I had to open a new thread

• I had to open a new thread

Most of us here are in a very emotional state right now with our team's loss and the touching Michael Jackson's funeral yesterday. I have read most of your comments, but right now, the only comments I value are from 1. Mosiah 2. Zeppo and Maudib.

Mosiah - because I think he is more in tune with our football on a local basis and he always gives a balanced report. Like everyone else, he would have watched the match and seen how our foreigners played.

Zeppo - because he will give us the cold, hard truth (with lots of cynicism). But mainly, because he represents our main adversary.

Maudib - well, I always just get a laugh out of Benjamin's posts - sarcasm at its best.

Lazie, I would presume that you did not watch the match because you don't have GalaVision, therefore, your comments are based on your recollection of the last time you saw the team played. It is all well and good to say that if the Boyz don't win this GC it should be viewed as a failure, but I am saying that we have to be realistic with our goals. The team has improved significantly over the last year and a half, and we have to emphasise and encourage those improvements while we continue on our journey. There are many obstacles that we, as a team, need to overcome to walk in the company of the USA and Mexico, but we are getting there despite these obstacles. The biggest and most basic of these obstacles is our lack of a proper football infrastructure. Rather than calling for the coach, Burrell and players heads because of our inevitable expulsion out of this tournament, we need to identify our many positives and try to build on them. Everyone conveniently look past the fact that the JFF is BROKE and it is a humongous task to fund our programs on hand outs. I read comments that we need to stop blaming our failures on finances, but no one has put forward any suggestions of how to get around this fact. We are getting there. It may not be as fast as most of us want, but we are on the right track with most of these players and coach Tappa (given our current financial position).
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Most of us here are in a very emotional state right now with our team's loss and the touching Michael Jackson's funeral yesterday. I have read most of your comments, but right now, the only comments I value are from 1. Mosiah 2. Zeppo and Maudib.

Mosiah - because I think he is more in tune with our football on a local basis and he always gives a balanced report. Like everyone else, he would have watched the match and seen how our foreigners played.

Zeppo - because he will give us the cold, hard truth (with lots of cynicism). But mainly, because he represents our main adversary.

Maudib - well, I always just get a laugh out of Benjamin's posts - sarcasm at its best.

Lazie, I would presume that you did not watch the match because you don't have GalaVision, therefore, your comments are based on your recollection of the last time you saw the team played. It is all well and good to say that if the Boyz don't win this GC it should be viewed as a failure, but I am saying that we have to be realistic with our goals. The team has improved significantly over the last year and a half, and we have to emphasise and encourage those improvements while we continue on our journey. There are many obstacles that we, as a team, need to overcome to walk in the company of the USA and Mexico, but we are getting there despite these obstacles. The biggest and most basic of these obstacles is our lack of a proper football infrastructure. Rather than calling for the coach, Burrell and players heads because of our inevitable expulsion out of this tournament, we need to identify our many positives and try to build on them. Everyone conveniently look past the fact that the JFF is BROKE and it is a humongous task to fund our programs on hand outs. I read comments that we need to stop blaming our failures on finances, but no one has put forward any suggestions of how to get around this fact. We are getting there. It may not be as fast as most of us want, but we are on the right track with most of these players and coach Tappa (given our current financial position).
    I don't have Galavision, but there is always the net. A link was posted here that allowed me to see the loss against Canada.

You want me to be more realistic or simply lower the bar? No matter how people sugarcoat it, we took our strongest team to the tournament while some top teams carried their fresh bloods and we're yet to score a goal. MAudib can talk bout lick post and crossbar ... that nuh count. As for keeper making saves, thats why he is there.

Mi curious .. we getting there based on what?

M
      It is all well and good to say that if the Boyz don't win this GC it should be viewed as a failure, but I am saying that we have to be realistic with our goals. The team has improved significantly over the last year and a half, and we have to emphasise and encourage those improvements while we continue on our journey.
      Mi mumma

Maudib can talk bout lick post and crossbar ... that nuh count.
        Not to mention is some buckup deflection di ball haffi tek fi lick post. Eternal optimists

Are you serious or is this another joke?

