Yesterday I had the Chance of watching

• Yesterday I had the Chance of watching

over the CONFED finals. I was on point: the US lacked technical players and one and one skills BUT (pay attention) The US had good technique in
    shooting, off the ball movement and basic passing. First touch wasn't sound (hey can't blame them not technical enough), Brasil literally took advantage of them due to these deficiencies (always winning the ball from the air and moving the ball quickly at chest height).

This now brings me to Ja: I can recall after the 98 WC when the Prof was recommending that some of our "top" coaches spend time with the U14s. They balked!! This man must be mad! How did pele,Robinho, Ronaldo, and all the greats develop? They saw top coaches at an early age. In JA we still allow our youth players to stay in the high school system and go to waste. The young technical players need to be taken over by the clubs and be taught the science of the game and ball (night classes for high scholl certs) If JA doesn't look at this concept seriously; we will always fall short on the INT'L scene.

If we had followed the Prof.'s blue print, we would have a champion team by now. I will predict that JA now need a full eight years to put an all round technically sound team with depth for all positions. This comes about because we wasted time trying to short cut the program. I can clearly see why the Prof. was working with a fresh set of players.

There is ZERO debate that player development starts at a young age. Before I left Chicago, the football club my kids belonged to had programs from 18 MONTHS to OVER 60!! While I personally question the value of any program at 18 Months, (it was summer parent/child thing), the key groups however, were the U-12, U-14 and U-16. America clearly has us by leaps and bounds in the player development area, no question about it.

over the CONFED finals. I was on point: the US lacked technical players and one and one skills BUT (pay attention) The US had good technique in
      shooting, off the ball movement and basic passing. First touch wasn't sound (hey can't blame them not technical enough), Brasil literally took advantage of them due to these deficiencies (always winning the ball from the air and moving the ball quickly at chest height).

This now brings me to Ja: I can recall after the 98 WC when the Prof was recommending that some of our "top" coaches spend time with the U14s. They balked!! This man must be mad! How did pele,Robinho, Ronaldo, and all the greats develop? They saw top coaches at an early age. In JA we still allow our youth players to stay in the high school system and go to waste. The young technical players need to be taken over by the clubs and be taught the science of the game and ball (night classes for high scholl certs) If JA doesn't look at this concept seriously; we will always fall short on the INT'L scene.

If we had followed the Prof.'s blue print, we would have a champion team by now. I will predict that JA now need a full eight years to put an all round technically sound team with depth for all positions. This comes about because we wasted time trying to short cut the program. I can clearly see why the Prof. was working with a fresh set of players.
      The ere problems with the prof ideas;
      a) The high school system is here to produce academics results not athletics results. Manning cup is basically high school recreation.
      b) Most High school coaches does not want their ballers playing club football during Manning Cup season.
      c) The Prof wanted to scrap the high school system. That was socially unacceptable. Burell knew that if the JFF mentioned that then ISSA and the Alumni would chase Prof out of the country.

Burell believes that the JFF has some control over the Manning Cup but he know to keep that belief in his dreams. Once ISSA suspended competion the Manning and Burell run off his mouth that the JFF not ISSA controlled Football in Jamaicand they were not consulted. ISSA never even bother to respond to Burell.

Jawge you an mi iz good forum fren; but i stopped reading from you stated " the US lacked technical players................................."

'ope the rest of your post made better sense.

The high school system is not here to....

So let's toss the high school track & field program? Right?

Pleeeeeeeease tell me why the kids in high school cannot learn........., but the kids in some other environment can? Do the high school kids shut brains off because they are in high school? ...and moving then to some other environment causes brain to turn on?

Pleeeeeeeeeease.....??????
          Last edited by Karl; July 14, 2009, 02:32 PM.

This is why we cannot attain great heights in the sport. First we
            must put aside our ego (of wining this school boy sport) and move towards the arena of professional sport.

Even Lazie can see that high school football is holding us back in the sport. LOL.

I went to Ja and listened one of the sport commentator speaking about cricket and this clown was making anology with Brasil's football saying That Brasi is Brasil and they are talented and most teams can't beat them hence WI cricket team of the 70s was the same unbeatable because they wre better than all.

Did this clown stop to investigate Brasil's football program? I have watched Brasil's game of passing from the 50s topresent and there is very little difference in how they pass. is it that they pick out skilled talent and that's it? NO! pele, robinho, Jair, Romario , Ronaldo et al went through a system and came out as trained assasins. This is why I laugh at the talk that Alan cole is as good as Pele, yes he may be technical in some areas yes but not as good. First Cole did not see a pro coach until his high 20s, second he had serious discipline problems as a teenager which were never adressed (menaing he would fold in a high pressure game facing opponents of equal talent). Cubillas, Usebio et al give pele the title as being great yet we find an high school football player to equal pele (talk about playing with shadows in a cave).

