• Charlie Davies signs with Sochaux in French 1st division

Official: Sochaux and Hammarby agree to terms on Davies deal

American striker Charlie Davies is headed to France by all accounts. A statement from Sochaux’s official website states that the deal to bring Davies to the club from Hammarby should be finished soon.

"A deal in principle has been agreed upon on Friday afternoon between Sochaux and Hammarby concerning the transfer of Charlie Davies. The player's contract and signing should be completed next week,” the statement read.

(continue)

Davies: Sochaux want me to develop into a big time player

The official word has come down today that Charlie Davies is headed to France to join Ligue 1 side Sochaux. The striker has been impressive with the U.S. National Team this summer and has now secured a move to one of the top leagues in Europe.

"I'm really looking forward to the opportunity," Davies said in a press conference ahead of the Gold Cup match with Haiti on Saturday. "It's pretty much the same situation as when I went to Hammarby. They want me to step in right away and really help the team."

(continue)

Good for him. See what a little exposure can do for a player?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

A him Assassin ask me how has he been more productive than Shelton over the last two years?

Almost as funny as Onyewu being the same level as Stew Peas not too long ago. LOL

Anyhow, congrats to the youth. His decision making ability needs to improve quite a bit and his touch does have some way to go, but his pace will give any team problems.

charlie is remarkable!!! to begin a new career in football after having captained the west indies in cricket.

well done charlie!

Davies brace not enough for Sochaux

It was another loss for Charlie Davies this week when his Sochaux side took on Ligue 1 giants Bordeaux, but the American striker continued his goal scoring ways.

After scoring the U.S.'s only goal against Mexico midweek Davies was brought on as a substitute against Bordeaux and provided a lifeline for his side, netting a goal that brought Sochaux back to within one of a draw.

Bordeaux would score again putting the tie out of reach, but the young American was not done. As the match wound down Davies slotted home a second giving the match it's final 3-2 scoreline in favor of the reigning champions.

(continue)

Video highlights

and how productive has he been?

The fact is Davis is just finding his footing. He is signing for a french division one team so that make him a big baller?

Did Shelton sign for a EPL team?

Davis has more international goals than Shelton over the last two years?

Yes I have seen him and he have some talent and he will get better but the proof is in the pudding.

and how productive has he been?

The fact is Davis is just finding his footing. He is signing for a french division one team so that make him a big baller?

Did Shelton sign for a EPL team?

Davis has more international goals than Shelton over the last two years?

Yes I have seen him and he have some talent and he will get better but the proof is in the pudding.
                  I guess you decide to re-read the post and come back at a different angle to feel better about yourself. I stated in our previous discussions that Shelton's club production was not at Davis' level for the past two years and you tried to counteract as usual without having any facts on Davis' club performance.

You are hilarious.

that is all you can say???

you can't fight what I had to say so try bend and stretch.

Is that all I had to say? You are going to compare the International record of Luton to Davis? When did Davis break into the US team, who has he played against, who has Luton played against? Use you brain and stop ask stupid question.

Better you try again. When mi say Davis was more productive for his club than Luton, the facts box you over cause you never know bout Davis.

If you try go down the EPL team sign Luton path, the the Onyewu argument kill everything right deh so. Try know which one you picking.

Was Davis playing football?

Luton transfer to his club and play a few games so what you talking bout?

What has Davis proven so far? He has talent and that is all.

What has he delivered?

You really nuh have a clue. Guh look up Davis club record over the past two years then Luton.

The two players are somewhat comparable in that they are both forwards who left their respective countries for Europe at the same age (20) and they both went to the Swedish league.

It's true that Shelton went on to the EPL, but he played a total of only four Premier League games before Sheffield Utd was relegated, and it's been downhill ever since for his club career.

Could be a case of too much, too soon.

Davies transplants success

Last week was a big week for Sochaux forward Charlie Davies. After becoming only the fourth U.S. Men's National Teamer to score at Azteca on Wednesday, the 23-year old netted his first pair of Ligue 1 goals on Saturday.

With storylines like these arriving regularly from all points of the globe, one thing seems clear: no matter where he goes, success follows Charlie.

The New Hampshire native scored 24 goals in two healthy seasons at Boston College, including 15 in his junior year. After leaving school, Dutch giants Ajax passed on Davies after a trial. The club liked him, but were looking for an immediate contributor and weren't quite sure whether he fit into their 4-3-3 scheme as a winger or as a center forward.

(continue)