Man City confirm Adebayor talks

• Man City confirm Adebayor talks

Manchester City manager Mark Hughes says the club are in negotiations to sign Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor.

"There have been discussions and there is possibly a deal to be done but nothing has been concluded," Hughes said at the unveiling of Carlos Tevez.

Togo international Adebayor is believed to be on sale for about £25m after three-and-a-half seasons at Arsenal.

The 25-year-old, who scored 16 times for the Gunners last season, has also been linked to AC Milan and Chelsea.

Speaking at the press conference to announce the signing of the Argentian striker, Hughes admitted that there could be more arrivals at the big-spending club before the start of the season.

"It may well be that opportunities will present themselves. We still have areas we want to strengthen," he said.

Hughes also refused to rule out a possible move for Chelsea captain John Terry.

"I have fantastic respect for John Terry, ever since I saw him as a young player when I was at Chelsea as a player myself.

"He's a great player and an outstanding captain. But he's very much a Chelsea player at this moment in time.

"I have huge respect for him. I think any manager would covet a player of the type of John Terry, but at this moment in time he's a player for Chelsea so we have to respect that."

City are intent on building a new-look attack and as well as Tevez have also added Paraguayan Roque Santa Cruz to their ranks this summer, having signed Craig Bellamy last season.

The Eastlands club are eager to break into the Premier League's top four this coming season and have shown their determination with their close-season spending.

Midfielder Gareth Barry was bought from Aston Villa, and from under the noses of last season's Premier League runners-up Liverpool, for £12m and City paid Blackburn about £18m for Paraguay international forward Santa Cruz.

City completed a deal for Tevez on Tuesday - the Argentine joining after City paid a fee of around £25m to secure his registration from third party ownership after his contract with Premier League champions Manchester United expired.

And if Adebayor also makes the switch to Eastlands, City will have captured players from three of the top six clubs in the top flight last season.

In Adebayor, City would be buying a player who has scored 62 goals in 142 appearances for Arsenal since he joined from Monaco for £7m.
    He hit 30 goals in the 2007/08 season but struggled with injuries in the last campaign and also incurred the wrath of some Arsenal fans who felt the striker lacked commitment.

With the influx of big-name players at Eastlands comes a new challenge for manager Mark Hughes, according to former Manchester City player Dennis Tueart.

He told BBC Radio 5 Live: "The big challenge for managers now is to manage extremely wealthy young men, who do not need to work beyond their football careers.

"How does that affect their psyche and professionalism? These are things that the manager has got to sort out."
    Last edited by Karl; July 14, 2009, 03:07 PM.

Video:
    Carlos Tevez is presented as a Manchester City player whilst Mark Hughes also finds time to discuss Emmanuel Adebayor and John Terry.
    http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid13706332001?bclid=0&bctid=29438854001

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

JAMIE REDKNAPP: Why John Terry is vital to Mark Hughes' Manchester City mission

By Jamie Redknapp
      Last updated at 2:24 AM on 14th July 2009
      Friday morning was always defence versus the attackers. We would have the best players, the heroes, the flair boys. And the defenders would win nine times out of 10. If you can't defend, you don't win matches, even training-ground kick-abouts.
      Manchester United kept 38 clean sheets in all competitions last season, which explains why they won the title (they had 11 1-0 wins in the Barclays Premier League alone). So there's the evidence. Yes, they had quality in attack, but their title pursuit was built on the back four and goalkeeper.

Key men: After capturing Carlos Tevez, City have now switched their attention to John Terry and Emmanuel Adebayor - but signing Terry is vital to their mission

Manchester City's all-star line -up of strikers looks impressive - more than that, it looks electrifying - but they have to build a defence, or else it will be the Real Madrid galacticos reborn; lots of goals and nothing else to show for it. In seven of the last 10 years, the team who won the title have also boasted the best defensive record.

More...

It's why Mark Hughes wants to sign John Terry. If he is successful in taking the Chelsea captain, it will represent a shift in power - and then City will have to be taken very seriously as title contenders.
      All the top three - Manchester United, Liverpool and Chelsea - have defensive kingpins. Signing Terry would be City's 'Claude Makelele moment', the deal that shows that they mean business.
      Chelsea suddenly find themselves knocked off their perch. Before, they were the big boys in the playground. Now City are bullying clubs with their financial clout. Terry is Chelsea's heartbeat. If he is sold to City, that will see a power shift.
      The news yesterday that they have completed the signing of Carlos Tevez and are plundering Arsenal for Emmanuel Adebayor leaves us all wondering how Hughes will accommodate his forwards.
      Unless he is planning to reintroduce the fatal Ossie Ardiles front five that took Tottenham precisely nowhere, how do you make it work between Robinho, Craig Bellamy, Roque Santa Cruz, Tevez, Adebayor and Shaun Wright-Phillips? Even if you play three of them, that's three with the hump!

Latin beat: Roque Santa Cruz, Robinho and Tevez (R) would have been expected to lead the line for City - but what now Adebayor is set to enter the equation?

