• Gaynor set to quit Waterhouse

<DIV>Gaynor set to quit
    published: Friday | November 24, 2006
    </DIV><DIV><DIV id=printReady><DIV class=KonaBody>

GAYNOR

BARRINGTON , coach of defending Wray and Nephew National Premier League (NPL) champions Waterhouse, has stated that he will not be returning to Drewsland unless something is done to make it a safer environment for him.

"Right now I have a problem. At the moment I don't feel safe going to Drewsland for training. How can I coach a team when I feel threatened?" Gaynor said.

Various missiles including plastic bottles, cups and stones were hurled towards the National Stadium pitch on Wednesday as fans deemed to be supporters of the outfit fumed after their team's 1-0 defeat to Harbour View.

Their outrage seemed primarily directed towards one man, Waterhouse coach 'Cobra' Gaynor, who they seemed to hold responsible for the loss.

"This needs to be sorted out; something needs to be done," Gaynor, who also saw assistant coach Andrew Williams struck with a <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">stone</SPAN>, said.

"If you continue to sweep this sort of thing under the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">carpet</SPAN> you will trip over it ... nothing has been done about it and that is bad for football," he said

Disappointed

"I am very disappointed that we lost the game, but I am even more disappointed by the reaction of the supporters," Gaynor pointed out in an interview with The Gleaner.

"I really didn't expect it, but I suppose I always knew that it was a possibility. I have been hearing negative sounds all the time, even when we win at Drewsland," Gaynor said.

"They complain some times that I'm mashing up the team, fighting against some people, so I <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">guess</SPAN> I cannot say it comes as a total surprise," the coach explained.

Gaynor, who made his way back towards the tunnel after the <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=Kon

RE: Gaynor set to quit Waterhouse

Mosiah (11/24/2006)<DIV>"Every time something like this happens football loses ... football must be the winner at all times. I cannot continue to coach here unless something is done about the situation, if nothing is done then it will happen again," he (Gaynor)said.</DIV><DIV>
    </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>No, football doesn't lose. The people of Waterhouse lose. Football is fine, and can carry on without Waterhouse!</DIV>

That depends on how you look at it

I could argue that football loses and you could argue your point but I'd bet that I could prove that football loses more and doesnt continue as normal/fine

It is ashame to see it come to this but I understand the coach's position. You cannot choose between coaching and your safety. Safety should win out everytime. I was asked at one point whether I would ever be willing to move back to Jamaica and coach. My response was no as I am not into dealing with the badmanism that comes with Jamaican football. Maybe too simplistic a response but it ishow I feel. I am sure there are much more qualifiedJamaican coaches or coaches of Jamaican descent who feel the same way. - T.K.

<DIV>No need to. Football does lose, to an extent. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Time for Waterhouse to do the right thing!</DIV>

<DIV>Coaching is one thing, but what about refereeing? While a referee here back in the days, I would have to bring along friends for protection and park my car in stragetically convenient spots in case violence, towards me or whatever, breaks out. I should not have to be thinking like that. Many refs in my time were police and soldiers so some had their "product" close by.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>While living in the USA, I saw a pic in a Jamaican newspaper of a referee officiating a match with a handgun in his waist. :w00t:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The JFF needs to demand a certain level of decency from all football clubs.</DIV>

Mosiah (11/24/2006)<DIV>Coaching is one thing, but what about refereeing? While a referee here back in the days, I would have to bring along friends for protection and park my car in stragetically convenient spots in case violence, towards me or whatever, breaks out. I should not have to be thinking like that. Many refs in my time were police and soldiers so some had their "product" close by.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>While living in the USA, I saw a pic in a Jamaican newspaper of a referee officiating a match with a handgun in his waist. :w00t:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The JFF needs to demand a certain level of decency from all football clubs.</DIV>
              Oh yeah....referees are in the worst position yes. Right out the gate people believe your biased and any call against their team will result in all forms of threats. I would never want to be a referee. You are ina no win situation with that job. Yu brave Mosiah!- T.K.

<DIV>More chupidniss from Waterhouse:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>

Waterhouse fans sting 'Cobra' - Club president also threatening to quit <DIV class=KonaBody>

Barrington Gaynor, coach of Waterhouse. - file photos

After seeing a fan stare him in the eye and threaten him over a football match, a frustrated and dejected Barrington 'Cobra' Gaynor told Star Sports he is considering quitting Water-house as coach.