I must leave now lata.

did YOU stop to investigate what was happening why our cricketers were performing so well then? you need 2 correct premises to come to the inevitable conclusion, you fell into the same trap that the commentator seemed to have fallen into.

Is that trap the one described in Platos Allegory of the Cave?

Wouldn't that be ironic?

I care not for cricket becuse we chase shadows and refuse to see the truth. What I know for a fact is that Brasil was years ahead of all in sports medicine. this way Brasil was able to be atop of the heap.

Raw talent alone cannot run cricket anymore; hence the WI's decline.

IM mi need fi discus some matters wid yuh pon di everyting side but
                    not today. Boss yuh done know mi can't fall innna no trap. I rely on the sight of my mind. Instead of looking for loopholes in my argument, ponder the TRUTH in it my brother (now that's part of the imprisonment in the cave).

Father marin yuh respek concrete and your words are true. What will it
                      take for us to seriously LEARN this game?

This is why we cannot attain great heights in the sport. First we
                        must put aside our ego (of wining this school boy sport) and move towards the arena of professional sport.

Even Lazie can see that high school football is holding us back in the sport. LOL.

I went to Ja and listened one of the sport commentator speaking about cricket and this clown was making anology with Brasil's football saying That Brasi is Brasil and they are talented and most teams can't beat them hence WI cricket team of the 70s was the same unbeatable because they wre better than all.

Did this clown stop to investigate Brasil's football program? I have watched Brasil's game of passing from the 50s topresent and there is very little difference in how they pass. is it that they pick out skilled talent and that's it? NO! pele, robinho, Jair, Romario , Ronaldo et al went through a system and came out as trained assasins. This is why I laugh at the talk that Alan cole is as good as Pele, yes he may be technical in some areas yes but not as good. First Cole did not see a pro coach until his high 20s, second he had serious discipline problems as a teenager which were never adressed (menaing he would fold in a high pressure game facing opponents of equal talent). Cubillas, Usebio et al give pele the title as being great yet we find an high school football player to equal pele (talk about playing with shadows in a cave).

I must leave now lata.
                        Jawge: First ask yorself if the football development in the schools....in each school could be improved?

...then ask yourself if the ISSA football competitions...level of football played in these schools competition could be improved?

If you say, yes...and consider the total coverage of all talent across the island it provides then you shall see youth football in schools is a plus and not a minus!

If howeer you believe that the vast majority of our kids do not deserve a chance to develop talent to fullest potential then...not only football...but academics...will demand 'leaving the masses behind', cull the best and to hell with the rest!

You do know I totally disagree with any such islandwide action? I passionately am for improving the teaching environment...working towards each child being allowed access to opportunity to develop fullest potential.

How do you decide the 500 ISSA or other youth at whatever age-group should be only those exposed to 'best teaching' at lowest levels? How do you decide that those 'elites' only must have a chance at making a living at football and a shot at making national TEAMs? On wha basis do you decide to play God in the lives of the kids from Success in the hills of Hanover or the foothills of the Blue Mountains, Cedar Valley, St. Thomas and condemn them to not having equal 'look in'?

...on what basis you play God and decide the other 100,000 plus children must not be exposed to good teaching? Sure all will never...can never reach the top...but is there no place for those below level of Ronaldo...OK our Bibi? How many mediocre players, say Sheltons, should not be given a chance to make a decent living at a lower level? ...or even more aware and informed administratos, spectators or other stakeholders?

No sah! All must have the chance to make greatest contributions. That means improved learning environment in the schools.

Karl that's the reason why I say seperate
                          football from academics. Robinho decided at an early age that he doesn't want to be a physicist but a footballer and the environment was provided for him. Robinho did not have to contend with the rigours of academics whilst missing out on the mysteries of the game.

All I'm saying is that once we spot an early talent; we cart them away to an institution that deals specifically with football. As we speak Dcup/Manning cup is holding back Ja's progress on the INT'L scene.
                          Sorry if you can't see that.

Me just a give you a hard time bredren, me ova suh whenever you ready.

I don't agree with you on that point Jawge. I just cannot understand why you and Lazie is pushing forward that idea of scrapping high school football. The problem lies with the JFF which is the organising body of the island's football programs. They SHOULD institute a program which CO-EXIST with the ISSA-run high school program. The JFF needs to have a system in place to identify these 'special' high school talents and give them an alternative to being in high school.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015