US Vs Panama - Path uncovered?!

• US Vs Panama - Path uncovered?!

I just could not understand why the US brought the team it did to the Gold Cup and sought to understand it based upon my biased opinion on US ball, but after seeing yesterday's match versus Panama, I understand a few things a lot clearer and it is not good for us or anybody else in the region.

But first let's acknowledge that US is already the dominant country in Concacaf ball that is a given and has been so for about 4-5 years, even the Mexicans can't figure out how to beat them. That is clear for everyone.

Here are the new facts or new realization for me!
    1. US has gone through some 85 plus players since Bob Bradley started coaching the team in May 2007 that is just a touch over two years. He is looking at everyone with potential and trying to obtain the perfect mix of players for the real 1st team, that is still to be decided.
    2. Bob Bradley has the backing of the establishment to the point where what seems like a substandard team can be named with none or little dissent from anybody in US ball or fan base, thus it is clear a wider agenda is on the table and he has full support.
    3. The response of the team after the Panama goal and especially the second half was truly a revelation of what they are trying to build. The US team came out on a mission, the Panama team looked like a different team facing that US aggregation. Bradley owns the psyche and imagination of the players of the team and anyone called to this team, he lit one hell of a fire under them and the scary part was that it was not just an emotianal type fire which can fizzle quickly, like sugar high, but it was a calculated, methodical controlled ramp up to another level of play, the Panamanian had no idea what had changed and what hit them.
    4. The lack of overt retaliation on the part of the US team on clearly obvious "dutty" play by Panama is clearly another message that is being sent internally as well, we will not tolerate any hooligan behaviour or you will be out, something we in Ja still cannot communicate. I saw kicks thumps by Panama that would definitely incite my ire if it happened to me.
    5. The play of Holden, Beckerman and the ringleaders of the effort show that they understand what it takes to make it on the first team and what is being communicated internally of how they should perform.
    6. The commentator kept talking about the superior fitness of the US and as the match went on it favoured the US, so true, Panama looked in the OT as if they couldn't beat their way out of a paperbag. Here again the region is really out of it's element if a top team like Panama cannot get its players ready to play 120 minutes of ball in the premier regional competition, the same is true for all the other teams Jamaica, mex, CR none are ready to step to that level of fitness with the whole team, we JA were playing guys who were not even match ready, that is first half match ready!

Conclusion - The US has clearly established domination of Concacaf and are now on a mission to create a juggernaut of a team to impact any competition they play in by selecting and developing players with an assasin type mentality, fitness, technical correctness, doing the right things all the time, total subjugation to the team concept, no overt focus on individual talent and skill as all their players are bringing a very decent level of this and there is no place for an over reliance on these facets (Adu is out and others like him who believe they bring something unique and indispensable to the team because they are talented and special, kind of like how most of our team feels, thus the poor chemistry and weak motivation)

To select the team they did for the Gcup and commit to it without reservation means they are looking to "blood" new leaders in tough situations and build a more cohesive and dynamic first unit you can see that Beckerman and Holden will bring some steel, imagination and leadership to the mids where it is lacking right now, the vision of US ball is definitely wide and far reaching and the goal is clearly on making a wider impact, thus the Gold Cup is just now an exercise in blooding/defining quality players, can you imagine having the kind of vision, support to do that in this type of tournament.

This team and US ball is clearly looking at taking the next step and it woiuld not surprise me to see a very strong showing in South Africa, they are already seeing that what they have is weak and are taking steps now to look at the total crop and seeing them play through tough situations.

Talk about structure and continuity, they are on the path, my eyes have just been opened.

Stoni, I agree for the most part with all of what you have said. The one lesson we can learn from the US that costs us NOTHING (no money excuse) is professionalism as demonstrated by their lack of hooliganism as you said. The ability for a team to focus their emotions solely on winning is incredibly powerful. It is worth every ounce of energy invested in such development. It is this kind of focus that presumably made the US rebound after going a goal down. We can, but probably won't, learn from that. :-(

Welcome!

...the discipline and TEAM organisation is taught from the 'cradle up'. You over-rate the technical skills. It is what would be found just anywhere. It is the discipline - the commitment to getting to the level of fitness, ability to remain focused, ability to stick to assigned roles...just pure raw TEAM (play for entire length of matches and off the field) that has the USA where they are.

Aside: Let me interject here. Jawge obviously does not know what the school 'football (soccer)' program is about.

