Have people watched the last two Jamaican Gold Cup games?

• Have people watched the last two Jamaican Gold Cup games?

I ask this because the last two games has shown a great overall improvement of the team. They are organized, disciplined, patient, good passing and intelligent play.

This is not like in the C. Brown or W. Downswell days of poor football, this team is playing good football. Yes, they have not delivered the results.

The game against Canada, we completely dominated Canada. The biggest problem in that game was that we were not putting away our chances to score. Canada had only 2 serious chances to score and they scored with one of those chances.

In the game against Costa Rica, again, we played very well in that game with 10 players. Even with 10 players for most of the game, the team was still organized and able to mount several attacks. But again, the biggest problem was with the finishing. Did people also see the play that resulted in the red card for R. Austin? This was very poor refereeing and definitely should not have been a red card. The player fell over onto Austin after the initial tackle.

Overall, the defense has been ok, not great but ok. The best part of the team has been midfield which has been well organized. In my book, T. Whitmore is a keeper for this team as the senior team coach. He has demonstrated a massive improvement over all other local coaches so far!!

We are not out of the Gold cup yet. We still have a good chance of makeing to the next round. We must win against El Salvado and have a positive goal difference overall.

The top two team from each group with the two best 3rd placed teams. If teams are tied, then the tie break are as follows:

a. Greater number of points in matches between the tied teams.
    b. Greater Goal Difference in matches between the tied teams (if
    more than two teams finish equal on points).
    c. Greater number of goals scored in matches among the tied teams
    (if more than two teams finish equal on points).
    d. Greater Goal Difference in all group matches.
    e. Greater number of goals scored in all group matches.
    f. Drawing of lots.

So, looking at these, what will be the biggest difference across groups will be goal difference and total number of goals scored.

We still have a good chance, but we must now win and score.

Respect.

Boss, yuh really tink people mek comments based on news reports? There is a world renowned optician in Toronto and yuh might waan check into his services.
      Last edited by Hortical; July 9, 2009, 08:11 AM.

Optician cant help him, him need a shrink.....discipline?????

Originally posted by Mac View Post
          I ask this because the last two games has shown a great overall improvement of the team. They are organized, disciplined, patient, good passing and intelligent play.

This is not like in the C. Brown or W. Downswell days of poor football, this team is playing good football. Yes, they have not delivered the results.

The game against Canada, we completely dominated Canada. The biggest problem in that game was that we were not putting away our chances to score. Canada had only 2 serious chances to score and they scored with one of those chances.

In the game against Costa Rica, again, we played very well in that game with 10 players. Even with 10 players for most of the game, the team was still organized and able to mount several attacks. But again, the biggest problem was with the finishing. Did people also see the play that resulted in the red card for R. Austin? This was very poor refereeing and definitely should not have been a red card. The player fell over onto Austin after the initial tackle.

Overall, the defense has been ok, not great but ok. The best part of the team has been midfield which has been well organized. In my book, T. Whitmore is a keeper for this team as the senior team coach. He has demonstrated a massive improvement over all other local coaches so far!!

We are not out of the Gold cup yet. We still have a good chance of makeing to the next round. We must win against El Salvado and have a positive goal difference overall.

The top two team from each group with the two best 3rd placed teams. If teams are tied, then the tie break are as follows:

f. Drawing of lots.

So, looking at these, what will be the biggest difference across groups will be goal difference and total number of goals scored.

Respect.
          Common sense at last. That's not so common on this forum.

Nonsense prevails.

El salvador a pick up at least 3 , we a guh through, every game we lose a by fate , cause dem neva ball we.A suh it guh sometime.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mac, Truly the team is talented, I would also say we were better that both CR and Can except in finishing. But discipline wise in terms of control over self and style of playing too much rash, unnecessary response style fouls. Defense has no cohesion on incoming crosses not just for the two goals scored but also CR was tearing quite a few balls across our goal that should have scored with just a touch, guys going unmarked all over the place in the penalty area, that is lack of discipline, them guys are all pros they know better.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Mac, Truly the team is talented, I would also say we were better that both CR and Can except in finishing. But discipline wise in terms of control over self and style of playing too much rash, unnecessary response style fouls. Defense has no cohesion on incoming crosses not just for the two goals scored but also CR was tearing quite a few balls across our goal that should have scored with just a touch, guys going unmarked all over the place in the penalty area, that is lack of discipline, them guys are all pros they know better.
                Stonigut, are you an Arsenal fan? The objective is to win except in a friendly game, and to win, you have to score. Its time we move from the "we ball dem but dem win" mentality.

If they're that talented ... they need to go and win the game against El Salvador.

I disagree these refs are sub standard , or crap most of these calls are ridiculous if not questionable, Austin foul is at most a yellow.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I disagree these refs are sub standard , or crap most of these calls are ridiculous if not questionable, Austin foul is at most a yellow.
                    Now, we getting somewhere. Lets blame the refs.

f. Drawing of lots.

Respect.
                      friday is do or die time for the boyz,good luck
                      out of many one people

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        yeah they do now better they don't play for them club like this it is only when they are playing for their country they do sh@t like this,if they was do this kind of sh@t for they club their ass would be on the bench on tel they get their sh@t together and prove to the coach that they devser to be in the team,this is what we need to start to do with these players
                        out of many one people

discipline? How do explain the two goals scored?

bigga dash weh the ball and Claude was not marking the player goalside.

The second goal, two midfielders fall to track back with the player. If he was marked it would have been a easy save but they choose to stop on top of the 18 yard box when the ball was been crossed.

mac some of what you said is true.. here is by beef however.. Bibi is not match fit and should not be in the team. Shaver shold be in over pepe and i dont see anythign from bigga thompson

f. Drawing of lots.

Respect.
                              The 'potential' was on display!

'Potential'? (roll eye emoticon)
                              Mi tiad fi dat dere potential!
                              A full time wi realise di 'potential'!

I will not blame the coach of a team never playing regularly together and not having enough preparation time.
                              Tappa - Blameless!

...but Mac do not get carried away...this was no TEAM!