• Double standard in Jamaican football

<DIV align=left>

Double standard in Jamaican football
    Anika Williams, Youthlink writer <TABLE borderColor=#ff66cc cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="2%" align=right border=1><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><DIV align=center>Reggae Girlz in training at the National Stadium earlier this year. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer</DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Throughout the years, women have been marginalised, and for some inconceivable reason, viewed as the more inferior of the sexes. Their contribution in every sphere, except in childbearing and homemaking, of course, gets little or no recognition, and is constantly backed by the stereotypical view that 'certain jobs are not for females'. Here, I ask the question - Is this the reason for the minuscule or lack of support for the Reggae Girlz, whether from the JFF, the business sector, or the general public?

Football, as is many other sports, is male-oriented. However, this does not allow for a patent on sole male participation; and, we have to admit that women have constantly proven their worth in the sport. The Reggae Girlz are no exception.

Why is it then that the Reggae Boyz, who have performed so poorly over the past few years, have money being poured constantly into their coffers, while the Girlz have to be 'begging' in aid of their World Cup preparation? Yes, World Cup - where the Reggae Boyz have not been seen since their historic participation in 1998. No one needs to highlight how financially unstable the country is, but this has not stopped the Reggae Boyz's countless escapades, journeying near and far for their renowned massive defeats.

Don't get me wrong, I am an ardent supporter of the Boyz; I do believe that they have the potential to excel and that we should continue to support them. But my question is - Why are the Reggae Girlz not given the support they so deserve? Why are we resigning these Girlz to begging their way to the Word Cup, when all they aspire to do is bring glory to our country? What about sponsorships?

Journey to Germany

Let us reflect for a moment on the Reggae Boyz's 'Journey to Germany', or should I say 'failure to reach Germany'. There was 'buy a beer for the Boyz' - courtesy of Red Stripe and, of course, Air Jamaica, who had their tickets ready and waiting in the event that they qualified, among a host of other corporate sponsors such as Digicel, Wray and Nephew and Uhlsport.

Now, just where are these sponsors when the Girlz are preparing for their World Cup? Yes, some of them are dipping into their pockets in support of the Girlz, but just how far are they digging? </DIV><DIV align=left><TABLE height=9 cellPadding=2 width="18%" align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top bgColor=#cc0000 height=12>more sports</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV>

RE: Double standard in Jamaican football

not sure its a double standard as much as the mens game is more attractive. Nothing against women football but I think that happens in every country.

<DIV>That's it.</DIV>

No country in the world match their men's program with their women program. Not even the USA who have the best women team.

Look at the poor women's league England have compared to the EPL.

Assasin (11/22/2006)No country in the world match their men's program with their women program. Not even the USA who have the best women team.

Look at the poor women's league England have compared to the EPL.
          Yes...but, %age input (financial...and other input)? How do we compare with the %age input in say...the US national men/women program ratio?

We can't compare with the US national women as their women are currently the Brazil the men's soccer so they will get a lot more promo.

If you notice how the women's league flop bigtime and they are trying a revise version in 08.

look at the Arsenal and Fulham of the English league and check their part time players for their women's league team. big difference.

When female footballers can excite the passion of the Jamaican masses like even some schoolboys can then we can talk about double standard.

People don't just give money to teams male or female, because of the names but rather the INVEST hoping for a fast return on their investment from the millions of people who the team they sponsor will expose their brand to.

These women have to work and do something to excite the public. When the public starts to pay attention then sponsors will duly paythem for that public attention thatthey generate. The Reggae Boyz nuh suppose to a hurtthis young lady'sbelly because the male players had it rough and were starved for attention and sponsorship before they turned it around and finally became talk of the town - and thattook hard work.

She think say a so things go... have any of the female footballers been left to sleep on the field during national team training?Have any of the Reggae Girlz gotten cussed out or threatened because they had to quit and find jobs to take care of spouse and child. I don't like the lack of interest either but running up her mouth against the Boyz aint helping her argument.... she just sound like she nuh know wah she a talk bout or worse - ungrateful...
              SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Assasin (11/22/2006)We can't compare with the US national women as their women are currently the Brazil the men's soccer so they will get a lot more promo.

If you notice how the women's league flop bigtime and they are trying a revise version in 08.

look at the Arsenal and Fulham of the English league and check their part time players for their women's league team. big difference.
                I would like comparisons...facts and figures across the world. It would help me in putting into perspective our situation.

what is the correlation between the attentionAsa Powell recevies to that of Merlene Ottey in her day. I would bet Merlene recieve as much or more. Why because its accepted that women super star sprinters are part of our makeup. So I dont think its a gener issue but its the same way I would walk past a Cricket or Net ball competion becuase I am not really into it. If the girls were to go to the world cup you would see a bigger attention and committment.

Siya (11/22/2006)When female footballers can excite the passion of the Jamaican masses like even some schoolboys can then we can talk about double standard.

People don't just give money to teams male or female, because of the names but rather the INVEST hoping for a fast return on their investment from the millions of people who the team they sponsor will expose their brand to.

These women have to work and do something to excite the public. When the public starts to pay attention then sponsors will duly paythem for that public attention thatthey generate. The Reggae Boyz nuh suppose to a hurtthis young lady'sbelly because the male players had it rough and were starved for attention and sponsorship before they turned it around and finally became talk of the town - and thattook hard work.

She think say a so things go... have any of the female footballers been left to sleep on the field during national team training?

Have any of the Reggae Girlz gotten cussed out or threatened because they had to quit and find jobs to take care of spouse and child. I don't like the lack of interest either but running up her mouth against the Boyz aint helping her argument.... she just sound like she nuh know wah she a talk bout or worse - ungrateful...
                    Siya how yu so two face? Down here you post about the women players not exciting the fans and then up top you chastise us for not being more excited about thegirlz in the gold cup andtalk all kind of foolishness about those of us who enjoy the epl only talking about what is wrong with Jamaican football? How yu so two face breds? - T.K.