No I have not taught in the high schools in the USA...but I have watched coaches at work, Brentwood, New York and my brother - Coral Springs, Florida and seen the structured disciplined play they teach and see the other high schools bring that same disciplined play to the matches.

Watched (my brother work with his 'traveling TEAM) and seen the structured disciplined play the other TEAMs bring to play...

...and I have worked in a private middle school and besides teaching that same TEAM discipline (backed by the school culture of discipline) I also see how the other teams bring that same approach.

The structure and TEAM discipline runs the entire gamut of the system...from the 'cradle to..."...

I also see the creativity that some of the immigrants bring to play even as they embrace the TEAM discipline (Adu has not yet embraced that TEAM discipline. He gives the ball away often while he forms the fool - while goes goes anti-TEAM)

...and I have seen that those creative players are not yet in the USA's senior TEAMs. The day the US with its, as Bradley has proven umpteen numbers of disciplined players, start inserting some of those creative players in their ranks...lookout World!

...our JFF is playing the fool!

Mr Marin,

I have been meaning to yow you upsince you started blogging recently but just have not done that, it has been a long time. I am not sure whether you rememebr my original name Zaidi we worked together on a couple articles back at the start of this whole Reggae boyz thing. Good to see you back.

There are some fundamental changes that can be made to the programme that cost mostly time, organization and discipline I am not sure the guys we have in place can really bring the necessary structure and base to really make this thing work now and 50 yeards from now, like how our competitive athletics program has brought us to this point.

Karl,
          This Gold Cup has been very instructive on the way forward, I have always been an advocate for a hard core German style being adopted, no forced/grafted as the base of our system, focusing on teamwork, discipline, competitiveness, warriors with a heart something we seem to be missing. If a man is not competitive and does not strive to improve then there is no use for any of those on the team, like the two guys that did not make the plane even though they were there in the airport, that behaviour is pure prima-donna.

Anyway I feel like the answer is right there, with a little work, we can take all we have learned, shape it, buld the structure define what we are looking for and only take those that meet the criteria, "a manifesto for structure and continuity" needs to be put together that will create the base for the rest of this century, that is the way we need to be thinking, we just do not have the horses that think like that, is pure hustler we have, dem just a work it short term at best a next world cup horizon that isd as far as it goes.

Big up Zaidi!! How could I forget? Time may pass, but it nah pass me It is incredible that we can excel in home grown programmes for track, but we are so far behind in football. Clearly there is a talent within us, tapping in to it requires a special set of skills that are so far frustratingly elusive. Keep posting.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              I just could not understand why the US brought the team it did to the Gold Cup and sought to understand it based upon my biased opinion on US ball, but after seeing yesterday's match versus Panama, I understand a few things a lot clearer and it is not good for us or anybody else in the region.

But first let's acknowledge that US is already the dominant country in Concacaf ball that is a given and has been so for about 4-5 years, even the Mexicans can't figure out how to beat them. That is clear for everyone.

Here are the new facts or new realization for me!
              1. US has gone through some 85 plus players since Bob Bradley started coaching the team in May 2007 that is just a touch over two years. He is looking at everyone with potential and trying to obtain the perfect mix of players for the real 1st team, that is still to be decided.
              2. Bob Bradley has the backing of the establishment to the point where what seems like a substandard team can be named with none or little dissent from anybody in US ball or fan base, thus it is clear a wider agenda is on the table and he has full support.
              3. The response of the team after the Panama goal and especially the second half was truly a revelation of what they are trying to build. The US team came out on a mission, the Panama team looked like a different team facing that US aggregation. Bradley owns the psyche and imagination of the players of the team and anyone called to this team, he lit one hell of a fire under them and the scary part was that it was not just an emotianal type fire which can fizzle quickly, like sugar high, but it was a calculated, methodical controlled ramp up to another level of play, the Panamanian had no idea what had changed and what hit them.
              4. The lack of overt retaliation on the part of the US team on clearly obvious "dutty" play by Panama is clearly another message that is being sent internally as well, we will not tolerate any hooligan behaviour or you will be out, something we in Ja still cannot communicate. I saw kicks thumps by Panama that would definitely incite my ire if it happened to me.
              5. The play of Holden, Beckerman and the ringleaders of the effort show that they understand what it takes to make it on the first team and what is being communicated internally of how they should perform.
              6. The commentator kept talking about the superior fitness of the US and as the match went on it favoured the US, so true, Panama looked in the OT as if they couldn't beat their way out of a paperbag. Here again the region is really out of it's element if a top team like Panama cannot get its players ready to play 120 minutes of ball in the premier regional competition, the same is true for all the other teams Jamaica, mex, CR none are ready to step to that level of fitness with the whole team, we JA were playing guys who were not even match ready, that is first half match ready!

