• Stewart booted from Gold Cup squad

Stewart booted from Gold Cup squad

IAN BURNETT @ THE CONCACAF GOLD CUP in the USA
    Sunday, July 12, 2009
    Miami, USA - Jamaica's national senior team defender Damion Stewart was booted from the CONCACAF Gold Cup squad here last evening by the coaching staff for what they said was the player's "constant breaching and challenging of team rules, which was seen as disruptive and inconsistent with general objectives of the team".

However, the player in his defence yesterday just prior to his departure from the team hotel to the airport, told the media that in addition to doing nothing wrong to be sent home, he was not given a hearing to defend himself from the charges.

According to a statement from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), the "coaching staff of the Jamaica national team has taken a decision to withdraw defender Damion Stewart from the squad currently participating in the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States".

The JFF release quoted head coach Theodore Whitmore as saying: "Damion never gave us the impression that he was focused and wanted to be a part of the team and how it operates. He questioned and challenged everything even team tactics. Even his teammates were not pleased with his behaviour and general attitude.

"I have tried to keep him in line, but he has not shown a willingness to change. We cannot have a situation where the team is damaged because of the selfishness and indiscipline of one man," Whitmore said.

During the one-week pre-Gold Cup camp in the Cayman Islands, Stewart was among a group of players fined for breaches. He and Jermaine Johnson were also fined heavily for missing the flight from Jamaica to Miami at the start of the Gold Cup tournament.

But the player challenged the coaching staff's charges against him and how the situation was handled.
    "I am just trying to clear myself to let the public know that I didn't feel like I did anything wrong to be going home," Stewart, 28, said, before adding that he was hurt.

"Well, definitely, it is the ultimate insult, and I am not going to tell you that I'm not feeling bad. I'm feeling very bad right now because every time I put on the shirt, whether I'm playing idle football or even friendly football, I always give my all, especially when I'm playing for Jamaica, so I don't see how on earth they could draw that conclusion that I don't want to be here. That surprised me," he said.

The Queens Park Rangers fans player of the year and players' player of the year explained that at about 11:20 yesterday morning he went to the room of the head of delegation Bruce Gaynor to collect his per diem, when he was made aware of his fate.

"Well I was told that I didn't look like I was interested or I didn't look like I wanted to be here. That's the reason I was given to say that I was going home... at about 11:21 today, which is when aI went there to collect some per diem from the head of delegation.

"I saw like the vice-president, Mr Anderson (Raymond), the coach and head of delegation, and they said that the coach has come to a decision to send me home. At that point they told me that I was going to be on the 1:30 flight, so I told them that that was a little bit too quick for me, so I would need a later flight."

The player said he requested a private meeting with the coach in order to get a clearer idea of what his crime was supposed to be. He said the coach told him that he didn't look like he wanted to be here along with "other stuff", without elaborating.

Stewart, popularly called 'Stew Peas' added that they were joined by the assistant coach Bradley Stewart and during that argument, the issues of him being fined in the Cayman Island, as well as being heavily fined for missing the flight to Miami came to the fore. He also claimed that he was told that he questioned everything that the coach asked him to do, and that he should just follow instructions.

But he said he informed them that he was an opinionated person. "It didn't matter what I said. They had already made a decision that I would be going home, because even in the meeting with the coaches they are saying whatever the coach says you do, you don't follow instruction, but I told them I'm a very opinionated person, and if I have an opinion I am going to share it. We are not robots, nor programmes, so that's just me, that's who I am."

The player argued that after being given the captain's armband in the Cayman Islands and then starting in the first two games of the Gold Cup, he was surprised to find himself banished to the grandstand for the game against El Salvador, before an ankle injury to Claude Davis gave him a reprieve.
    Last edited by Karl; July 12, 2009, 09:44 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

'Tappa' smiles again, awaits Cup fate

Sunday, July 12, 2009
    Miami, USA - Jamaica's head coach Theodore Whitmore admits it was good to have a smile back on his face after the Reggae Boyz scraped by El Salvador 1-0 to finish third in Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament here on Friday night.

Striker Omar Cummings of the Colorado Rapids in the Major League Soccer (MLS) finished off a Luton Shelton cross on 70 minutes to give Jamaica the all important goal that placed them ahead of their Central American rivals.

Both teams finished on three points and goal difference (minus one), but Jamaica claimed third place by virtue of having more points between the two teams. Canada won the group with seven points, ahead of Costa Rica on four.

