World Cup to the USA

• World Cup to the USA

Obama lobbies for soccer World Cup tournament to return to U.S.
    Posted: 06:30 PM ET
    President Barack Obama lobbied the head of soccer's governing body Monday for the World Cup to return to the United States.

WASHINGTON (CNN) — President Barack Obama lobbied the head of soccer's governing body Monday for the World Cup to return to the United States in 2018 or 2022.
    Obama welcomed FIFA President Joseph "Sepp" Blatter to the White House for a half-hour meeting, according to a White House statement.
    The president urged Blatter to give "strong consideration" to holding the tournament for global soccer supremacy in the United States after the upcoming World Cups in South Africa next year and Brazil in 2014, the statement said.
    The United States last hosted the World Cup in 1994.
    Obama also thanked Blatter for inviting him to attend next year's World Cup, but stopped short of committing himself, saying he hoped his schedule would allow it, the statement said.
    In addition, Obama thanked Blatter for the gift of soccer balls for his daughters Sasha and Malia, who both play the game, according to the statement.

Noooooooooooooooooooo

Hell yeaahhhh!! Concacaf is due another tournament. Jamaica nuh have enough stadium, Trinidad have stadium but dem too small, MExico is a high risk for swine flu, plus yuh never know when the authorities and the drugists ago kick off .... well, that leave USA and Canada.

Go Usa!!! Go Usa!!!
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Go Usa!!! Go Usa!!!
          Yuh ready for another vibesless WC I see

Guaranteed!

I'd rather take my chances in a swine-flued Mexico ducking bullets from warring drug lords.

Guaranteed!

I'd rather take my chances in a swine-flued Mexico ducking bullets from warring drug lords.
              Well is not all of us good at ducking bullets, like yuh nuh hear wha mi name?

...fully agree with you Lazie.

Oh yeah!

And we will shatter that attendance record once again!

Speaking about attendance. Last weekend was a blockbuster weekend in USA football attendance. Sold out stadia for the Gold Cup Finals and the Chelsea vs Club America.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yeah, it's all about numbers for you. Passion? What's that? Excitement? Can't pay the bills!

Went to several matches at the Silverdome in 94 and outside the stadium not a soul knew what was taking place in their country...Americans in general, do not deserve a WC. We stopped in a bar to take in an early match...we had to ask them to put on the "soccer"; the waitress asked us, "So you guys are really into soccer, who's playing" at least she asked, when we told her it was the WC she had NO IDEA and probably couldn't care less, just making small talk to assure her tip. Sigh. If it's strictly a numbers game I'd rather give it to Brazil two years in a row.

That is the downside to the World Cup in the USA Peter R. You have to admit though that in terms of having the facilities to host the WC, very few countries compare to the USA. Yes, I said it.

I am sure too if you go to some places, you will find many people who might not even have any interest in the American football's Super Bowl.

Moreover, if it were held in the USA, they are going to outsell any other WC hosting country.

The only problem I have with the US now is that they need to learn that the name of the sport is FOOTBALL. And HL, no futbol, as you are not spanish speaking. If we are to call it "futbol", then we might as well start using basquet bol for basket ball and bies bol for base ball etc. It is good to hear some of the younger commentators talk about football though.

I have no desire to see the World Cup come to CONCACAF and go to Mexico. I live in the USA so why should I want to see it go to Mexico a country from which I have derived no benefit. At least people like Mosiah, Bricktop and myself among others can at least be thankful to this country for the college education we received here. I want to hear unun thank Mexico for anything tangible that has benefited you over the years.

I say bring on the World Cup to the USA!!!
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

That is the downside to the World Cup in the USA Peter R. You have to admit though that in terms of having the facilities to host the WC, very few countries compare to the USA. Yes, I said it.

I am sure too if you go to some places, you will find many people who might not even have any interest in the American football's Super Bowl.

Moreover, if it were held in the USA, they are going to outsell any other WC hosting country.

The only problem I have with the US now is that they need to learn that the name of the sport is FOOTBALL. And HL, no futbol, as you are not spanish speaking. If we are to call it "futbol", then we might as well start using basquet bol for basket ball and bies bol for base ball etc. It is good to hear some of the younger commentators talk about football though.

I have no desire to see the World Cup come to CONCACAF and go to Mexico. I live in the USA so why should I want to see it go to Mexico a country from which I have derived no benefit. At least people like Mosiah, Bricktop and myself among others can at least be thankful to this country for the college education we received here. I want to hear unun thank Mexico for anything tangible that has benefited you over the years.

I say bring on the World Cup to the USA!!!
                            Swine flu?

Swine flu? what about it?
                              From what I have been reading, the UK is seeing 100,000 swine flu cases per day. Swine flu may have originated in Mexico, but it is not a Mexico problem alone.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran