• Fergie's Liverpool swipe

Fergie's Liverpool swipe

August 05, 2009
    SIR Alex Ferguson has cranked up the pressure on Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez by declaring Chelsea to be the biggest threat to Manchester United's dream of an unprecedented fourth consecutive Premier League title.

Big things are expected of Liverpool this term after their most consistent top-flight campaign since 1990.

Yet Ferguson does not see the Merseyside giants making the improvement necessary to end their championship drought.

“Liverpool had probably their best season for 20 years and still finished four points adrift,” he said.

“It will be hard for them to match last season, let alone improve on it. Other teams will know more about them, so it has to be Chelsea as the main threat.”

Benitez is bound to bristle at such comments, although with Xabi Alonso about to join Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka and Karim Benzema at Real Madrid, it is difficult to see how a Liverpool side whose focus continues to be the axis of Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard can get better.

The arrival of Carlo Ancelotti also brings an unknown dimension to Chelsea, although Ferguson believes the Italian's past record makes him an opponent to be respected.

“Ancelotti will play the Milan way,” said Ferguson. "It brought him two European Cups - it should have been three because they should never have lost to Liverpool, so why should he change?”

That put-down of Benitez's proudest moment as Liverpool manager from Istanbul in 2005 will not endear him to the Anfield club either.

Improve

Fergie also insists there is life at the Reds without Ronaldo and he feels his squad is good enough to cope.

“People have misread our situation and underestimated our ability to improve players,” he said. “We are expecting a lot from Jonny Evans, Danny Welbeck, Darron Gibson, Federico Macheda and the Da Silva brothers (Rafael and Fabio), while Nani and Anderson will improve this season.

“We will miss Ronaldo's goals, that is obvious. But Berbatov will do well this year and Wayne Rooney and Michael Owen are both capable of getting 20 goals.”

In addition, Ferguson is still counting on top performances from his old guard of Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Gary Neville.

Giggs in particular has impressed in pre-season so far, even though he is approaching his 36th birthday.

“People may say they have had their day but that is a pretty dangerous assumption,” said Ferguson.

“Giggs has been out of this world in pre-season. I don't know how he does it. He still has so much energy and an incredible change of pace to go past defenders.”

Is Fergie right? Tell us your views

Fergie's Liverpool swipe

August 05, 2009
    SIR Alex Ferguson has cranked up the pressure on Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez by declaring Chelsea to be the biggest threat to Manchester United's dream of an unprecedented fourth consecutive Premier League title.

Big things are expected of Liverpool this term after their most consistent top-flight campaign since 1990.

Yet Ferguson does not see the Merseyside giants making the improvement necessary to end their championship drought.

“Liverpool had probably their best season for 20 years and still finished four points adrift,” he said.

“It will be hard for them to match last season, let alone improve on it. Other teams will know more about them, so it has to be Chelsea as the main threat.”

Benitez is bound to bristle at such comments, although with Xabi Alonso about to join Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka and Karim Benzema at Real Madrid, it is difficult to see how a Liverpool side whose focus continues to be the axis of Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard can get better.

The arrival of Carlo Ancelotti also brings an unknown dimension to Chelsea, although Ferguson believes the Italian's past record makes him an opponent to be respected.

“Ancelotti will play the Milan way,” said Ferguson. "It brought him two European Cups - it should have been three because they should never have lost to Liverpool, so why should he change?”

That put-down of Benitez's proudest moment as Liverpool manager from Istanbul in 2005 will not endear him to the Anfield club either.

Improve

Fergie also insists there is life at the Reds without Ronaldo and he feels his squad is good enough to cope.

“People have misread our situation and underestimated our ability to improve players,” he said. “We are expecting a lot from Jonny Evans, Danny Welbeck, Darron Gibson, Federico Macheda and the Da Silva brothers (Rafael and Fabio), while Nani and Anderson will improve this season.

“We will miss Ronaldo's goals, that is obvious. But Berbatov will do well this year and Wayne Rooney and Michael Owen are both capable of getting 20 goals.”

In addition, Ferguson is still counting on top performances from his old guard of Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Gary Neville.

Giggs in particular has impressed in pre-season so far, even though he is approaching his 36th birthday.

“People may say they have had their day but that is a pretty dangerous assumption,” said Ferguson.

“Giggs has been out of this world in pre-season. I don't know how he does it. He still has so much energy and an incredible change of pace to go past defenders.”

