Trinidad’s Joe Public sign Japanese midfielder

• Trinidad’s Joe Public sign Japanese midfielder

By Shaun Fuentes - Japanese midfielder Yu Hoshide has received clearance to represent Bmobile Joe Public after his international transfer was received by the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League this week.

The 31 year old Hoshide became the first Japanese to sign with a Pro League club after agreeing to a six-month deal with Joe Public last week.

Joe Public head coach Derek King believes that Hoshide will boost his squad in terms of dept as they attempt to capture the 2009 League Championship, FA Trophy, Toyota Classic and a place in the 2009/2010 CFU Club Championship. Public had a fine run in the 2008/2009 Concacaf Champions League, overcoming the likes of MLS' New England Revolution and Mexico's Atlante on the road.

“He(Hoshide) brings some quality to our side,” said King. “He is good tactically and technically, and to win championships you need dept. We have also brought in T&T U20 player Daniel Cyrus to add with the talented Hayden Tinto, Akeil Guavara and Micah Lewis. These are some key players making things happen for us.

“We also have Kerry Baptiste who is leading the goalscorers and a defence that is becoming more and more solid. Players like Keyeno Thomas and Carlyle Mitchell at the back are doing great and to prove this we have only conceded one goal in our last five matches,” boasted the Joe Public coach.

The midfielder played in his native Japan for Kataller Toyama of the JFL from 2000 - 2007 and scored 40 goals from the midfield. In 2008 he headed to the United States and had stints with USL clubs Harrisburg City Islanders and Northern Virginia Royals.

The deal came through after Hoshide contacted former local-based player Fabien Lewis and Socawarriors.net founder Inshan Mohammed who in turn introduced the Japanese midfielder to Joe Public.

Mr. Yu was quite impressive on his first trial with the Pro League title chasers and as a result was offered a short-term contract after positive negotiations with Joe Public general manager Daryll Warner.

http://www.soccer365.com/us_news/story_20709233404.php

How much dem pay him?

I'm sure much better than what most if not all footballers are getting here

Originally posted by Shola View Post
        By Shaun Fuentes - Japanese midfielder Yu Hoshide has received clearance to represent Bmobile Joe Public after his international transfer was received by the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League this week.
        bMobile Joe Public! Why do we discourage such sponsorship of our football teams with this overarching sponsorship system we have for the entire NPL?!? Imagine a Digicel Waterhouse vs a Claro Arnett Gardens! Or a Lime Tivoli Gardens!

I have often spoke about that.

Part of the problem is discipline. When representing these company it means a discipline team and businesslike structure and we intend on keeping the community structure.

That is how nuff of the caribbean operates with company sponsorship including team names.

The discipline can't be much worse than some of these other teams, Sass. If that was the case, why would Digicel risk their name with all the teams!?

there is more structure and discipline at the top and remember this is the first company that is not involved in liquor or cigarrette(don't even mention cashless). There is a reason the major companies are not coming on board.

Last week I heard bauxite company in Clarendon want to form their own team when they have two teams in the NPL.

Most logical CEO nah go put them name pon team that they can't carry their wifes because of badword and ganja smoking and all that goes on.

bMobile Joe Public! Why do we discourage such sponsorship of our football teams with this overarching sponsorship system we have for the entire NPL?!? Imagine a Digicel Waterhouse vs a Claro Arnett Gardens! Or a Lime Tivoli Gardens!
                yes but that has a downside when the sponsors pull out clubs have suffered .. look at jabloteh ..

"...they can't carry their wives because of badwud and ganja smoking...."

Bwoy 'sassin you slew me.
                  Last edited by HL; July 21, 2009, 06:32 PM.

Did I tell you I use to manage one a di best team in suburbia New York?
                    Mi give it up because a di same reason.

A nuh easy thing when you go a game with you wife and man a tell you "go suck yu muma"

a just the plain truth.

That situation is arguably NOT the norm. However, I think what Mosiah is talking about is the principle, or idea of individual sponsorship...there would always be a risk of companies baling... AIG is no longer the sponsor for ManU for example...i

There are quite a few foreigners playing in the TT Pro League. W Connection a few years back had almost their entire starting line up made up of Brazilians. One of them, Seabra actually represented T&T ( his girlfriend /wife is Trini) in a friendly (or two?)...he wanted to play regularly for the national side but he had to wait seven years to qualify for citizenship ( i don't think residency if he had it ) qualified him.

Not sure what he's up to now as I do not follow the league closely.

How much dem pay him?
                          Not sure what his salary is but it must be noted that FIFA Vice-President Austin Jack Warner owns tha club. Its interesting though since they have a sponsorship deal with a wireless carrier.

That situation is arguably NOT the norm. However, I think what Mosiah is talking about is the principle, or idea of individual sponsorship...there would always be a risk of companies baling... AIG is no longer the sponsor for ManU for example...i
                            Tough economic times can cause a situation like tha one with AIG. They werent the only ones that pulled sponsorship from some teams. Teams though can change sponsorship provided they have success brand. Vodafone and Sharp were Man Utd sponsors for a long long time. Arsenal had a major deal with JVC then O2 before they switched and so did Chelsea who was once sponsored by Emirates Airlines before switching to Samsung. There's mega bucks involved in these deals.

Is it a matter of these companies pulling sponsorship or just being outbid by other companies? AIG is a special case since dem did just flat broke!