• Lazie, this is what Karl is saying re: Talent in Abundance

Published on: 14th July, 2009.....20 views
    Book on Jamaican Athletics Launched in London | read this item

Related News
    • No Related Post

London – The latest edition of Justice Patrick Robinson’s book on Jamaican athletics, had its official United Kingdom (UK) launch at the Jamaican High Commission on Monday in London.

"I acknowledge in the book that Jamaica is blessed with natural talent. However, I totally reject the thesis that our success is either wholly or mainly due to that factor. In fact, the book makes the point that Jamaica’s outstanding performance in global athletics is due to the intellect, foresight, administrative and managerial skills and the generosity of a unique band of individuals who have worked to establish the foundation for Jamaica’s success in athletics," he said.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Is this addressing football?

No, but the same applies. Those many talented runners can be easily placed in a football environment to succeed.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No, but the same applies. Those many talented runners can be easily placed in a football environment to succeed.
        Yuh move from NY? Are you living in Amsterdam now?

huh?

huh?
            Well, dah post deh gave the impression you were high. Its not good to post under the influence yuh nuh?

Athletics is one thing ... football is an entirely different beast.

why? if the talent is there and it is not nurtured, what good is the talent?! we are talking about TALENT...

No ... I'm talking about Abundance of talent. We have some talent ... abundance ... now thats a myth.

ok..the the reason that you have come to the conclusion that there is no TALENT in abundance (despite what barnes has had to say) is that....what?

Wait .. JB did say we have an abundance of talent? Obviously he just had a joint before saying that. By the way, what unuh call talent? Watching Luton who is supposed to be one of our better forwards, I saw that his control is poor, his passing is poor cannot beat a focking egg muchless beat an opponent .. please. If he is one of the best ... what does that say about the pool of talent y'all claim exist?

ok..i see.

one last question is talent the same as technique and technical ability? btw hodges/shelton...hodges should go in my opinion. but i digress....is technical ability tantamount to talent in your humble opinion.

Wait .. JB did say we have an abundance of talent? Obviously he just had a joint before saying that. By the way, what unuh call talent? Watching Luton who is supposed to be one of our better forwards, I saw that his control is poor, his passing is poor cannot beat a focking egg muchless beat an opponent .. please. If he is one of the best ... what does that say about the pool of talent y'all claim exist?
                        Lazie: Do you remember me saying he was not one of our best? ...that he was a very poor player...with great speed and stats that were excellent?

I also questioned the knowledge of the selectors. I think I said the following - These guys do not know the game; what i am looking for in a player must be far different than these selectors; the man is anti-TEAM; he plays for the other TEAM as he gives the ball away too often; we play with 10 and the other TEAM has an extra man when Shelton is on the field...(or some such number of things)...

...so it comes down to...back to what I have been saying the lack of good - 'teachers' and administrators?

You could have the greatest of talent...but if it is not nurtured - 'zilch' is the result!

ok..i see.

one last question is talent the same as technique and technical ability? btw hodges/shelton...hodges should go in my opinion. but i digress....is technical ability tantamount to talent in your humble opinion.
                          Wait, am I to understand that any drunkard that walk on a football field is considered a talent? As I see it, if a man cannot control, pass, shoot, head etc ... how is he to be regarded as a talent?

i take that your answer is YES technical ability = talent? i have to ask because you have directly answered my question....

if

i take that your answer is YES technical ability = talent? i have to ask because you have directly answered my question....

if usuain