• Exits will hit Man Utd - Anelka

Anelka feels Chelsea can give United a real test this season
    Chelsea striker Nicolas Anelka feels Manchester United face a tough defence of their Premier League title without Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez.

United were last stopped from winning the title by Chelsea in 2006 but have lost Ronaldo to Real Madrid and Tevez to Manchester City.

Anelka said of the champions: "I don't think they'll be as strong this season.

"Ronaldo and Tevez have gone and maybe it will give us more of a chance to win the title and be stronger than United."

Ronaldo switched to Real for £80m, while Tevez made the short trip to Manchester City after his loan period at Old Trafford expired.

United, meanwhile, have signed Michael Owen, Gabriel Obertan and Antonio Valencia.

Anelka added: "United are still a strong team and Sir Alex Ferguson is a good manager who knows what to do. We have a strong squad this year and everyone is together, so we'll have a better chance.

"It will be a tough title race. All the teams at the top are very strong and even Manchester City have some good players.

"Because United have lost two big names, it gives everyone else - including ourselves - a big chance to win it. We will fight until the end and see."

606: DEBATE
    Give your reaction to all Manchester United matters here
    Chelsea finished third last season, on 83 points, behind United on 90 and Liverpool on 86.

Meanwhile, United striker Wayne Rooney - who could have something to say about Chelsea's ambitions - is aiming to top the 20-goal mark he achieved last season.

The England star stated: "I have always said I would like to score more goals than the previous season so that is what I am aiming for again this time.

"I am pretty relaxed about things. There are a lot of great players in our team and we know if we all work together then we are capable of achieving great things."

With the Far East leg of their pre-season campaign over, United now meet more meaningful opposition in the Audi Cup in Germany.

Nemanja Vidic and Valencia will both join the squad but the trip has come too soon for Owen Hargreaves, who is continuing his recovery from operations on both knees.

Boca Juniors lie in wait on Wednesday, with either Bayern Munich or AC Milan the opponents 24 hours later.

Yes, we lost Ronaldo, but why people don't think Fergie know what him doing? I wonder why everyone have an opinion about the Empire?

sound like he was suggesting that fergie knows what he is doing.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        sound like he was suggesting that fergie knows what he is doing.
        My comment was in general. Talking to other football fans, reading various blogs and discussion boards, people keep saying Ronaldo and Tevez gone suh the Empire is weaker.

Most of them wasn't aware that Owen scored more than twice the EPL goals Tevez scored last season. One joker on realizing that, tried to spin it to minutes played ... good morning Paul Marin.

My comment was in general. Talking to other football fans, reading various blogs and discussion boards, people keep saying Ronaldo and Tevez gone suh the Empire is weaker.

Most of them wasn't aware that Owen scored more than twice the EPL goals Tevez scored last season. One joker on realizing that, tried to spin it to minutes played ... good morning Paul Marin.
          Good mornin' to you 2 sah , but I think you still sleepin'. Gig-zie, spin!? Come on man. In the last season, Tevez scored 5, Owen scored 8; let's get it straight: 5 > 8/x where x >= 2. Who spinnin' now? Eh? You are the best.

I Stand corrected, I was looking at the wrong season. Yes, he did score 8 EPL goals. Still more than Tevez whom all of you creating excitment over.

With finishes like these ... people start to get concerned. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7hyc...layer_embedded.

I Stand corrected, I was looking at the wrong season. Yes, he did score 8 EPL goals. Still more than Tevez whom all of you creating excitment over.

With finishes like these ... people start to get concerned. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7hyc...layer_embedded.
              Lazie, you may recall that I said that the Owen signing may prove to pay dividends. Early pre-season form shows that this may indeed be the case, especially because Owen knows how to play off a setup man like Berbatov.

That said, you are being UNFAIR (like that alkie manager of yours) to Tevez. His strengths for your club was more than just punching in goals, especially in a team where it made far more sense for Ronaldo and Rooney to be the marksmen than him.

His job was to be the pitbull, especially to create space for rooney and ronaldo. He did this job extremely well. You also forget how crucial some of his goals were in the two seasons he was at united, including two one nil winners in the 07/08 season when you won the league by only 2 points. Unu ungrateful fi true!

Lazie, you may recall that I said that the Owen signing may prove to pay dividends. Early pre-season form shows that this may indeed be the case, especially because Owen knows how to play off a setup man like Berbatov.

That said, you are being UNFAIR (like that alkie manager of yours) to Tevez. His strengths for your club was more than just punching in goals, especially in a team where it made far more sense for Ronaldo and Rooney to be the marksmen than him.

His job was to be the pitbull, especially to create space for rooney and ronaldo. He did this job extremely well. You also forget how crucial some of his goals were in the two seasons he was at united, including two one nil winners in the 07/08 season when you won the league by only 2 points. Unu ungrateful fi true!
                He was out there to score, suh why yuh bringing up him scoring in 1-0 victories? Tevez is now a Man City player, how am I being ungrateful? Because I pointed out he scored only 5 goals? People were hating on Berbatov even when he had more goals than Tevez and was creating many chances for his team mates. Last I checked because of Manu Tevez won 2 EPL championship medals.

His job was to be a pitbull? Really? Isn't that apart of his game? His job was to score or create goals.

DAMN!!!! That was the Berbatov Show!!! Sumblime skill at its best.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I wonder why everyone have an opinion about the Empire?
                    What Empire are you talking about? You mean ManUre?
                    I thought they were the defending BPL champions, but I could be wrong. . .
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

What Empire are you talking about? You mean ManUre?
                      I thought they were the defending BPL champions, but I could be wrong. . .
                      You're wrong about alot of things mi bredren, just like a broken clock, yuh got this one right. People need to be concerned about their own team and low the champions. 3 consecutive titles ... maybe ... just maybe ... Fergie know what him doing.