The Boyz are now hoping they can advance to the quarter-finals as one of the two best third-placed teams. Yesterday's Group B and today's Group C contests will determine their fate.

"It's a nice feeling to return to winning ways," Whitmore beamed at game's end. The former Reggae Boy star was also quick to point out that Jamaica did not deserve to be in the position they were in prior to their victory over El Salvador.

Now he's hoping the team gets the chance to advance and the players show what they're made of.
    "After two losses, coming into the third and final game we were very disappointed. We didn't deserve to be in this position that we were in, but that's a part of football. We only hope something can happen for us and we could move on in the CONCACAF group and show our true potential. So we are just here and hoping everything goes well," he said.

According to Whitmore, it was a total team effort. "We firmed up our defensive part of our game, we threw people into attack who can use the ball well, but overall I think it was a team effort."

He singled out veteran Tyrone Marshall, who was returning to his alma mater, Florida International University (FIU), for the first time in many moons.

"Tyrone Marshall has always been an integral part of our national team. He commands the sort of respect. He wanted to come back here and prove and enjoy his ballgame and you could see it. Tyrone is a good... master in the Jamaica defence," he said.

But Whitmore still rued the number of chances the team continues to miss. "We're still missing a number of chances; we could've easily put away three, four goals...," he said.

Meanwhile, Cummings was happy with the goal that gave his side victory. "It started on the left flank with Luton getting the ball. Once he beat his man inside I just tried to cheat a little bit across my man and he saw me, slipped the ball in and I got a foot on it."

The three were cautioned in Friday's game, to add to those of Johnson and Thompson in the first game against Canada and Marshall against Costa Rica.

The players were given yesterday off, and will return to practise today in case they advance to the next phase. If the team doesn't advance, then it returns home tomorrow.
    Last edited by Karl; July 12, 2009, 09:48 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

this is unortunate for several reasons...not including the apparent hand holding at the airport...seriously though, there should be room for players to voice an opinion and at the same time, having voiced the opinion, if the coach chooses to go in another direction the player should follow instructions.. as for the opportunity to be heard, i can see a situation where it would not be productive. at this time..but there should be a meeting soon between the player and management.

there is os much that we do not know however

While I support what you are saying Stew Peas can't blame nobody but himself. He was fined in Cayman along with Fuller for breaking team rules(I assume going out), he missed is flight at the airport and was fined. Stewart confessed that he was opinionated. As a part of a team there is a time to be opinionated and a time to shut up and listen to your coach and if he is constantly doing that he is disruptive to the team.

I have however advocated that the players need to form their own representitive group. I am very disappointed with the elders in the team as they don't provide the leadership they should.

Isn't ironic that most of these player giving problems are the same ones Simoes dropped?

No big deal .. the rest of the delegation may well be on their way home tomorrow.

and if they are not, is it a big deal then?

it MAY not be!

I remember reading the article with Bradley Stewart and seeing his quote about some who always have a response for everything. That is exactly how Stew Peas is.

Correct move by Whitmore. If you feel the man is disrupting your team, go on without him. If it was another player, the Jamaica public might be against the coach, but since it is Stew Peas they might actually celebrate.

Discipline Is Job #!....