The spectator, standing about 10 feet away said (expletives deleted): "Cobra yuh caan come back a Drewsland. Yuh nuh hear, don't come back a Drewsland."

A section of the Waterhouse crowd hurled stones and plastic bottles after Waterhouse loss 1-0 to Harbour View in Wednesday night's National Premier League end-of-round final. Assistant coach Andrew Williams was cut on the hand by one of the rocks.

"I'm very disappointed with the way the fans reacted," said Gaynor, a former Harbour View assistant coach. "But I saw this coming. They have threatened me before about not picking the right team and that I am mashing up the team."

Unwarranted reaction

The reaction by the fans seem unwarranted since the loss does not affect Waterhouse's lead as they still have a four-point advantage over Harbour View.

Waterhouse president Peter Hibbert said spectator behaviour was discussed before Gaynor took the job and that certain agree-ments were reached. Hibbert did not divulge any of those agreements but said Gaynor is not the only one considering quitting if the lawlessness continues.

"I would not continue as club president under the present situation and I'm sure the other members of the executive share my view," said Hibbert. "My principle does not lend to that kind of behaviour."

The Waterhouse executive is expected to meet soon to discuss Wednesday night's incident.

Coaches have always had a problematic <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">relationship</SPAN> with fans at Waterhouse. The previous coach, Wayne Fairclough, surprisingly quit after leading Waterhouse to the championship last season. He was constantly verbally abused by fans leading many to believe he was fed up with the attacks. Also Geoffrey Maxwell and the late Peter Cargill had their car tyres slashed while coaching Waterhouse, believed to be the act of overzealous fans. Even the club president had his tyres slashed earlier this year.

Gaynor said the latest incident must be addressed by both the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> Football Federation (JFF) and the Waterhouse executive.

Draw a line

"If nothing is

Mosiah (11/24/2006) <DIV>"I would not continue as club president under the present situation and I'm sure the other members of the executive share my view," said Hibbert. "My principle does not lend to that kind of behaviour." </DIV><DIV><DIV class=KonaBody>

Coaches have always had a problematic <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">relationship</SPAN> with fans at Waterhouse. The previous coach, Wayne Fairclough, surprisingly quit after leading Waterhouse to the championship last season. He was constantly verbally abused by fans leading many to believe he was fed up with the attacks. Also Geoffrey Maxwell and the late Peter Cargill had their car tyres slashed while coaching Waterhouse, believed to be the act of overzealous fans. Even the club president had his tyres slashed earlier this year.

Gaynor said the latest incident must be addressed by both the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> Football Federation (JFF) and the Waterhouse executive.

JFF general secretary Burchell Gibson said as soon as the federation gets a report from the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">match</SPAN> commissioner, the competitions committee will meet and decide on sanctions.

"Luckily, the chairman of the competitions committee was also at the match on Wednesday," said Gibson referring to Raymond Anderson.

Gibson also said the competitions committee can refer the case to the disciplinary committee for further sanctions and that although the incident happened within the club, Waterhouse can still be charged for bringing the game into disrepute.
                  Come on Peter Hibbert, this didn't start the other day. Forumites will remember that I have written about the uncouth behaviour at Waterhouse for at least 2 years now.

What is Gibson saying, about the incident happening within the club?!?!</DIV></DIV>

Sad sad sad...suppose they were not in the top three and did not make it to the end of round finals, what would they have done?

Football would lose but Waterhouse would lose even more...how many teams would love to be where they are now- interms of contributions, a good field and good players?

Waterhouse FC has been in the news for too many negatives lately- few weeks ago players were threatening to strike, now idiots (cant call them fans at all) threatening coaches even when they win big????

Is there some thing I am missing here?

Maybe if Peter and his team can find a big coach in Waterhouse then fine....

<DIV>Sickko, suppose what happened to HVFC last season had happened at Waterhouse, where they gave up 15 points towards the end of the season to lose the title?!? Even HVFC had fans that were beginning to say some stupid things about DV when the implosion began, so you can imagine if that had happened at Waterhouse!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>All Waterhouse lost on Wednesday was some bragging rights and JA$50,000. They still lead the tables and will no doubt continue to do well for the rest of the season.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What yuh say yessiday bout casting pearls?</DIV>

Welcome Bora...

I recall Semoes and team were subjected to missiles when team Reggae Boyz began a downward spiral.

Bora is not immune.

All now the police would not find parts of the coach when they finish with them...This is the part of sports I hate, the ignorant few who make it bad for the real sports fans