Lazie...Could this be a case of sour grapes...

• Lazie...Could this be a case of sour grapes...

Fergie says Tevez not worth 25 million - report

Tue 21 Jul, 02:32 AM

AFP/Karim Sahib
    view photo

KUALA LUMPUR (AFP) - Sir Alex Ferguson has hit back at Carlos Tevez, saying the Argentinian striker wasn't worth the 25 million pounds that rivals Manchester City paid for him, reports said on Tuesday.
    The 25-year-old international signed a five-year contract with City after his two-year deal at United ran out at the end of last season.
    Tevez, a fan favourite at Old Trafford, has claimed Ferguson never got in touch to try to persuade him to stay.
    But Ferguson told English dailies in Kuala Lumpur, where United are on an Asian tour, that this was not true.
    "We made contact with Carlos. We sent him texts and spoke to him when he was in Argentina," he said.
    "Our chief executive, David Gill, made an offer to (agent) Kia Joorabchian and we spoke to Tevez before we played Inter Milan (in March) and told him we had spoken to Kia, but we never heard back."
    In the end Tevez went to big-spending City, where he will play alongside Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor next season.
    Ferguson drafted in Michael Owen on a free transfer to replace him, and made clear he felt Tevez was not worth what City manager Mark Hughes paid.
    "In my opinion, I don't think he was worth 25 million pounds," he said.
    "He was popular with the supporters. The fans quite rightly have their heroes and I was happy to go along with the deal as long as it was the right one but, quite simply, he is not worth 25 million."
    Last edited by Warlord; July 21, 2009, 02:44 AM.

This coming from Ferguson who has a history of overpaying for players....

Berbatov - £31m
    Rooney - £30m
    Rio Ferdinand - £30m
    Juan Sebastian Veron - £28.1m
    Michael Carrick - £18.6m
    Owen Hargreaves - £17m

there's more but i wont get into that. If Robinho is worth £33m then Tevez must be worth between £20-25m
    Last edited by Warlord; July 21, 2009, 03:07 AM.

Worth every penny, I have a good feeling this season will be a brusing one for Man U .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Certainly not. I for one have been saying this all along. 25 million fi a man that could only score 5 EPL goals out of 29 EPL games?

Well, that was a really stupid thing for slurgueson to say...now he has given the player extra motivation which is not in anyone but Citeh's interests. Lazie, before you start get hysterical, I am not saying that Slurgueson isn't right, but to say in public? Surely you have to agree that was daft. And just for the record, someone or something is worth what someone is willing to pay for it...for a team like Citeh, he's worth it, for Liverpool, he would have been worth it, but clearly not for Manu-re.

Lazie, you keep saying that he played 29 games. The fair benchmark is minutes played, not appearances. Do you know how many minutes he played versus how many minutes Berbatov played? I'd be interested in seeing his goal production as well as his assists. If you know where I can find that let me know.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
              This coming from Ferguson who has a history of overpaying for players....

Berbatov - £31m
              Rooney - £30m
              Rio Ferdinand - £30m
              Juan Sebastian Veron - £28.1m
              Michael Carrick - £18.6m
              Owen Hargreaves - £17m

there's more but i wont get into that. If Robinho is worth £33m then Tevez must be worth between £20-25m
              You need to understand one thing ... once Manu express interest in a player, their prices shoot up.

Berbatov - £31m - I will agree that he was overpriced. However, Spurs wouldn't reconsider and Fergie wanted Berbatov to improve the team.

Rooney - £30m - money well spent.

Rio Ferdinand - £30m - best CD in the world. Money well spent.

Juan Sebastian Veron - £28.1m - Since the popular talk is that he flopped ... fine he flopped ... is Fergie allowed to make a mistake?

Michael Carrick - £18.6m - When this deal was done I questioned why so much was spent to get Carrick when Zakora could be purchased for less? Well, seeing that Carrick won the EPL every season he has been at MU ... seems like money well spent.

Again, Levy threw out a price thinking MU wouldn't match it and before him could quint after naming his price, the money was on the table. It was because of this why he was so stubborn in the Berbatov deal. 18 million fi Carrick look like a bargain now.

Owen Hargreaves - £17m .. are you for real? Did you see his contribution in his first season? Man can play holding mid, RB, RW ....he takes a decent freekick and penalty. You really expected to play less than that for a man that was winning in Germany? Yuh cannot be serious.

Well, that was a really stupid thing for slurgueson to say...now he has given the player extra motivation which is not in anyone but Citeh's interests. Lazie, before you start get hysterical, I am not saying that Slurgueson isn't right, but to say in public? Surely you have to agree that was daft. And just for the record, someone or something is worth what someone is willing to pay for it...for a team like Citeh, he's worth it, for Liverpool, he would have been worth it, but clearly not for Manu-re.
                With you Fergie is in a damn if he does, damn if he dosen't position. He spoke his mind he is daft ... then the other day you took Jesus off the cross claiming he was a liar.

Give him extra motivation to do what? Run after the defenders? Lets hope he gets on the field.

So if he's not worth it why did Ferguson text message him with the offer for the same amount that Man City did? Smaddy telling a fib

With you Fergie is in a damn if he does, damn if he dosen't position. He spoke his mind he is daft ... then the other day you took Jesus off the cross claiming he was a liar.

Give him extra motivation to do what? Run after the defenders? Lets hope he gets on the field.
                    I thought he made the same offer Man City did? Why make the offer if he isn't worth it? Smaddy a tell lie

Lazie, you keep saying that he played 29 games. The fair benchmark is minutes played, not appearances. Do you know how many minutes he played versus how many minutes Berbatov played? I'd be interested in seeing his goal production as well as his assists. If you know where I can find that let me know.
                      If you got the minutes, you'd find another variable that would be the measuring stick. Gwaan play hopscotch. There is a reason why Fergie has won SOOOOO MANY trophies. Time people watch and learn.

Well lets level the playing field then. Tevez had 3 assists.

Berbatov 31 EPL games .. 9 goals and 9 assists.

So if he's not worth it why did Ferguson text message him with the offer for the same amount that Man City did? Smaddy telling a fib
                        Well when yuh have 80 million fi burn ... yuh buy what yuh nuh need.

Just as I was about to write this, I noticed brickie ketch your man Slurgueson in the same lie i was about to post. As brickie said, Tevez don't worth it but unu was ready to buy him for the 25M...is him tell unu 'bout unu rahtid...lie, lie, lie...that is all Slurgueson know how to do...

"The Premier League champions are understood to have agreed to pay the required £25.5 million fee to purchase Tevez from his economic rights holders and a highly-placed source at the club has admitted that the player has been offered a generous package, with wages in the region of £95,000-a-week, to stay at Old Trafford."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...r-another.html

...and den lie bout it!!!! Unu is di best...no wanda mi call you Gig-zie...you cyan stop spin!!