Conclusion - The US has clearly established domination of Concacaf and are now on a mission to create a juggernaut of a team to impact any competition they play in by selecting and developing players with an assasin type mentality, fitness, technical correctness, doing the right things all the time, total subjugation to the team concept, no overt focus on individual talent and skill as all their players are bringing a very decent level of this and there is no place for an over reliance on these facets (Adu is out and others like him who believe they bring something unique and indispensable to the team because they are talented and special, kind of like how most of our team feels, thus the poor chemistry and weak motivation)

To select the team they did for the Gcup and commit to it without reservation means they are looking to "blood" new leaders in tough situations and build a more cohesive and dynamic first unit you can see that Beckerman and Holden will bring some steel, imagination and leadership to the mids where it is lacking right now, the vision of US ball is definitely wide and far reaching and the goal is clearly on making a wider impact, thus the Gold Cup is just now an exercise in blooding/defining quality players, can you imagine having the kind of vision, support to do that in this type of tournament.

This team and US ball is clearly looking at taking the next step and it woiuld not surprise me to see a very strong showing in South Africa, they are already seeing that what they have is weak and are taking steps now to look at the total crop and seeing them play through tough situations.

Talk about structure and continuity, they are on the path, my eyes have just been opened.

The irony of your article is that with all that Bob Bradley has done and continues to do for the US national team, The vast majority of US fans are not happy with his style of play and he is heavily disliked by fans, coaches and some sections of the media. But I do agree with your assessment about the US team. They have definitely been the best team in Concacaf for the better part of the last 7-8 years. They have the best psychologists, fitness coaches and the like. Are they tryna to make the step up from Concacaf? I think they've been doing it since the last decade. Case n point just look at their constant Confederation Cup appearances over the last decade. Not only that they have also been to a few Copa America cup tournaments in South America too. By playing against these types of opposition, their players have been getting alot of international exposure and gaining some good experience while CFU and UNCAF squads can only sitback and watch. The US has made it quite clear in no uncertain terms that their level of play is above what the rest of Concacaf offers. They've gone from strength to strength and progressed quite nicely since '98.

an abundance of talent?

Karl,
                  This Gold Cup has been very instructive on the way forward, I have always been an advocate for a hard core German style being adopted, no forced/grafted as the base of our system, focusing on teamwork, discipline, competitiveness, warriors with a heart something we seem to be missing. If a man is not competitive and does not strive to improve then there is no use for any of those on the team, like the two guys that did not make the plane even though they were there in the airport, that behaviour is pure prima-donna.

Anyway I feel like the answer is right there, with a little work, we can take all we have learned, shape it, buld the structure define what we are looking for and only take those that meet the criteria, "a manifesto for structure and continuity" needs to be put together that will create the base for the rest of this century, that is the way we need to be thinking, we just do not have the horses that think like that, is pure hustler we have, dem just a work it short term at best a next world cup horizon that isd as far as it goes.
                  I agree with your general philosophy... but we don't need to go to Germany to acquire examples of discipline, teamwork, competitiveness or a warrior mentality.

It is time for Jamaica to look within for solutions... we already have them! We just don't realize that as far as football is concerned.

Track is our shining example and inspiration... football needs to learn from that.... with the necessary adjustments of course.

Karl,

You are correct, sir!
                    It is right there before us!
                    ...now if we only can find those who will "do"?!

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                      The irony of your article is that with all that Bob Bradley has done and continues to do for the US national team, The vast majority of US fans are not happy with his style of play and he is heavily disliked by fans, coaches and some sections of the media. But I do agree with your assessment about the US team. They have definitely been the best team in Concacaf for the better part of the last 7-8 years. They have the best psychologists, fitness coaches and the like. Are they tryna to make the step up from Concacaf? I think they've been doing it since the last decade. Case n point just look at their constant Confederation Cup appearances over the last decade. Not only that they have also been to a few Copa America cup tournaments in South America too. By playing against these types of opposition, their players have been getting alot of international exposure and gaining some good experience while CFU and UNCAF squads can only sitback and watch. The US has made it quite clear in no uncertain terms that their level of play is above what the rest of Concacaf offers. They've gone from strength to strength and progressed quite nicely since '98.
                      ...their players, their coaches, their administrators and their 'all-country system'!