World Cup to the USA

"He can have his opinion like Obama on who should host it but that doesnt mean that it is guaranteed to happen."

wasn't that my initial point?

Spain and Italy has had world cup recently so you can count them out, so too France. Plus the Euro is not as strong as the pound.

All others are relative and many people who live stateside would like it be here just to attend otherwise nuff a we a go watch it on TV.

the crowds, well that is one thing...what about the atmosphere in the host cities?

[quote=Assasin;178349

[QUOTE]Spain and Italy has had world cup recently so you can count them out, so too France. Plus the Euro is not as strong as the pound.[/QUOTE]

For the record, Spain last hosted a WC in '82 thats 27 years ago which translates to just under 3 decades. And in Italy's case, 19 years. Thats almost 2 decades. What you do not seem to understand is that hosting a WC has nothing to do with the British pound vs tha Euro. If that was the case, why is South Africa hosting in 2010 and Brazil hosting in 2014? Do you even know what their currency is worth on the World markets?

All others are relative and many people who live stateside would like it be here just to attend otherwise nuff a we a go watch it on TV.
        I'll agree with that. But you will admit also that given the opportunity most will rather be there live in person at the WC rather than view it on the TV.

In financial sense if you collect one Euro and one pound then the pound provide more value in real sense. That is why English team can get players from all over.

When last did England host a World Cup? Compare that to Spain and Italy.

Never put anything past a determined USA. See they soon started hosting cricket games.
            And dem will beat di Windies too!

West Indies want fi host another one?

I want to hear unun thank Mexico for anything tangible that has benefited you over the years.
                WHOA!!! I thank Mextico for my wife of 12 years...cho!!

Tilla, HL:

I do not disagree with all the monetary and infrastructural reasons why the USA should be awarded a WC. However, my point and I read Mosiah to be in line with that thinking, is that OUTSIDE of the stadium, it would be just another 9-5 day in the land of milk and honey....
                  Pedro - all that you say is true. I suspect that it would still be the case in the next world cup hosted here (2018 at best). However, I also suspect that you would find that more americans are aware of the game today than in 1994 and that number is growing, so by then, who knows?

Another important factor is that Americans are changing the way they view sports. The internet is becoming more important than TV and by then (2018+), I suspect it will be a bigger source of news for them. Can better access to information, change this backward football culture? Perhaps not, but as the last hold out to the beautiful game on the planet, more exposure for americans can only help the sport in this country.

I saw Mexico v. Norway in DC, great atmosphere and great game. I think that the point is more appropriate outside the stadium - not many americans get it, but then again, America has 2 dedicated football channels in GOLTV and FSC, nowhere in Europe do you have that. Clearly, there is a market, but a soul? That's something else.

Well if the USA was awarded another WC, they would have the time to build the grassroot support. Trust me, if FIFA said that the vibes was a criteria, then the US would pay people fe dance in the streets. Never put anything past a determined USA. See they soon started hosting cricket games.
                      The vibe now would be different than in 1994 and would improve in 2018, but I still think that the American interpretation of the beautiful game (e.g. the ridiculous conference format in the MLS) is what my biggest beef is...they can't just do it the way the rest of the world does it, they have to change things...and that ain't right.

Americas knowledge of the game has grown , they are aware of the EPL and various leagues around the world , even certain teams and players ,but the majority dont have a clue as to the rules of the game.

MLS is playing its part , a relegation format will come about in the USA , its inevitable.

They do deserve a WC like everyone else.Football doesnt need the USA to grow , the USA needs football to grow locally and globally.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

OK, you are one of the lucky few.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Americas knowledge of the game has grown , they are aware of the EPL and various leagues around the world , even certain teams and players ,but the majority dont have a clue as to the rules of the game.

MLS is playing its part , a relegation format will come about in the USA , its inevitable.

They do deserve a WC like everyone else.Football doesnt need the USA to grow , the USA needs football to grow locally and globally.
                            I agree on all counts and hope you are right on the relegation! That would be a great thing. But remember that money talks. Relegation punishes losers whereas the american sports system rewards it (first round draft picks). Still, while I don't see it happening, I hope you are right.

A relegation system in the USA is not going to be accepted. It is not a part of the sporting culture and I do not see the league adapting to that now or in the near future.

When you look at it that people invest in buying franchises in the league, they did not go in with the possibility of relegation in mind. Moreover, MLS places teams in what it thinks is the most likely market to support the team. With the investment that people and local govermnents have to come up with to get into the league, I do not see a relegation system working.

For example, Kansas City Wizards will be building a new stadium/business complex here in KC. They have acquired an old mall (bannister Mall) which will be torn down to make way for this complex. With all the monies invested plus local government putting in place special taxes to pay for the new complex, how are they going to relegate such a team? It is not going to happen.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Metro stars lucky them nuh have relegation system