Thanks, man!

I would have you know that Shola is my football sidekick as we do attend some matches together. And to his credit, he went to a good football school, so he knows a thing or two. I find him balanced too and he can boast that he never used to carry any baller's boots!

Getting there, where ? where is there we are getting ?

Jangle, I did not see the last game but I saw the game against Canada. The result was unfortunate and realistically, we should have done better. Now the fact of the matter is that football has become a sport where there are no easy teams anymore. You can take (virtually) any international team and they can give any other international team a run for their money. But to WIN is a different matter. That requires a WINNING mentality that I believe was absent in the Canada game. If it was there and present in the last game, then great...but there is something about our teams in the last few years that smacks of complacency. I have always contended that our problems are primarily mental, not physical. I am glad you are optimistic. It is a necessary predisposition for improvement.

By the way, how come you don't make intelligent posts like this when you talk 'bout Manu-r?

Thank you Paul, now we are getting into some constructive criticisms. You made an excellent point about any team beating top ranked teams on any given day. I agree with you about approaching each game with a winning mentality. Jawge alluded to it also in another post. That mentality was lacking when we played Canada last week and also when we played them last year in Toronto for the WCQ. You did not see our last game, but I am telling you that the team came out with that winning mentality. Everything was going well until that red card which changed the game completely. Many here is so upset at the loss that they want to throw out the baby with the water. I am saying that the team has improved significantly that we need to continue with these same players (of course with a few additions) and the current coach. Reading today's paper, I am learning that most of the team came together one day before the kickoff. With that short time of prpeparation, it's no wonder we are in the position that we are in now. If that is the case, we have to give encouragement to the team and the coach because they were certainly NOT overwhelmed by their opponents. If that is the case, we need to look at the reasons why the team could not get together earlier. One of the biggest reason has to do with the scheduling of the tournament. Most of our better players are in the BPL, which finished over 2 months ago. After a gruelling 9 months of competition, it is not easy to get these athletes back in shape after just a few days, plus to ask them to give up their vacations to come play for practically free. The USA is also to be blamed for scheduling a major competition during the peak of their domestic season. To compound matters, they don't demand from their own clubs to release their international players ahead of time to join up with their respective national teams. When compared to the other teams in the tournament, Jamaica is at a slight disadvantage because of where our players make their living. Most of these teams are using mainly home-grown players. These Central American teams each have far better domestic leagues than what exist in Jamaica which make them very competitive. I still think though that we are better than these teams and should beat them.

There are many positives to take from the two matches that we played. I admit that we still need to work on many areas of our game, but I believe that if we can have these same players for at least a week before a major competition, then we would see the improvement. Too many of the fans are too quick to write off the team and the coach when we lose without acknowledging the good despite our tribulations.

Big respect to Jamaal Campbell-Ryce for making the trip.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I haven't seen the Jamaica games thus far, only the highlights.

And while it's not completely over yet for the ReggaeBoyz, I'm guessing that reality is starting to set in for many of the forumites who, over the last few months, were pegging the them to win the tournament.

BTW - I always thought that the Trinis were your main adversary.

Zeppo gives you truth? But ah wha dis faada?

Your standards are too low.

An upgrade is indicated.

Thank you Paul, now we are getting into some constructive criticisms. You made an excellent point about any team beating top ranked teams on any given day. I agree with you about approaching each game with a winning mentality. Jawge alluded to it also in another post. That mentality was lacking when we played Canada last week and also when we played them last year in Toronto for the WCQ. You did not see our last game, but I am telling you that the team came out with that winning mentality. Everything was going well until that red card which changed the game completely. Many here is so upset at the loss that they want to throw out the baby with the water. I am saying that the team has improved significantly that we need to continue with these same players (of course with a few additions) and the current coach. Reading today's paper, I am learning that most of the team came together one day before the kickoff. With that short time of prpeparation, it's no wonder we are in the position that we are in now. If that is the case, we have to give encouragement to the team and the coach because they were certainly NOT overwhelmed by their opponents. If that is the case, we need to look at the reasons why the team could not get together earlier. One of the biggest reason has to do with the scheduling of the tournament. Most of our better players are in the BPL, which finished over 2 months ago. After a gruelling 9 months of competition, it is not easy to get these athletes back in shape after just a few days, plus to ask them to give up their vacations to come play for practically free. The USA is also to be blamed for scheduling a major competition during the peak of their domestic season. To compound matters, they don't demand from their own clubs to release their international players ahead of time to join up with their respective national teams. When compared to the other teams in the tournament, Jamaica is at a slight disadvantage because of where our players make their living. Most of these teams are using mainly home-grown players. These Central American teams each have far better domestic leagues than what exist in Jamaica which make them very competitive. I still think though that we are better than these teams and should beat them.

