Who is the DICKoy Williams
Originally posted by Keegan View Post...having seen the initial question, I opened it up to ask the very same thing. Why is he STILL on the field ?"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I was notfollowing to see Sickko asking anyone to be off. I am on now and ask why the call for the young man. Give reason and let it slide nuh Benjammin? How yuh love confrontation suh! Mi nuh really inna hit wid yuh suh nuh bother wid mi this evening."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
You do not have time to waste. You just love a good quarrel and I am not going to give it to you."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
No, his passes have a tendency to go astray, he gets beaten from some schoolboy tricks and he got a "water-knee" from an attempted clearance in the box that nearly resulted in a goal. That's enough for a substitution in my book. I wouldn't write him off, but I'd have taken a look at another defender.Usain "Lightning" Bolt - 9.58 secs. WR.
Maybe he was overcome by the occasion. Read what was written about him in the Gleaner before the match:
"Just hours before his international football debut for Jamaica last night, Dicoy Williams hardly seemed to notice the darkening clouds gathering outside his hotel here. His focus was on a far greater threat which loomed later at the Giants Stadium.
Williams didn't appear bothered that he was only a late replacement for injured stalwart Tyrone Marshall, or that the opponent Ecuador are ranked 36th and close to booking a place in next year's World Cup finals. He didn't seem perturbed that he had never played for Jamaica at any level before either, or that he has only one full season in Jamaica's top league."
Considerin that it was only a friendly, it was the right time to give people like these match exposure and let them make those kinds of mistakes. Obviously, his inexperience in the big game showed from what I am hearing."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I was at the game last night and I thought the team played prety decent. We were good in spurts and pressured Ecaudor at times. For a young team, I think they did well.
Players who impressed
Morrison - Plays a lot like Tappa, holds up the ball...Think he needs to work a bit more on his vision though...didn't see him play any defence splitting balls.
Dane Richards - Worked hard last night and most of our threats on the Ecaudor goal game through him.
Players who least impressed me
Dicoy Williams - He is very weak. He only plays the ball back to either the keeper or Shavar. He kicked and missed several times and the few times he turned his head and looked forward he gave the ball away
#5 I think Hodges - Really not ready for this yet. I couldn't wait for him to be subbed.
Shelton - He needs to do something son or his career is fast approaching the end
Others
Khari - Don't see him playing ahead of Richard Edwards or austin
Defensive backs- got beat fro speed most of the time...we are going to need imrovement there
It's fine to let him make mistakes and learn, but there is a limit to how many mistakes I would allow one player to make, particularly in a friendly when there are more players eager to get a taste. I'm not trying to end the youth's career, I'm just saying the situation was a bit over his head, so he should have been pulled out. I'm sure he will improve after this game.Usain "Lightning" Bolt - 9.58 secs. WR.
I would be disappointed if they did not let him start in the St. Kitts game. Too many times we kill our players' confidence and their careers. Dicoy was in his debut match, on a weird-bouncing artificial turf field (maybe the first time he was even seeing one?) in Giants Stadium! His quality will come through if we give him a chance. He has blamed his performance on the turf. The fact is, he is one of the more surefooted players in the NPL today!