Is Fergie right? Tell us your views
    Sir Alex Ferguson writes off Liverpool title chances

Times Online

gSiteLife.Recommend("ExternalResource", "6739789","http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/manchester_united/article6739789.ece");Recommend? (2)

Ferguson says Chelsea are the main threat to United

div#related-article-links p a, div#related-article-links p a:visited {color:#06c;} Sir Alex Ferguson has written off Liverpool's chances for the coming season by claiming Chelsea are the main threat to his hopes of winning an unprecedented fourth consecutive Premier League title.
    The Manchester United manager says while he does not think the impending departure of Xabi Alonso to Real Madrid will affect Liverpool, he claims the rest of the Premier League will be wise to their playing style and sees little chance of the club improving on last season's second place.
    Ferguson's mind games have become a hallmark of his reign at Old Trafford and after a season in which he and Rafael Benitez, his Liverpool counterpart, clashed on a number of issues the Scot has stoked the fires once again in the run-up to the new campaign.
    "Liverpool have just had probably their best season for 20 years, finished up with 86 points and still finished four adrift," he said. "It will be hard for them to match that, let alone improve. Other teams will read Liverpool better. The thrust of their team is all about Gerrard and Torres."
    function slideshowPopUp(url){pictureGalleryPopupPic(url);re turn false;}Related Links

In contrast Ferguson spoke in glowing terms about the arrival of Carlo Ancelotti at Chelsea, claiming the Italian's past record at Milan means he is an opponent to be respected.
    "It has to be Chelsea as the main threat. Ancelotti will play the Milan way," Ferguson said. "It brought him two European Cups - it should have been three because they should never have lost to Liverpool, so why should he change?"
    Ferguson went on to say that Cristiano Ronaldo's departure to Real Madrid has placed a greater onus on United's younger players to come to the fore this season.
    "We knew we could never replace Ronaldo," Ferguson said. "No matter what anyone says about the lad, for me he is the best footballer in the world. When you've had someone who is the best at what he does, it is no good trying to find someone to do the same job.
    "And when you know you can't replace someone or something, you look for a different way. People have misread our situation and they have underestimated our ability to improve players. That is an area where we have proved successful in the past.
    "We are expecting a lot from [Jonny] Evans, [Danny] Welbeck, [Darron] Gibson, [Federico] Macheda and the Da Silva brothers. And Nani and Anderson have already shown good things but they will improve next season."

• Email
    var addthis_pub="articletol";

var displayBehaviouralNav = true;Your Comments

3 Comments

(Displaying 1-3)

Order By:

gSiteLife.CommentsOutput("ExternalResource", "6739789",false, 10,"TimeStampDescending"); Report item as: (required) X
    Obscenity/vulgarity Hate speech Personal attack Advertising/Spam Copyright/Plagiarism Other
    Comment: (optional)

Ben Holloway wrote:
    How tiresomely predictable ...
    August 5, 2009 11:30 AM BST on UK-TimesOnline
    Recommend? (2)
    Report Abuse
    Permalink Teresa Keenaghan wrote:
    Any slight chance Liverpool had walks out of the door with Alonso. Sir Alex's is correct, Chelsea are the main threat.
    August 5, 2009 11:23 AM BST on UK-TimesOnline
    Recommend? (1)
    Report Abuse
    Permalink David Furlong wrote:
    For once Fergie and I agree on something - that Chelsea will be the closest challengers to the eventual league champions, who I honestly believe are much more likely to be Liverpool than United. What he fails to realise is that he's not going to get close to the number of goals you need to win a league title in replacing your best player with an old bloke with dodgy knees.
    August 5, 2009 10:55 AM BST on UK-TimesOnline
    Recommend? (2)
    Report Abuse

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

x....yuh have to admit that the transfer activity of liverpool this off season, coupled with their latest preseason performances can in no way have the pools fans brimming with confidence!

1st you up early and no I dont agree .I hoped they kept the squad together and added 2 more players , either an attacking midfielder or striker.

Alonso is gone he will be missed but we have one card that is always playing and that is in Rafa we trust.

Chelsea has done the same , ManU lost 2 key players and Arsenal is always rebuilding .Man City might be in the top 4 .If they dont achieve this Mourinho will be back , well even if they do.I dont trust an englishman with quality players.They just dont have a clue on how to utilise them .Those that do are far and in between , Robson and Fergie and Fergie isnt english.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And Lazie wonders why I call this flaming jacka$$ a punk. Many times, he is right in what he says, but how he goes about it is totally lacking in any class at all. For example, I agree with him that Chelsea and the ********************ters are the main contenders, but woa...show some dignity man.

Liverpool staged the most spectacular comeback in the history of football and he turns around and says Milan should "never have lost it" with no regard to the performance of Liverpool? Wow!

And before Jangle and Lazie start with their foolishness, please I beg unu turn off the spin machine and deal with facts. A blind man can see that this a$$ is a jerk.

