Pre-season training in Jamaica

• Pre-season training in Jamaica

Every summer we see clubs in the top European leagues journey to far away lands for their pre-season training and to promote and expand their fan base. Manchester United is in Asia while Barcelona heads to the USA. I think it is about time that the JFF, who is responsible for football in Jamaica, takes the necessary steps to bringing some of these teams to Jamaica. If we can bring the biggest names in entertainment to our shores, why can't we do the same for football. It seems that there is a vacuum of ideas and leaders in Jamaica's football. Captain Burrell seems to be heading back down the same road that he was on before he got voted out of power. Personally, I was expecting more from the Captain the second time around.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A bit unfair, I dont think it is up to the JFF alone but the government and private entities that should get involved to make it happen.

I know of a fact in the past there was some move to get New castle and Darby here for preseason but it broke down at the last minute and one of the big things were that there were no decent fields in western jamaica for them to train and have pre-season games.

I know of one plan that i dont even want to get into where certain teams could make western jamaica their pre-season home but that would include other real estate investments- if you get my drift.

I know the talks started but the global financial meltdown aslo helped to end those talks near to the begining.

And which team will these european professional overseas team play against?

Do you think It will be a financially viable venture for the Europena and the JFF?

What about football field?

Thanks in advance.

oh, and i think Everton will play MLS All-stars. you leff that out.

We have the Trelawny stadium that can be utilised plus the teams can be bussed to the national stadium. The JFF must lead the way with the help of the others that you mentioned.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

and where them a go practise and play?

I remember when Manu came in the 80's to play a game in the stadium how they complained about the field.

In order to achieve this it would have to be a caribbean effort with Trinidad, Barbados and at least one other country involved and we have to have better training facilities.

other teams can be invited and hosted. They can play a DPL or a Caribbean all-star team. Mexican teams can be invited. I don't think that most of these European teams are too concerned about getting "serious" competition in their pre-season warm ups.

thankx

now what about the financials?

Everything needs to be planned in advance with one aim. I am not saying that it should happen next year, but th iniative needs to take place.

What about it?

As me say some may not remember when Manu came but it could be feasable for a team like Aston Villa, Stoke City etc. It doesn't have to be Manu or Chelsea.

Remember a few years ago appleton was trying to make it happen for Bolton?

fields are an issue. wassup with the uwi project?

Every summer we see clubs in the top European leagues journey to far away lands for their pre-season training and to promote and expand their fan base.
                        Apart from the getaway value of the trip to these teams, what does Jamaica have to offer these teams in terms of fan base expansion? From a population of just under 3 million people, how does this compare to these teams traveling to Asian countries or the USA with much larger populations to support the tours as well as better facilities? I do not think these teams are just going for the sea and sun, there is more to it than that.

I am not saying it cannot work, but I am sure you can see the many reasons why a team like Barca, Milan, Inter, Chelsea or ManUre would think of Jamaica as top of the list to go for pre-season training and warm up games.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

nuh look pon it so. Manu came to Ja before.

If a team is coming to Jamaica it could be a caribbean tour say Jamaica, Cuba, Trinidad, and can add one or two central American countries.

It doesn't have to be commercial. Some of these teams take vacation break on the south of France, Dubai etc. They may just want to enjoy a week or two with very light training.

Real just went to Ireland and I doubt it was about marketing as they could have chosen a much bigger country.

Plus they sometime travel during the Christmas breaks to warm climate. It's not always about the financial returns.

What is that brand new (to me) looking stadium I saw in MoBay?...on the way out of town going in the Lucea direction.