These days, players don't go knocking on the manager's door. They send their agents straight in to the owners and it immediately creates a divide, with the pressure increasing on the manager.
      Most players, despite the salaries, want to play. Bellamy, for instance, loves his football and will be a divisive character around the dressing room if he has no release for his energy when Saturday comes.
      Decision time: Hughes faces a selection headache over how to accomodate his all-star list of strikers

Apart from the League Cup, City will have few midweek games, either. So no resting players for Europe. They have a squad for the Champions League, but no Champions League fixtures.
      Until yesterday's swoop for Adebayor, I could see Tevez and Robinho as foils for Santa Cruz in an all-South American front three - a line-up that would have pace and height and the all-action Tevez to muck in away from home, when one or two of their players usually go missing.
      Now, I see a lot of entertainment, a team-sheet packed with attacking superstars but holes to plug at the back. Opponents will just suck them in, hit them on the counter and race into their back four at will.
      It's why the potential signing of Adebayor is exciting but the hoped-for signing of Terry is on a different level entirely.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1199488/Chelseas-John-Terry--Arsenals-Emmanuel-Adebayor--vital-Mark-Hughes-Manchester-City-mission--JAMIE-REDKNAPP.html;jsessionid=8839B9D09EE9A9CAB6F1AACB7 BAD5545#ixzz0LGEAKpFO&C
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Easy yuhself Jangle ... hold a beer because we gonna see the self destruction of Man City. There is also Calcedo and Benjani there as forwards. I'd love for JT to go there. He will be exposed for the fraud he is since there will be no Carvello to cover up his mistakes.

My guess is that JT won't go.

Manchester City manager Mark Hughes says the club are in negotiations to sign Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor.

"There have been discussions and there is possibly a deal to be done but nothing has been concluded," Hughes said at the unveiling of Carlos Tevez.

Togo international Adebayor is believed to be on sale for about £25m after three-and-a-half seasons at Arsenal.

The 25-year-old, who scored 16 times for the Gunners last season, has also been linked to AC Milan and Chelsea.

Speaking at the press conference to announce the signing of the Argentian striker, Hughes admitted that there could be more arrivals at the big-spending club before the start of the season.

"It may well be that opportunities will present themselves. We still have areas we want to strengthen," he said.

Hughes also refused to rule out a possible move for Chelsea captain John Terry.

"I have fantastic respect for John Terry, ever since I saw him as a young player when I was at Chelsea as a player myself.

"He's a great player and an outstanding captain. But he's very much a Chelsea player at this moment in time.

"I have huge respect for him. I think any manager would covet a player of the type of John Terry, but at this moment in time he's a player for Chelsea so we have to respect that."

City are intent on building a new-look attack and as well as Tevez have also added Paraguayan Roque Santa Cruz to their ranks this summer, having signed Craig Bellamy last season.

The Eastlands club are eager to break into the Premier League's top four this coming season and have shown their determination with their close-season spending.

Midfielder Gareth Barry was bought from Aston Villa, and from under the noses of last season's Premier League runners-up Liverpool, for £12m and City paid Blackburn about £18m for Paraguay international forward Santa Cruz.

City completed a deal for Tevez on Tuesday - the Argentine joining after City paid a fee of around £25m to secure his registration from third party ownership after his contract with Premier League champions Manchester United expired.

And if Adebayor also makes the switch to Eastlands, City will have captured players from three of the top six clubs in the top flight last season.

In Adebayor, City would be buying a player who has scored 62 goals in 142 appearances for Arsenal since he joined from Monaco for £7m.
            He hit 30 goals in the 2007/08 season but struggled with injuries in the last campaign and also incurred the wrath of some Arsenal fans who felt the striker lacked commitment.

With the influx of big-name players at Eastlands comes a new challenge for manager Mark Hughes, according to former Manchester City player Dennis Tueart.

He told BBC Radio 5 Live: "The big challenge for managers now is to manage extremely wealthy young men, who do not need to work beyond their football careers.

"How does that affect their psyche and professionalism? These are things that the manager has got to sort out."
            The deal is virtually done,he's got his work permit hearing tomorrow so he will be a Man City player by Friday.Me like most Arsenal fans cant wait to see the back of him.

My guess is that JT won't go.
              You may be right since Man City won't be playing CL or UEFA Cup football.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                The deal is virtually done,he's got his work permit hearing tomorrow so he will be a Man City player by Friday.Me like most Arsenal fans cant wait to see the back of him.
                .. and I think y'all will regret it.

WOW !! Cant understand that move from a Gunners perspective. Selling him to a team that is gearing up to compete for a top 4 place ? !!

then again In Wegner we trust !!...

Well I guess Lazie and Jangle side will be around 5th this season then.

Question: Has it ever happened in the EPL where the defending champions finish outside of the CL places ?

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                      WOW !! Cant understand that move from a Gunners perspective. Selling him to a team that is gearing up to compete for a top 4 place ? !!

then again In Wegner we trust !!...

Well I guess Lazie and Jangle side will be around 5th this season then.
                      After winning 3 times in a row ... its possible them boys getting bored. By the way ... name 1-4? Note if Manu come 5th, Liverpool's best position will be 6th.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                        Question: Has it ever happened in the EPL where the defending champions finish outside of the CL places ?
                        Well, Paul Marin and Xcuse may help .... wait ... no ... they've never won the EPL. Well then, check Arsenal and Blackburn record.

After winning 3 times in a row ... its possible them boys getting bored. By the way ... name 1-4? Note if Manu come 5th, Liverpool's best position will be 6th.
                          Seems that you have the Xcuses all ready for the season. Pre season dress reheresal !!

Liverpool 6th ? ...possibly !!
                          Last edited by Twan; July 15, 2009, 11:12 AM.

i seem to recall leeds being relegated but still had a UEFA spot ...anyone remembers?

Well, Paul Marin and Xcuse may help .... wait ... no ... they've never won the EPL. Well then, check Arsenal and Blackburn record.
                              Lazie as requested:

1. Arsenal
                              2. Chelsea
                              3. Man City
                              4. Liverpool