There are many positives to take from the two matches that we played. I admit that we still need to work on many areas of our game, but I believe that if we can have these same players for at least a week before a major competition, then we would see the improvement. Too many of the fans are too quick to write off the team and the coach when we lose without acknowledging the good despite our tribulations.

Big respect to Jamaal Campbell-Ryce for making the trip.
                        Again, why is it that you can't make reasoned arguments like this hen you talk about Manu-r?

Okay - you raised a heap of issues, but the primary thing that I believe you're asking is that we give the coach and the players our support. I couldn't agree with you more.

However, in my humble opinion it is incumbent upon the Captain to make public the objectives for the program and objectives by which Tappa will be measured. It is also important that we fund the program appropriately. Without both of these in place, it is impossible to align the team and the fans. If there is such a public objective, let me know. I think that is what we have to all align around. I proceed on the basis that there is no stated objective (other than the obvious - win!).

Clearly, the execution of any plan must be practical. If we can't get players together in time, then maybe we get THE PLAYERS THAT CAN MAKE IT in time. The US has fielded a "b" team because their "first team" just came off the Conf Cup. Also, the argument that the players are "tired" etc. doesn't hold. The Conf. Cup showed that the top professionals in the world made themselves available and were motivated. The GC is Jamaica's biggest tournament and all our squad should have been motivated to play. No excuses, so I can't give them the bligh you extended.

Anyway, I am glad you think we're headed in the right direction. I believe Tappa is a good coach, but as a man new to the job, he will need support and time. We have to be realistic. You and I recognise that berating Tappa and the team now is counterproductive. However, we need to give them a clear objective and make them live or die by it, otherwise, we'll all just argue in circles.

PM

Damn!!!! I can't take this lovey-dovey-softy business we have going here. We are enemies get that straight.

I agree with everything that you said, and I am not giving the any bligh about playing for Jamaica. I am just saying that it's not easy to motivate players who have been inactive for a couple of months and on their vacations. I have stated here in the past that the JFF needed to make public their goals, because we fans tend to have unrealistic expectations. That is where Captain Burrell is failing. We need to know his plans for moving us forward.

Damn!!!! I can't take this lovey-dovey-softy business we have going here. We are enemies get that straight.

I agree with everything that you said, and I am not giving the any bligh about playing for Jamaica. I am just saying that it's not easy to motivate players who have been inactive for a couple of months and on their vacations. I have stated here in the past that the JFF needed to make public their goals, because we fans tend to have unrealistic expectations. That is where Captain Burrell is failing. We need to know his plans for moving us forward.

Stop right there: lovey-dovey-softy business? No star. While I agree with you on this SINGLE ISSUE, make no mistake, until you realise the error of your ways, the fallacy of your convictions and the demonic nature of that unmentionable club you support - I shall pray for you...for unlike Slur Fartlick, I have a good heart.

Now, tell me this. Don't you think that motivating a professional is a fool's errand? I think there may be an issue with MOTIVATING A TEAM, but not an individual if he is a professional.

My concern with our team for years has been that we are not "professional enough" and that goes for the administration all the way through the ranks. Simoes tried, but couldn't get us to see the wisdom of his convictions. Our entire organisation needs to think at a higher level.

Zeppo gives you truth? But ah wha dis faada?

You can't handle the truth!