They will play tic 4 tac all year, the question is will you be equally critical of Rafa too?
          Fergie

I can understand your disagreement but I dont understand why you use such harsh terms as flaming jackass and punk. Yes, Fergie plays mind games and Rafa does the same in his own way. I am a clear Man U fan (the first to openly declare such on this site back when it was very unpopular to do so) and I respect Fergie, even though I think his antics sometimes are over the top. I am no Rafa fan though I respect him as a good coach/manager. Neither am I a Liverpool fan but I enjoy watching them and any other side when they play good football, even when the good football is to the detriment of my team. However, I dont think Liverpool or any other team or manager should be characterized as flaming jackasses or punks.

I think we can find other descriptors besides these which would indicate our strong dislike or disgust for the behavior or performance of any team or manager.

In most of the media reports, the managers dont even set out to create controversy. The press will take a sound bite out of context or even misrepresent in order to create controversy. Over the past season, it has become especially worse. I have seen sound bites and misrepresentations which have been very unfair to the managers of every EPL team. Then fanz are only too eager to take these and label the managers of their opposing teams with really derogatory terms.

Question for you. Is there anything good about Fergie or his achievements. Is it just because he is plain evil that he has won so much at Man U? Has he done anything, even in the past season, for which you can compliment him? I have been able, at times, to give strong compliments to Rafa, Wenger, Mourinho, Ranieri and others, even though I dont want their teams to be more successful than mine.

Have a good day.

Westman you need to frequent the forum more often. If you did, then you would become so accustomed to Paul's anti-Fergie rants that you would know that he is a "closet" Empire admirer. Don't pay him too much mind. Before season's end he will step boldly from his closet and embrace the Empire doctrine.

On a side note, he does give credit to SAF.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

him don't remember his teams comeback

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                  I can understand your disagreement but I dont understand why you use such harsh terms as flaming jackass and punk.

Question for you. Is there anything good about Fergie or his achievements. Is it just because he is plain evil that he has won so much at Man U? Has he done anything, even in the past season, for which you can compliment him? I have been able, at times, to give strong compliments to Rafa, Wenger, Mourinho, Ranieri and others, even though I dont want their teams to be more successful than mine.

Have a good day.
                  Westman, first of all, I agree that the media twists things. However, what others are quick to characterise as "mind games" by Slurgueson borders many times on bullying by him in my mind. I have said on this forum several times that his accomplishments are irrefutable. There is no question he has had more success than any manager in English football history. Clearly he has managerial skill. I have never said anything different. If that is a compliment, then great. I am only stating what I perceive to be fact based on evidence available to me.

My problem with the man is not his onfield success. I take umbrage at his off field tactics and behaviour. They are sub par and not befitting someone achieving knighthood. One only has to look at the long list of players that have left the club acrimoniously and his subsequent treatment and statements in the press. Tevez being the most obvious latest example.

I also agree that there may be better more appropriate terms to describe his behaviour, and in respect for fellow forumites (except Lazie ), I won't use "the 'j' word" but I will use "bully". It is to my way of thinking an accurate term. Still, as I say that, I know of no better word than "punk" to describe the way he has treated the entire Citeh situation and the Tevez affair. Mark Hughes by contrast (a former United man) has been very collegial and dignified. Maybe he will be soon "Sir Mark Hughes". Certainly, his behaviour is more befitting.

Lastly, there is no other manager that I believe can get away with the antics of Slurgueson. I have been complimentary of Wenger, stating on this forum that I believe he is the best manager in the Prem as he is the only one that has accomplished so much without spending big money; I have complimented Spesh, who while a character, is respected by his players. And of course, I think the world of Rafa but have been critical of his policies and sometimes his behaviour, including the "rant" from last January which I stated at the time was a mistake. Still, that was the "rant" that "wasn't" as the man made a very reasoned and fact-based statement in the calmest of tones.

Anyway, I support your right to support whomever you wish. I don't like your manager but will never argue that he hasn't brought you silverware -that is irrefutable.

You have a good day too

Westman you need to frequent the forum more often. If you did, then you would become so accustomed to Paul's anti-Fergie rants that you would know that he is a "closet" Empire admirer. Don't pay him too much mind. Before season's end he will step boldly from his closet and embrace the Empire doctrine. On a side note, he does give credit to SAF.
                    Jangle - what!!?? Embrace what!!?? Mi would rada u cover me in honey and let red ants go all over mi while strapping a cactus to my backside!! You have been hanging out with Lazie too long!!

At least we share one thing in common this season - we both have (more) reason to dislike Real Madrid now that Alonso defected to the (other) evil empire

Just for the record, Real Madrid is a team I have disliked since the beginning of time, even before Slurgueson came to the latrine. The 4-0 whipping that we gave them last year was a highlight in my 35+ years as a Liverpool supporter. Now you ask: Paul, who you would want to win if RM draw Manu team in the CL? We will have to wait and see - NOT!

YNWA