Stewart booted from Gold Cup squad

Sunday, July 12, 2009
                  Miami, USA - Jamaica's national senior team defender Damion Stewart was booted from the CONCACAF Gold Cup squad here last evening by the coaching staff for what they said was the player's "constant breaching and challenging of team rules, which was seen as disruptive and inconsistent with general objectives of the team".
                  However, the player in his defence yesterday just prior to his departure from the team hotel to the airport, told the media that in addition to doing nothing wrong to be sent home, he was not given a hearing to defend himself from the charges.
                  According to a statement from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), the "coaching staff of the Jamaica national team has taken a decision to withdraw defender Damion Stewart from the squad currently participating in the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States".
                  The JFF release quoted head coach Theodore Whitmore as saying: "Damion never gave us the impression that he was focused and wanted to be a part of the team and how it operates. He questioned and challenged everything even team tactics. Even his teammates were not pleased with his behaviour and general attitude.
                  "I have tried to keep him in line, but he has not shown a willingness to change. We cannot have a situation where the team is damaged because of the selfishness and indiscipline of one man," Whitmore said.
                  During the one-week pre-Gold Cup camp in the Cayman Islands, Stewart was among a group of players fined for breaches. He and Jermaine Johnson were also fined heavily for missing the flight from Jamaica to Miami at the start of the Gold Cup tournament.
                  But the player challenged the coaching staff's charges against him and how the situation was handled.
                  "I am just trying to clear myself to let the public know that I didn't feel like I did anything wrong to be going home," Stewart, 28, said, before adding that he was hurt.
                  "Well, definitely, it is the ultimate insult, and I am not going to tell you that I'm not feeling bad. I'm feeling very bad right now because every time I put on the shirt, whether I'm playing idle football or even friendly football, I always give my all, especially when I'm playing for Jamaica, so I don't see how on earth they could draw that conclusion that I don't want to be here. That surprised me," he said.
                  The Queens Park Rangers fans player of the year and players' player of the year explained that at about 11:20 yesterday morning he went to the room of the head of delegation Bruce Gaynor to collect his per diem, when he was made aware of his fate.
                  "Well I was told that I didn't look like I was interested or I didn't look like I wanted to be here. That's the reason I was given to say that I was going home... at about 11:21 today, which is when aI went there to collect some per diem from the head of delegation.
                  "I saw like the vice-president, Mr Anderson (Raymond), the coach and head of delegation, and they said that the coach has come to a decision to send me home. At that point they told me that I was going to be on the 1:30 flight, so I told them that that was a little bit too quick for me, so I would need a later flight."
                  The player said he requested a private meeting with the coach in order to get a clearer idea of what his crime was supposed to be. He said the coach told him that he didn't look like he wanted to be here along with "other stuff", without elaborating.
                  Stewart, popularly called 'Stew Peas' added that they were joined by the assistant coach Bradley Stewart and during that argument, the issues of him being fined in the Cayman Island, as well as being heavily fined for missing the flight to Miami came to the fore. He also claimed that he was told that he questioned everything that the coach asked him to do, and that he should just follow instructions.
                  But he said he informed them that he was an opinionated person. "It didn't matter what I said. They had already made a decision that I would be going home, because even in the meeting with the coaches they are saying whatever the coach says you do, you don't follow instruction, but I told them I'm a very opinionated person, and if I have an opinion I am going to share it. We are not robots, nor programmes, so that's just me, that's who I am."
                  The player argued that after being given the captain's armband in the Cayman Islands and then starting in the first two games of the Gold Cup, he was surprised to find himself banished to the grandstand for the game against El Salvador, before an ankle injury to Claude Davis gave him a reprieve.

...... LAY DOWN THE LAW TAPPA!!!!

We will get nowhere without it. Mek Stew Peas simma pon di back burna likkle bit.

He can return a better team player.... if he learns.

He said he was an opinionated person

I think most workers would say, "So am I. ...but the boss makes the decisions and I follow those or it is the door".

Right?

Bye, "Stew Peas"!

He should have had a chance to give his opinion privately to the coach he may have had a good point in what he is saying. Tappa should be more secure in himself to listen respectfully.

Jamaica has a problem with discipline but they also have a problem in giving out punishment to indiscipline players they tend to take it too far kinda like the tough on crime attitude that affects so many black people all over and is usually tougher on themselves.

I believe Jamaica is one of those countries that would do better with a bunch of X players and current players all as coaches at the same time with the final decision left to the head coach and all opinions are respected.
                      Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

It is times like these when we as fans need to throw our full voice in support of our "LOCAL" coach. I never heard of any indiscipline going on during JB's reign. Why? Our overseas players need to learn to respect the coach, the Jamaica shirt, the fans, and their fellow players (local and foreign). Some of them see a national call-up as vacation time; a free plane ride home to visit family and friends or a chance to play the required number of games to keep their English work permit in line.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Actually a number of the senior players were grumbling because Barnes was going over basic tactical positioning with them. They thought they were too big for that.

It is times like these when we as fans need to throw our full voice in support of our "LOCAL" coach. I never heard of any indiscipline going on during JB's reign. Why? Our overseas players need to learn to respect the coach, the Jamaica shirt, the fans, and their fellow players (local and foreign). Some of them see a national call-up as vacation time; a free plane ride home to visit family and friends or a chance to play the required number of games to keep their English work permit in line.
                            exactly,they play like we need to kiss their ass to player they play with no heart and like they don't want to be on the field,they don't play like this for their farine clubs it is only when they play for their country them do sh#t like this,take fuller for instant,this is the reason we are in thiis position in the gold cup right now,with this kind of sh#t the reggaeboyz team will never reach anywear
                            out of many one people

Stewpeas thinks he bigger than de rest cos he had a fabulous season last year to win player of the season @ de club QPR........Cut him down to size......
                              “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh