View. We advised the player that we would not have a problem doing so and all that was left to be done was for Portmore and Harbour View to work out the details"

Comical to say the least. We are a special set of people placed on this earth. Can you imagine if this was say the BPL and Wigan come back to Manchester United to ask back for Valencia?

"Thirdly, as is customary prior to the start of every Premier League season, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) assigns a date to each club by which their teams should be registered for the upcoming season. Portmore United was assigned the date of August 4, 2009."

I don't understand. If I am reading this correctly, this statement would imply that each club CAN BE/IS given a different date. Why?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

How can they assume everything is ok if they have no contract with Harewood? Something is wrong, how can they try to register a St.Georges player.

HV a play a double standard. How could they not loan or release Jermaine Taylor to play with St.Georges last year when they are entering this kind of deal with Portmore?

As Jackass say the world nuh level at all.

You'll pick up for Portland all the time!

No Mo a just the reality. Look Edwards left HV and could go back to Portmore and say him make a mistake and a transfer done. Why couldn't Taylor be loaned out and HV control the rights? Where in football you teams make disgrunted players sit for a year without playing? Look at the case of Ronaldo and Adriano.

As in the case of Portmore, St. Georges did NOTHING WRONG and didn't run to the press, instead they saw it in the press and was consulted and they pretty much said what Portmore said, but how can an organization like Portmore try register the player when they know the rules?

I have to stand up fi mi fellow Portlander when they are in the right. You never see me supporting them when I think they are in the wrong.
          Last edited by Assasin; August 13, 2009, 02:29 PM.

taylor represented a better chance of getting a farin contract and farin $ transfer fee...iz bizniz!

the fact is a big club/small club issue. Portmore was trying to get Harewood for nothing. In my opinion trying to stick up Georges.

While in taylor case yes he stood a better chance but let him sit and now they will not get a cent. It was better to loan him out and still have the transfer rights.

I may not have it right but I see no sense in sitting the player for a year.

after reading that stuff, I am not sure how you come to the conclusion that Portmore was trying to get him for nothing.

Let's stick to the Edwards/Taylor comparison. However, I have been thru this before and I'm not going to beat this horse some any more.

Check your PM.

I remember a whole bunch of excuses (some were obviously lies) that made no sense when JT was going through his issues. Sounds different from edwards.

Well my conculsion is that it is a stick up. I see no reason why Portmore choose to try and register the player without completing his contract.

Portmore is no one man band club but one of the better run organization.

what excuses? The man wanted fi go back a him yaaard for various reasons.

what were those reasons?

should clubs allow their players to break their contracts willy nilly suh?

Well my conculsion is that it is a stick up. I see no reason why Portmore choose to try and register the player without completing his contract.

Portmore is no one man band club but one of the better run organization.
                            And you think that Portmore thinks they can get him for free?

Nuh him same one talk bout hard fi reach training when the H. View residence deh bout. Him would dead if him was Lovell Palmer then.